Your ripping workflow?

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by mrgreen4242, Sep 18, 2008.

  1. mrgreen4242 macrumors 601

    mrgreen4242

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    #1
    I'm just curious how other people handle their DVD "back catalog" ripping. Obviously after you get all the old movies imported keeping up should be pretty easy, since it's unlikely you're getting more than a movie a day, or a TV show box set a week. Here's how I've been working my 250-300 DVD collection the last few days:

    1) use smcFanControl to double the minimum speed of all my fans. I'm running my computer in high heat generating task nearly continuously right now, and while the default profile seems to be keeping things within spec, I figure safe is better than sorry int his case. It's barely any louder and keeps all the temp sensors down to nearly idle temps (idle with fans at default speeds).

    2) Insert disc, mount with FairMount.

    3) Copy disc contents to a temp folder on my internal HDD. This takes 30-60 minutes, or 15-25 for single layer discs without copy protection, which don't need FairMount. This lets me quickly get a lot of movies in my queue without having to be there to switch the disc, and not using up significant resources while I am actively using my computer.

    4) Repeat steps 2 and 3 7 to 10 times.

    5) Open Handbrake (using 0.9.2 right now, going to tryout the current snapshot 2 sometime) and load the 7 to 10 discs I've ripped into a queue using my presets*, double check the movie to make sure the presets are appropriate (right res picked, interlacing needed, etc).

    6) Encode all night and day while I'm gone at work to my internal HDD. If I encode to my USB media drive I get lots of random crashes, and they are bad crashes. Machine rebooting type stuff. No problems if I rip to the internal drive, though.

    7) Start the queue, go to bed, go to work, come home.

    8) When I get home the movies are usually done, and I then move the files to my external media drive (movies are in the 1.5gb each range with my settings, including the 5.1 track. They look like DVD on my HDTV from normal viewing distances, but you can see some degradation on the computer screen). I then delete the source DVD rips.

    9) The files are moved to MetaX, where I match up all the metadata and artwork, and MetaX then adds the information to the file, and imports it into my iTunes library.

    END.

    I've been getting through 6 to 10 movies a day this way, so not to bad. I should be done with my back catalog in a couple weeks (there's probably a handful of moves out of the 250 that we won't copy). After that I'll be just doing them one a day or less as we get them... Anyways, I've spent a lot of hours working this out and now doing it the last week or so and just curious if anyone else is going about it the same way, or if there's things I could be doing better.

    *I am using a constant quality h264 at 64% with some advance flags set, non-anamorphic and max resolution, with slow deinterlacing where needed, variable frame rates off - it causes some movies to have serious framerate issues and I've not had any movies come out wrong without it on yet, so I dont' use it, weak noise reduction, autoselect forced subs, aac stereo @ 160kbits, AAC 5.1 passed through
     
  2. elmn8r macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    #2
    mrgreen,

    Looks like a good workflow. I've got to do the same thing shortly and this is very similar to what I plan to do. One advantage I have is that my movies are already on my HD in .VOB format so I don't have to re-rip from DVD. I don't want to derail your thread but I do have a question for you.

    When I encode my movies via Handbrake, the resulting .mp4 file has a .m4v file extension. They play beautifully on my ATV. I have been testing METAX and have not had good luck with it. Every time I try using METAX on one of these files, I get the zero byte error from METAX and it won't update the metadata. Have you had any issues with METAX?
     
  3. mrgreen4242 thread starter macrumors 601

    mrgreen4242

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    #3
    Nope no problems with MetaX and .m4v files. Are you on the newest version?
     
  4. ftaok macrumors 603

    ftaok

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Location:
    East Coast
    #4
    Question regarding Fairmount.

    I tried Fairmount a while back because I was having issues with MTR and Transformers. MTR 2.6.6 wouldn't rip it at all, and I don't have the 3.0 beta. I tried Fairmount and it didn't work either. In fact, all of the DVDs that I tried with Fairmount wouldn't work ... but I only tried DVDs that didn't work with MTR either.

    So I tried DVDFabDecryptor (or something like that) on my PC and was able to rip Transformers without any issues. However, I then have to copy the VIDEO_TS folder over the network to a Mac, and then to my external Media HDD. Very time consuming ... is it any wonder that I haven't tried it more often.

    If I could get Fairmount to work for me, it would drastically cut my ripping time down.

    Note - I have two Macs, a Macbook (Superdrive) and an iBook (Combo). Both optical drives are known to be picky.

    ft
     
  5. Topher15 macrumors 6502a

    Topher15

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Location:
    London
    #5
    What do you guys do re: DVD extras and commentaries?

