Your MBA set up and equipment, pics and suggestions > ...

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by entatlrg, Mar 22, 2009.

  1. entatlrg macrumors 68040

    entatlrg

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Location:
    Waterloo & Georgian Bay, Canada
    #1
    Is your MBA your main system? If no, what do you use along with it? Do you hook up to an external monitor?

    If you have another system what is it, iMac, Mini, MB or a PC/Notebook...?

    If you where to add to your MBA set up, what would you buy, ACD, Mini, iMac, Time Capsule, Windows Machine etc?

    My MBA is my main system along with the ACD Monitor and an HP desktop. I've posted before about what to buy to go along with my MBA to set up and ideal system but concluded my MBA and HP was doing the job. I use the MBA for everything and the HP for downloads, torrents, surfing, email etc ...

    The HP is giving me trouble (again), lost use of some USB ports and keyboard issues ... instead of re-installing windows this time I'm going to replace it.

    Either with an iMac or a Mini. I'm leaning towards the 2.9ghz iMac with the 256 video card ... that beside the ACD would look wild! If nothing else I'd look busy :)

    What's your set up like ? Post photo's if you can, there's no use me posting photo's yet as my system isn't complete, it will be soon!


    .
     
  2. wetrix macrumors 6502

    wetrix

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    #2
    I use an Air and 24" ACD as my main system and have a mac mini as my torrent server/HTPC. The ACD looks god awful next to the iMac as they are at different heights.

    I'd 100% recommend a mini for your situation.
     
  3. Macjames macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    #3
    Agreed!
     
  4. darrellishere macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    #4
    This is my imac and macbook air.

    Also Audio Engine A5's and blu-ray external drive and iphone.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. fridgeymonster3 macrumors 6502

    fridgeymonster3

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    #5
    My Mac Pro is my "main " system I guess, even though my wife and I fight over our MBA almost every night. We use the MBA more frequently and the Mac Pro only for intensive computing or when one of us loses out on using the MBA.

    If I had to add, I'd add a Time Capsule. We don't back up our MBA at all as it basically doesn't have anything of worth on it. All pics, movies, docs, etc. are mirrored on our MP and are extensively backed up. But a time capsule would be nice.
     
  6. entatlrg thread starter macrumors 68040

    entatlrg

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Location:
    Waterloo & Georgian Bay, Canada
    #6
    Nice!

    I've been looking to talk to someone who has a MacBook Air and an iMac. I've been thinking of getting an iMac to go with my MBA.

    Do you find you get a lot of use from both machines? Or could your MBA be doing all the work for you?

    How's networking gone between the two machines, keeping files current etc.

    Which machine do you spend the most time on? Any other comments appreciated.

    Thanks.
     
  7. supernet33 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    #7
    I love my iMac, so I spend most of my time on it..

    My AIR gets maybe 2 hours a month of use.
     
  8. entatlrg thread starter macrumors 68040

    entatlrg

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Location:
    Waterloo & Georgian Bay, Canada
    #8
    Intersting, obviously you like working from a desk and don't use a computer often away from you desk I'm guessing.

    I don't like to be desk bound, 50% at my desk, 50% away is my norm.
     
  9. tigres macrumors 68040

    tigres

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Location:
    Land of the Free-Waiting for Term Limits
    #9
    Dude, is your screen latch busted?

    WTF makes it go down so flat in image 3?:eek:
     
  10. mshaf macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    #10
    Yea i was wondering the same thing???
     

Share This Page