Your PPC Story

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by dbdjre0143, May 2, 2018.

1. dbdjre0143 macrumors regular

dbdjre0143

Discussion in the "PPC Popularity" thread got me thinking, there has to be some reason all of us are still using, discussing, and tinkering on machines that are (AT LEAST!) teenagers. I'd like to create this thread to share stories of what got us into using PPCs in the first place and/or why we still are today. I'll go first (largely copied from the aforementioned thread).

My first Mac was a Powerbook G3 Lombard I got back in 2009, like many of you, because I wanted to learn about Macs and that was what I could afford. At the time, I was a freshman in high school and snagged it for $100 on eBay. I added a USB WiFi dongle and used it as I would have any other computer for a couple of years. I didn't feel like it felt at all out of date, and I used it to do all the same things I did on my Windows Vista laptop I had at the same time. In fact, I remember being really surprised at how snappy the 400 MHz (IIRC) CPU felt, and attributed it to the architecture difference, especially compared to sub-GHz Intel boxes I'd used. ;)

Then, about 2 years later, someone my Mom worked with lucked into a 1GHz iBook G4 that she brought home to have me service. That thing felt lightyears ahead of my Powerbook, and she saw how excited I was to play around with it. I did a clean install of Tiger, and sent it back to its owner. But Mom surprised me by buying it from the fellow and giving it to me for my birthday a couple of months later. I used it, like with the G3, as I would have any other computer, for a couple of years. I have a fair amount of patience with older tech, so I never felt limited in any way. It did everything I asked of it, including the (then) "modern" web. When I went off to college, it stayed behind and I committed to using my Windows laptop which by that point had been upgraded and was noticeably more "capable", at least in terms of speed.