    I don't rip my DVDs anyway nor to I have any plan to at the moment, but I do wonder how you get around having lots of additional files. I guess you could create one large MP4 file with all the extras at the end and just add in chapter markers.
     
  6. elmn8r macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    #6
    I'm using Handbrake SVN 1477 and MetaX 2.4.5. I believe both are the latest versions. I've been using the Apple Preset in Handbrake and adding the following in advanced:

    bframes=6:ref=6:mixed-refs=1:subq=6:me=umh:no-fast-pskip=1:trellis=1:weightb=1:bime=1:brdo=1:direct=auto:vbv-maxrate=4900:vbv-bufsize=3500

    I've also been turning on the 64-bit mp4 option. There is conflicting info on Handbrake's forum about MetaX supporting the 64-bit option. The moderators over on the Handbrake forum aren't very friendly so I don't post there. I'm doing a test right now without the 64 bit flag set to see what the result is.
     
  7. eddyg macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2003
    Location:
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    #7
  8. eddyg macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2003
    Location:
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    #8
    MetaX absolutely does support the 64-bit MP4 option from HandBrake, been using it extensively when encoding my HD Olympics coverage last month where files were in excess of 10Gb each.

    Cheers, Ed.
     
  9. pagansoul macrumors 65816

    pagansoul

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Location:
    Earth
    #9
    I like to keep it simple, I have over 2k DVDs and select less than half to rip. I use Fairmount (love it) and the ripping program I got with it in a Macheist package (forget the name). I rip Movie only for :apple:TV (only exception is extras off the movie 300). They end up being about 2GB for a 2 hour movie. Looks great on my small HDTVs, one 32 and one 27inch. I take my time as to not burn myself out. So far I've done about 400 movies/a few entire TV shows. I'm lucky if I do 2 movies a week or an entire season a week. I have Metax but have not used it.
     
  10. pagansoul macrumors 65816

    pagansoul

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Location:
    Earth
    #10
    Old picture of my DVD room.
     

    Attached Files:

  11. eddyg macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2003
    Location:
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    #11
    Picture of my DVD room :)

    Picture of my DVD room :)
     

    Attached Files:

  12. dynaflash macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    #12
    As eddyg has said, metax *does* totally support 64 bit mp4's. Though as I recall you have to explicitly enable that support in metax in Preferences -> General -> Enable support for large files. I cannot remember if it's on or off by default.

    Everyone that has tagged their movies made with the AppleTV Preset from 0.9.2 and up has been tagging 64 bit mp4's.

    Oh, and just a note, if your using the AppleTV's preset of 2500 kbps average bitrate you really could drop the vbv-maxsize and vbv-bufsize from your x264 options. Those are really only needed if your doing Constant Quality encoding.
     
  13. TuckBodi macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    #13
    I looked at your process and you say you point your script at a folder full of rips. Is there a limit on the number of rips you can run through? Using Handbrake's GUI queue I seem to run into problems (crash) here and there if I try to run more than 10 rips at a time through it. Kinda inconvenient if I'm gone for a long weekend and want to encode more than 10 movies.
     
  14. elmn8r macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    #14
    Thanks dynaflash and eddyg for your replies. To avoid hijacking mrgreen's thread with my METAX issue, I'd like to continue this conversation here if you have time:

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=558328

    I have not had success with METAX on ANY movie encoded using HandBrake 0.9.2 or SVN 1477 using the MP4 format. None of my resultant files have been over 4GB either.

    No one else seems to be having the same issues so it must something that I am doing that is causing it but I have not figured out what it is yet...
     
  15. mrgreen4242 thread starter macrumors 601

    mrgreen4242

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    #15
    Hijack away - the treads about rippng workflow, so any problem in yours is on topic. Just to clarify, you're using MP4, not h264, correct? I've had no trouble, as previously state, but I'm using h246 with an .m4v extension. No files over 4gb, but the 64bit flag has been turned on for some of the files, but not others.
     
  16. 7on macrumors 601

    7on

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Location:
    Dress Rosa
    #16
    I rip with Handbrake. X264 1700kbps, 5.1 Dolby Digital, Full width (720 or 640 depending on widescreen) and then copy them to my Popcorn Hour :D
     
  17. arjen92 macrumors 65816

    arjen92

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Location:
    Below sea level
    #17
    I download them from the internet, the quality is good enough (for me), and in holland it's legal to have a copy of all your stuff and I can't remember saying it that it couldn't be copied from the internet.
     
