YouTube Issues

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by TjeuV, Jun 26, 2012.

  1. TjeuV, Jun 26, 2012
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2012

    TjeuV macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2011
    Location:
    Belgium
    #1
    First, I haven't found anyone else on this forum having the same problem.

    Loading the youtube page gives me no problems, all thumbnails load without any problems.
    When I select a video, then the missery starts. It plays for about a minute, then reloads, all very slow. And the weird thing ... The thumbnails on the right seem to take forever to load. And the weirdest thing ... I only seem to have this problem at my appartement and not when I'm at home. It's the same provider.

    I'm not in the HTML 5 beta. That was junk aswell


    Any suggestion is welcome !

    edit: Speedtest result: 14.13 Mbps download speed so that's not it.
     
  2. vmachiel macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Location:
    Holland
    #2
    Jep i have the exact same thing and i don't know why. I blame it on youtube, since every other thing that uses the internet is fast as ever
     
  3. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #3
    For Flash-related issues:
    • Find your Flash version and make sure it's the latest version available. Never install or update Flash from a pop-up on a website. Always go to Adobe's site to get Flash or updates.
    • Install ClickToFlash (Safari), Flashblock (Firefox) or FlashBlock (Chrome) to control which Flash content plays on websites.
    • Try using the YouTube HTML5 Video Player to watch YouTube videos, when available. (May impact fullscreen viewing. See link for details.) As far as performance impact, YMMV.
     
  4. TjeuV thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2011
    Location:
    Belgium
    #4
    HTML 5 is worse. It's the latest flash version
     
  5. Hexiii macrumors 65816

    Hexiii

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011
    Location:
    Prague, Czech Republic
    #5
    I was just going to post a thread about this when I saw this one.

    I don't have any issues when using Windows Laptop, however on MBA the video loads ok, but then after a while it just goes back to start and begins to load.
     
  6. TjeuV thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2011
    Location:
    Belgium
    #6
    Is the right column with recommended video's also loading incredibly slow?
     
  7. Hexiii macrumors 65816

    Hexiii

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011
    Location:
    Prague, Czech Republic
    #7
    I haven't noticed, but I switched to HTML 5 and it seems better at the moment.
     
  8. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #8
    HTML5 is not the latest Flash version. It's not even Flash. Whether it works better or worse appears to vary from one user to another, which is why I said YMMV.
     
  9. TjeuV thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2011
    Location:
    Belgium
    #9
    First part was referring to you advising me to try html5 which works out worse for me. Second part referred to you mentioning me to update my flash player. :eek:
     
  10. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #10
    Ahh! Gotcha!
     
  11. TjeuV thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2011
    Location:
    Belgium
    #11
    But none of those are the issue as I only have this problem on a certain connection.

    Are there parameters I could check regarding to router preferences, ...
     
  12. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #12
    I don't think it will address the specific issue you described, but if you haven't already done so, try changing your DNS servers on your Mac and your router to OpenDNS servers. This will show you how: Why am I being redirected to other sites?
     
  13. TjeuV thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2011
    Location:
    Belgium
    #13
    For all you who have the same problem:

    Didn't do the openDNS, but after a few manual resets (3) I did a remote full reset of my router and abracadabra, all works fine again ... Weird sh** if you ask me.
     
  14. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #14
    Glad you got it worked out! It must have been gremlins!
     
  15. Hexiii macrumors 65816

    Hexiii

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011
    Location:
    Prague, Czech Republic
    #15
    So I've tried reinstalling Adobe Flash - nothing, different browser - nothing, cleaning cache - nothing.

    Weird it happens only on a Mac.
     

Share This Page