Your Mac Pro's

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Macpropro80, Jan 31, 2009.

  1. Macpropro80 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    #1
    I want to know the specs of everys mac pro to see how it stacks up with mine. (I know I will cry in shame as my specs are blasted by one of you). Anyway I just want to know the specs and a picture of your set up would be nice.

    Il start

    8 core mac pro (2x4core)
    2.8ghz
    4gigs :apple: ram
    2x 2600 HD graphic cards
    One 1TB HD (BOOT/main drive)
    Two 1TB HD Raid 0 (scratch disks)
    30 inch cinema display
    19 inch Gateway display
    15 inch dell display
     
  2. richard.mac macrumors 603

    richard.mac

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    51.50024, -0.12662
    #2
    pretty solid especially with the 8 GB of RAM and the 64" of monitor goodness.

    but do you have a 4 core or 8 core Mac Pro? if youre not sure open the About This Mac and window and if it says "2 x 2.8 GHz" then you have 2 quad core CPUs and an 8 core Mac Pro.
     
  3. Macpropro80 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
  4. Cryptic1911 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Location:
    Connecticut
    #4
    2x2.8ghz quad core
    6GB memory
    512MB Geforce 8800
    OWC eSata extender
    OWC external eSata 2x disk enclosure
    320gb boot
    3x 500gb raid0 storage
    2x 750gb external raid0 for time machine backup (also backed up to 8x disk raid in my server)
    2x Dell 2007FP 20" lcd monitors

    [​IMG]
     
  5. Macpropro80 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    #5
    nice rig, i would go for the 8800 but i want 8 30inch displays (after i win the lottery) :D
     
  6. costabunny macrumors 68020

    costabunny

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Location:
    ~/bunny/
    #6
    some nice setups there boys, allow me to play too;

    my Mac Pro, a.k.a. Starbuck:

    2008 series 2xQuad 2.8GHz
    18GB Ram
    4 x 147GB SAS 15Krpm drives in RAID5 with Apple RAID card
    1 x 320GB SATA for Windows Bootcamp and Music partition
    8800GT 512MB
    2 x Dell 3008FWP 30" Screens
    extra 5 port PCIe USB card
    EyeTV Hybrid USB Tuner
    LaCie 500GB FW800 (daily rsync backups)

    Mine gets used for photo/vid editing (and gaming in Winslowz)

    :)
     
  7. Macpropro80 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    #7
    costa Whats a music partition? After looking at your specs I looked at my mac pro (A.K.A. "the Pro") and sighed. How much was your rig? and can I see a picture? DAMN that must be fast, whats ur boot time? 1 second? 2?
     
  8. sidewinder macrumors 68020

    sidewinder

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Northern California
    #8
    Macpropro80,

    Mac Pro 2008 2x 3.2GHz Quad
    32GB RAM
    Areca ARC-1680ix12 RAID Card
    Internal: 4 x 1.5TB Seagate drives RAID 5 boot array
    External: 10 x 1TB Seagate NS drives RAID 6 data array
    2 NVidia 8800GT 512MB
    4 30" Apple Cinema Displays

    S-
     
  9. Macpropro80 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    #9
    sidewinder I really want to see a screenshot of system profiler, im sry but i don't believe you.
     
  10. sidewinder macrumors 68020

    sidewinder

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Northern California
    #10
    Macpropro80,

    You caught me, I was just testing to see how well you screen these posts. Now i trust you 100000x more.

    So to sum it up I lied, kind of obvious.

    P.S. Don't hate me :D
     
  11. costabunny macrumors 68020

    costabunny

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Location:
    ~/bunny/
    #12

    Music Partition? is where I keep my music locally (as in the 320GB Disk under the CDBay is split into 2 partitions 1 for Vista (NTFS), and 1 for Music (HFS+)

    Boot time isnt as quick as you would think (there is an overhead in the RAID Card checking and stuff, but once booted disk access is lightning fast).

    I can say I spent lots on my 'rig' as you call it, but I got it vanilla and upgraded over space of about 2 months. Now she is perfect for my needs (tho am gonna build a PC for the games as I am fed up rebooting).

    I would post a recent piccy but I am in Canada and my Pro is in Malta...