  18. ant1ers macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #18
    Currently, it's MtR 3 extracting the DVD to the hard drive, then using Visual Hub's :apple:TV setting to extract the video to a mp4 file. Imported to iTunes, then tagged inside iTunes. 41/~300 movies have been encoded thus far.

    I've tried Handbrake, but for some reason the :apple:TV preset did not look as good to my eyes. And MetaX refuses to work for some reason that I'm too lazy to figure out, so that's out as well.

    Definitely going to be following this thread however, as I've recently been encountering some audio synch issues with the VisualHub conversions.
     
  19. eddyg macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2003
    Location:
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    #19
    No limit for the length of the queue if implemented using a script. Note that the queue has been entirely rewritten since 0.9.2, so hopefully any of those bugs have been replaced with new ones by now :)
     
  20. TuckBodi macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    #20
    Thx! I gave your shell script a whirl and I ran into some errors and issues. Biggest thing was there wasn't an AC3 track produced. Should I not be getting an AC3 track along with the AAC track (I do from the GUI/AppleTV preset version)? Other than that the CLI just rocked as I was averaging 35fps whereas the GUI version I get around 20fps!

    Here's the final output from the command line and the lone entry in the log file (Note: When I rip my movies with MTR I do not include subtitles).

    From Terminal (HandbrakeCLI):
    Rip done!
    HandBrake has exited.
    3657.70 real 6984.03 user 112.87 sys
    handbrakecli.sh: line 16: R: command not found
    handbrakecli.sh: line 18: uto:vbv-maxrate=4900:vbv-bufsize=2700:cabac=0: command not found


    From HandbrakeCLI Log:
    handbrakecli.sh: line 19: -subtitle-force: command not found

    HandBrake-svn1477-MacOSX.5_CLI_x86
    Mac mini 1.83GHz Core 2 Duo
    4GB (3GB) RAM
    OS X 10.5.4
     
  21. TuckBodi macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    #21
    In addition to the comments above a couple of the things I do related to MetaX in the flow are:

    1) Make a backup of the movies I'm going to MetaX as I've had the app hose movies and/or crash right in the middle of tagging one which means I have to re-encode them. I'm now figuring out all the quirks of MetaX (i.e. #2) and may someday eliminate this step but for now it's a safety net.

    2) I have found I cannot get away with tagging more than 10 movies at a time in MetaX or the app freaks out.

    3) Another thing, which isn't all the time, is it seems to be foolproof if after each tagging session I quit the app and restart it. Could be a memory leak.

    4) Lastly, I turned off the auto-import into iTunes as for me it seemed sensitive and flakey as well. Could be tied into other issues as noted above but didn't have time to research.
     
  22. mrgreen4242 thread starter macrumors 601

    mrgreen4242

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    #22

    1) There's an option in MetaX to move a copy of the file to the trash before you start working on it. This might help you out, I don't use it because I've never had a problem, and also I keep all the video_ts folders until they are completely into iTunes, so I can re-rip in my next batch. The copy takes (significant time) for each file, so I figure that if 1 in 50 of my files get borked by MetaX I'm still coming out ahead re-ripping (time wise).

    2) I've done as many as 25 or 30 (files, 16 TV episodes, 6 or 8 movies) in a batch without issue. Only crash I have with MetaX is if I try to cancel mid-queue.

    3) I do this, too, but only because I'm done with the app for a day until my next batch is dome converting.

    4) Again, no trouble there for me. Curious, do you have iTunes set to movie files into your iTunes library folder? That might cause trouble (I don't have that option on).
     
  23. eddyg macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2003
    Location:
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    #23
    You've inserted newlines in the HandBrake command in the script, they are supposed to all be on a single line. That would also explain the improvement in speed. Get rid of those and it should all come right, assuming your using a new version on HB, I don,t recall when those AC3 options were added to the CLI.

    Cheers Ed
     
  24. TuckBodi macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    #24
    Yup, that was it. Such a n00b here...sorry. And yeah, fps is back down to below 20. Oh well, I still like the convenience of just pointing at a folder and letting it do it's thing.

    @mrgreen4242..
    "4) Again, no trouble there for me. Curious, do you have iTunes set to movie files into your iTunes library folder? That might cause trouble (I don't have that option on)."

    I don't think I did because I have all my media on external drives and try to keep my main drive free from them.
     

Share This Page