YouTube Causing UI System Lag

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Tucom, Jun 27, 2016.

  1. Tucom macrumors 65816

    Tucom

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    #1
    It was so bizarre - there's only one channel I've come across on YouTube that does this. Basically once clicking on this channel (GameRiot) - everything runs considerably slower and lag arises; YouTube red page loading progress bar chugs at a lower frame rate, and switching between full screen apps using my TrackPad 2 sometimes freezes completely.

    This is the channel - https://www.youtube.com/user/GameRiotArmy

    Does this happen for anyone else? Running a year old 2015 Retina 4K iMac Core i5 3.2Ghz SSD and Iris Pro GPU.
     
  2. Samuelsan2001 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    #2
    It's fine on my iPad.
     
  3. Tucom, Jun 28, 2016
    Last edited: Jun 28, 2016

    Tucom thread starter macrumors 65816

    Tucom

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    #3
    Not iPad - iMac, or any Mac running El Cap.

    UPDATE - Seems to be a Safari-only thing; runs totally fine on Google Chrome. Really weird, literally causes the whole Aqua UI to lock up and freeze for moments at a time.
     
  4. BigJohno macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #4
    Youtube on Safari has always been crap. Hope something changes with Sierra.
     
  5. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #5
    It does seem a little laggy on my iMac (and safari), I recommend using chrome for this channel, if the performance is too frustrating
     
  6. miffytherabbit macrumors newbie

    miffytherabbit

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2016
    #6
    Weirdly this happened to me today too. It only happened on the GameSpot Youtube channel (I was watching a review). I tried to go full screen and the whole thing locked up for about five seconds. It started again suddenly, but every time I toggled the page to full screen and back it locked up. I was so worried about that I ran a diagnostics check, but it came back fine. It's even stranger coming across your post today, as I'd never even heard of this issue before, let alone experienced it myself.
     

Share This Page