Your MP 3,1 RAM temp?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by toke lahti, Jun 29, 2015.

  1. toke lahti macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2007
    Location:
    Helsinki, Finland
    #1
    I recently upgraded my RAM with some 4GB Komputerbay sticks and fans are screaming loudly.
    Temperature monitor tells when my "ambient air" is 29°C/84°C the new sticks are 73/163, 78/172, 64/147, 74/165 °C/°F. Old 1GB sticks are around 43-46°C/109-115°F.
    Komputerbay says that sticks with more RAM runs hotter, but I'd like to know what temps brand name sticks have.
    I think I'm going to order some OWC sticks. Any expectations how hot they will run?
     
  2. IowaLynn macrumors 6502a

    IowaLynn

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2015
    #2
    Bad FBDIMMs (read of others same behavior and those DIMMs). Mine 667's from NEMIX Amazon (2x2GB $23) are 59*C - all the time. Older FBDIMMs did not like 74*C which I came to think was the real threshold and best if they stayed under 70*C.
     
  3. CanadaMaple macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2015
    #3
    Here's my temps. If it helps.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. filmak, Jun 30, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 30, 2015

    filmak macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Location:
    between earth and heaven
    #4
    I think that your temps are too high.
    Ambient temp: 28 C , for more info check the screenshot attached. Crucial DIMMS (most of them).
    Screen Shot 2015-06-30 at 10.29.53 π.μ..png
     
  5. toke lahti thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2007
    Location:
    Helsinki, Finland
    #5
    What brand are your sticks?
    Seems to be that you have one cool 4GB and all the rest are pretty hot...?
     
  6. toke lahti thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2007
    Location:
    Helsinki, Finland
    #6
    You don't have actual stick temps there?
    Or is it those 2 first readouts?
    What software are you using? Looks pretty nice...
     
  7. filmak macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Location:
    between earth and heaven
    #7
    The first two readouts are from Advanced Memory buffer ICs, I think each memory module has one of them so these are average values from the sticks.

    The software is istat menus, using it for many years and very satisfied with it.
     
  8. netkas macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    #8
    For me it would be interesting what is your voltage per riser module (also called memory vrm supply)

    for me it's around 11.5 for each riser, when I have 1 stick per riser

    with two sticks per riser it can drop below 11V, I think that causes macpro to shutdown sometimes under heavy ram load (4k movie for example)

    On screnshots I see pretty decent voltage for risers, unlike mine, wonder what may cause that.
     
  9. filmak macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Location:
    between earth and heaven
    #9
    I there any possibility that your sticks have different power specs?

    Maybe a good cleaning on riser card's contacts and ram slots will help.

    Anyway -Imho- please check the following, if you have installed a very powerful GPU perhaps it draws too much power and the voltage drops.
    My first try would be to unload the pcie bus, by swapping the GPU for a less powerful one, or even remove any additional pcie cards or any giant rotating Hard Disks.
    I hope that it's not the PSU failing, but to find out, I would start unloading and checking the voltages.:)

    For your information this Mac Pro has an old and humble 5770 GPU and a FASTA 6GU3 Pro card installed, also all ram slots are occupied.
     
  10. netkas macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    #10
    Already have done these things, happens with just gtx750ti installed and 1 hdd. Still think what it could be, a riser, a mobo or psu. Voltage seems to depend only on amount of memory sticks installed.
     
  11. filmak macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Location:
    between earth and heaven
    #11
    If so, I don't think that the risers are responsible because it's difficult to have both damaged simultaneously..
    The issue is probably coming from elsewhere.
    Something is driving up amperage and shuts down the PSU , any chance for any loose contact in cabling or mobo's power contacts?
     
  12. netkas macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    #12
    good point, didn't think of that
    Will try to check my power contacts on mobo, thanks for idea.
     
  13. filmak macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Location:
    between earth and heaven
    #13
    welcome.
     
  14. filmak macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Location:
    between earth and heaven
    #14
    By the way are you satisfied with the 750ti? Is it flashed?
    I see severe stuttering with the 5770 under maverics, I would like to upgrade it.
     
  15. netkas macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
  16. CanadaMaple macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2015
    #16
    Sorry I only saw this now. Been a busy day today.

    I know two of my ram sticks are DMS (1GB).

    the 2 4GB are OWC

    and the other 4 1gb are Apple stock. I believe Hynix?

    That is an odd observation that one is cooler. Weird.

    If theres a way I can check on my system without having to open it I can post back brands of each.

    -CanadaMaple
     
  17. CanadaMaple macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2015
    #17
    My Mac Pro is on 24/7. If that changes anything.

    -CanadaMaple
     
  18. nigelbb macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012
    #18
    Komputerbay have a terrible reputation for supplying non-working & out of spec RAM. Send it back & get a refund although if your experience is like mine it will take many weeks before the money is returned.

