Youtube requires update?

Discussion in 'iOS 6' started by cw48494, Mar 28, 2018.

  1. cw48494 macrumors regular

    cw48494

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2015
    #1
    Just now receiving such message when trying to access the Youtube app.

    Is there a way to edit out the pop-up? Youtube seems to work fine when loading/playing videos until the pop-up notification which only gives you the option of upgrading or quitting the application.
     
  2. Avenged110 macrumors 6502

    Avenged110

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Location:
    Greatest Country on Earth
    #2
    I haven't used that app in a long time, but you used to be able to if you were jailbroken.
     
  3. cw48494 thread starter macrumors regular

    cw48494

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2015
    #3
    Device is jailbroken, just started bringing up the notification a few days ago.
     
  4. Avenged110 macrumors 6502

    Avenged110

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Location:
    Greatest Country on Earth
    #4
    It used to be that if you find the info.plist file and change the internal app version number to something much closer to the current version, it would stop displaying the popup. That said, that's how it used to be implemented, so I'm not sure if that's changed in the last couple of years.
     
  5. TRDmanAE86 macrumors 6502

    TRDmanAE86

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2015
    Location:
    New England
    #5
    I've ran into this problem too with my unjailbroken iPod Touch 4th gen on 6.1.6 which started over spring break.

    Since I'm not jailbroken, I found a amusing solution. You can delete the app and then re-downoad it. For me, all of my google accounts were still signed in and, I could freely watch videos.

    Unfortunately, i've noticed that if I closed the app or it crashed, It would display that same annoying message and I'd have to delete the app and re-download it again to get rid of that message.
     
  6. cw48494 thread starter macrumors regular

    cw48494

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2015
    #6
    Edited .plist and changed dates to 2018 and check for ios version to false, seems to work great now! Changing version only changed the UI but doesn't seem to matter either way.
     

Share This Page