Your thoughts on the Pentax K-r

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by mojopixel, Feb 17, 2011.

1. mojopixel macrumors 6502

mojopixel

Hi,

I'm a newbie when it comes to DSLRs and after a bit of research I was thinking about getting a Pentax K-r. I'm primarily interested in taking photos of landscapes and shots of the city at night and that's why I'm thinking of this particular camera.

Does anybody here have one and if so what do you think it's a good camera, especially for landscapes and low-light shots?

Thanks for your input,

P :)

2. Hisdem macrumors 6502a

Hisdem

If you want to take low light shots, I would recommend you take a look at the Nikon D3100, as it shows less noise than the K-r at high ISO. The D3100 is also around $100 cheaper, but has a slower max shutter speed, and half the boost ISO. Also, AFAIK Nikon has a much wider range of lenses available. If you would like to see a rough comparison, check these links.

D3100 x K-r

Rebel T2i x K-r

All of them are very good cameras though, so I'm sure you will be satisfied with whichever you choose! :D

3. Phrasikleia macrumors 601

Phrasikleia

Not quite true, especially when you consider all of the great and inexpensive manual focus lenses available for either camera. Vintage lenses for both Nikon and Pentax abound. I would be surprised if Pentax didn't have an equal range available.

4. Hisdem macrumors 6502a

Hisdem

Good point, I was just taking into account new AF lenses, my mistake. :eek: I'm also a newbie at this :)

5. Abstract macrumors Penryn

Abstract

Sure, I'd recommend it. All DSLRs these days offer exceptional image quality. Pentax is smaller than Nikon, Canon, and Sony, so their cameras are all of very high quality and have lots of desirable features, even the basic models. And nobody makes pancake lenses quite like Pentax. ;)

6. Jason Beck macrumors 68000

Jason Beck

ajhahahajajahahah

7. TheReef, Feb 17, 2011
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2011

TheReef macrumors 68000

TheReef