    I have an old pic here from before I moved (I left the old Dell 3007 behind and ordered a pair of shiny new 3008's in Malta :) )
     

    Attached Files:

  12. gibbz macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    #13
    2x2.8ghz Quad-Core

    16GB RAM

    NVIDIA Geforce 8800GT

    Apple RAID card
    ----4x750GB RAID5 internal

    OWC eSata extender, OWC external eSata 2x disk enclosure
    ----external RAID0 2x320GB scratch space

    HighPoint RocketRaid 2314 controller, Raidon/Stardom ST6600 5 Bay Enclosure
    ----5x750GB RAID5 external

    2x Dell UltraSharp 2407WFP 24" monitors
     
  13. harodude macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    #14
    And a "G" scale engine for inspiration?! Thats cool to see people still into em man! Nice rig btw!
     
  14. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #15
    The Areca was a nice touch. Or do you actually use that one? :eek: ;)
    (If so, congrats. Awesome card). :D
     
  15. sidewinder macrumors 68020

    sidewinder

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Northern California
    #16
    nanofrog,

    I just had to take the opportunity to get back at Macpropro80! All in good fun! Right?

    Back to your question: Areca cards are great. I have not bought one in a while but they are top notch. If I were to buy a RAID for a Mac Pro, the ARC-1680ix12 would be the card. The price is high but you can't get a better card and you can boot from it on the Mac Pro. That's important to me. That card could handle a 4 drive internal array and 10 drive external array no problem.

    S-
     
  16. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #17
    Absolutely. :D
    I've had good luck with it. :) I like the features, and it was made even more interesting given it's price (when compared to Atto). ;)
     
  17. alam macrumors regular

    alam

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia
    #18
    Mine is:-

    Samsung 32-inch 6 Series

    2.8 ghz 4 cores 2008 model
    4xGB Ram
    4x 1TB HDD
    2x Super Multi Drive DL
    ATI 2600XT

    Xbox Arcade with 60Gb HDD & IPod Dock

    Premier Olympc (Blach Jazz)

    Casio Piano (LK - 60)
     

    Attached Files:

  18. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #19
    Mine:
    2008 Octo Core 2.8GHz
    10GB Ram
    Drive Bay 1: 500 GB WD
    Drive Bay 2: 640 GB WD 16 mb cache (iirc)
    Drive Bay 3: 1TB WD 16mb cache
    Drive Bay 4: 1TB WD Green 32mb cache
    8800 GT Video
    30" ACD

    Mostly for photo editing and my paintings. 200 mb files with multiple layers never ran so smooth.

    I don't run windows on mine but will need to soon for an exam I need to take.
     
  19. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #20
    You guys are killing me. I have to wait five more months for mine.

    I can tell you the setup now, though, based on what we believe to be the specs and what I will get from that. :D Pictures will come in due time.

    3.2GHz Gainestown
    500GB HDD (with a 2TB drive purchased third-party)
    GTX 260 (maybe a second, bought as a PC model and flashed if Snow Leopard supports SLI)
    stock RAM (probably 3GB)
    two 24" displays (have them now; they're great)
    1 SuperDrive & 1 BD-RE/HD DVD-ROM drive

    I'll just edit this post with pictures in five months.:p
     
  20. alam macrumors regular

    alam

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia
    #21
    good luck with the mac pro ;)
     
  21. jhero macrumors 6502

    jhero

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Not near an Apple Store
    #22
    2008 octo
    10GB Ram
    Raptor + 1GB storage
    8800gt
    APX
    Dell 24"

    Pretty much don't have to deal with a lot of waiting :)
     
  22. MIDI_EVIL macrumors 65816

    MIDI_EVIL

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #23

    What do you need to wait for?
     
  23. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #24
    I don't need to wait–I have the money now–I just don't need it right away, so I can wait for Gainestown.

    Which works out nicely. :D
     
  24. rockinrocker macrumors 65816

    rockinrocker

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    #25
    Maybe I'll start calling mine Apollo. :D

    2X4 2.8
    8 gig RAM 2X4
    (I just leave out the stock 1X2)
    HDD 1: 320 gig stock boot/apps/windows
    HDD 2: 500 gig for samples/itunes/videos
    HDD 3: 500 gig for audio files
    HDD 4: 1 tera time machine

    used for my studio, some games, media server, porn, etc.
     

Share This Page