    Forget about expensive new 800MHz parts & buy used 667MHz FB-DIMMs pulled from Xeon servers as they are dirt cheap (about $100 or less for 8x4GB i.e. 32GB). Even in benchmarks it's only 4% slower than the 800MHz RAM & in real life you won't be able to detect any difference. As an added bonus the 667MHz parts run cooler too.
     
  19. netkas macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    #19
    At worst moment durring gb2 test I have these,

    any idea what to blame, psu or logic board?

    [​IMG]

    No load situation:

    [​IMG]

    Heavy 3d load:
    [​IMG]

    Could somebody with macpro 3,1 check same values for heavy 3d load ? (like unigine valley running in window)
     
  20. filmak macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Location:
    between earth and heaven
    #20
    I hope this will help you...
    GB3
    2015-07-02, 3.43.59 μ.μ..png
    no load
    2015-07-02, 3.47.01 μ.μ..png

    Unigine valley

    2015-07-02, 4.09.49 μ.μ..png
    Unigine Valley Benchmark 1.0
    FPS:
    23.3
    Score:
    973
    Min FPS:
    13.3
    Max FPS:
    38.6
    System
    Platform:
    Darwin 14.4.0 x86_64
    CPU model:
    Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5462 @ 2.80GHz (2792MHz) x8
    GPU model:
    ATI Radeon HD 5770 (1024MB) x1
    Settings
    Render:
    OpenGL
    Mode:
    1920x1200 windowed
    Preset
    Custom
    Quality
    Medium
    Powered by UNIGINE Engine
    Unigine Corp. © 2005-2013
     
  21. netkas macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    #21
    Thanks a lot, So my psu gives me half a volt lower than urs under load. Could be the exaclt half a volt I'm missing for memory riser.

    Will need to change psu then, better then changing logic board.
     
  22. filmak, Jul 2, 2015
    Last edited: Jul 2, 2015

    filmak macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Location:
    between earth and heaven
    #22
    I also think that it is PSU's problem. Only our MCH core 1 an 0, volts match probably because the variation is too small at ~1.25 volts.

    Now, Sorry for the off topic:
    I have just upgraded this mac pro to 10.10.4 and much of the slowness of 10.9 is gone. everything is snappier.
    Perhaps the OS oriented issue with the 3,1 bus (regarding GPU speeds) being slower is solved?
    Can you please recommend me any reliable GPU to upgrade the 5770? (no external PSU please) Lightroom (openGl GPU), Adobe cs apps, not gaming, 2 nec displays 1900*1200.
    Thank you in advance,
     
  23. filmak macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Location:
    between earth and heaven
    #23

    In addition to the comments about Komputerbay ram please also read the following:
    from M. Bresnik FAQ (http://www.bresink.com/osx/216202/Docs-en/faq.html)

    Q: I get readings of more than 90°C (194°F) for the FB-DIM modules in my Mac Pro. Isn't this a bit high?

    A: No, temperatures in that range are normal for FB-DIMMs and are no cause for concern. Each FB-DIMM contains its own controller, called "Advanced Memory Buffer (AMB)". An AMB also contains an internal sensor which measures temperature directly inside the chip. The specified maximum temperature
    range of an FB-DIMM, measured by the AMB, usually lies in the interval between 95°C and 125°C (203°F .. 257°F). It will vary from manufacturer to manufacturer, a typical value is 110°C (230°F). If you like to know the exact specifications for your FB-DIM modules, note the part number and manufacturer of the respective modules (printed on the label of each module), and download the data sheets for those parts from the manufacturer. Nearly all chip manufacturers and RAM vendors publish the specifications at their web sites.
     
  24. IowaLynn macrumors 6502a

    IowaLynn

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2015
    #24
    I believed those specs when first saw them in fall 2006, until I started having trouble and first hand observations - with Hardware Monitor too.

    based on my own 1,1 system over the years FBDIMMs from Ramjet, OWC and Crucial got up to 75*C were 'trouble' and had reported errors in Memory under System Profile, and when temps were just slightly cooler 68-72*C

    NEMIX FBDIMMs report temps as low as 59*C. Also small increase in 3 of the fan rpms by just 300 rpm to get better air flow - the cage with the Risers is blocked and reduces good air flow over DIMMs.

    when the 1,1 came out a really nice Apple Dev Doc on FBDIMMs and specs as well as schematics. That either got pulled or hidden in another area I could not access.

    The motherboard is after all basic Skulltrail logicboard (EVGA had a dual-Xeon SR2) also. I tried to find my old links to Intel and TechReport but came up empty.
     
  25. filmak macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Location:
    between earth and heaven
    #25
    Your experience is very enlightening, thank you for sharing.
    These FBDIMMs in general have, unfortunately by design, higher temperatures, a minus point for their longevity.
    The air flow problems are making things even worse. That's why Apple sold them with giant, for their size, heatsinks.
    Anyway the modules from not so well known brands, are certainly cheaper, but usually have a lot of problems like incompatibilities, more heat, less reliability, etc.
    Now, the problem with the well known and established brands is that they are really expensive but with a lot less technical problems.


    This discussion is driving us about a decade back... nice...:)
     

Share This Page