YouTube HD, now audio and video are out of sync

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by slipper, Dec 4, 2008.

  1. slipper macrumors 68000

    slipper

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    #1
    Everything is fine with REGULAR YouTube but as soon as i click "watch in hd" the audio is now fast forwarded and ends quite a bit before the actual video ends. Everything is now out of sync.

    Any suggestion on how to fix this?
     
  2. bki122689 macrumors 6502

    bki122689

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    #2
    i would try removing it from youtube and uploading it again.

    can you possibly send me the link?
     
  3. charlieluccini macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    #3
    Same Problem

    I think I've done 'em all

    I starded a weekly dance video series last week

    and it worked well

    episode too is only synced in regular version

    the HD is out of sync

    I uploaded it 5 times... (took me 2 days)

    same all

    I think its a YOUTUBE bug..

    but in case anybody had solved this problem

    I'd like to resolve it too

    thank U
     
  4. DPA macrumors 65816

    DPA

    #4
    Just put "watch in normal quality if audio and video are out of sync" in the description. This is a problem that most of the HD videos are having on YouTube. It's not you fault. I have come across videos that are out of sync in HD that are from an official Feature Film channel, here. You must remember that streaming HD in as big of a screen as YouTube is offering should take longer than what it is taking to load. I do not know what kind of codecs Google has set up for the HD video to go through when uploaded but it obviously needs some tweaking. The out of sync problem is not your problem and there is really noting you can do about it. Upload your video in high quality (dv), and it won't be presented in HD, only in high quality. High quality on YouTube is usually OK but it does take some time to load (not that much).
     
  5. slipper thread starter macrumors 68000

    slipper

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    #5
    Exporting the video from iMovie in mono fixes the problem of out of sync audio and video.

    I figured out the problem a little while ago and i figure i'd post it here so others wont have to deal with the same problem.
     
  6. llanelwy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    #6
    Repasting this from where i originally posted it. chosing these options fixed my sync problems in final cut express. should work for imovie though too.

    Both worked for me and ended up with in sync audio. but from what i have read the 2nd way listed works more reliably.


    *** Paste ***
    From that article i was able to put together the following. These are two export settings that appear to work. Good to know after you Video has been rendered after upload to youtube, it takes another 1-2 hours before the option will show up to watch the HD version

    Apply the Deinterlace filter mentioned above to your time line then export as follows.

    Export HD for Youtube as mpeg 4

    File -->Export --> Quick Time Convertion

    Set the Format to be mpeg-4
    Click the options button
    Set the file format to be mp4

    On the video tab set as follows

    Video format = H.264
    Data Rate = 2500
    image size = 1280x720 HD

    On the Audio Tab

    Date Rate = 192 KBPS

    Ok setting and save the file, Ready for upload to You tube. My test worked fine but i have read that people have had audio sync problems with this. if you have that problem use the 2nd way listed next.

    Export HD for Youtube as Quicktime

    File -->Export --> Quick Time Convertion

    Set the format
    Format = Quicktime Movie

    Click Options

    Click Settings

    Set the following options leave everything else as is

    Compression type = Mpeg-4 Video
    Frame Rate = Set this to whatever your original frame rate was.
    Quality = Best

    Click ok

    Click Size

    Set to HD 1280x720 16:9

    Click ok

    Click sound

    Format = AAC
    rate = 44,100

    Thats it. This one worked for me but took longer to output from FCE.
     

Share This Page