YouTube Slowwwwwww>???

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by DJ Hurricane, Jul 14, 2007.

  1. DJ Hurricane macrumors newbie

    DJ Hurricane

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Location:
    Miami Beach
    #1
    I try to watch a video with the Youtube App, but it always starts to play, and then hangs! not even a quarter into it...

    I have great Wifi at home and in the office! Emails ans Safari work great!
    Same with Edge!

    But YouTube is unusable>>> \

    Anyone having this issue?

    :confused::confused:
     
  2. maclover007 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Location:
    USA
    #2
    nope...i hve the app and it works great on my new macbook black....how old is u'r computor....that could hve something 2 do wit it
    Jake
     
  3. question fear macrumors 68020

    question fear

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Location:
    The "Garden" state
    #3
    Uh, he's refering to it on an iphone. since this is an iphone forum.

    First question: did you try rebooting? i know it sounds strange but it might kill some process running in the background. Hold down the sleep/wake key until the power off switch appears.

    Beyond that I would take it to an apple store if you can. Demo it for them against a demo iphone and see if there is a major diff, if so maybe you can swap it out.

    You could also try a full restore through itunes.
     
  4. DJ Hurricane thread starter macrumors newbie

    DJ Hurricane

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Location:
    Miami Beach
    #4
    Thanks,

    But, We are talking about the Iphone here rite?....

    What does my Macbook (Brand new) have to do with the way my Iphone streams Youtube?
     
  5. DJ Hurricane thread starter macrumors newbie

    DJ Hurricane

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Location:
    Miami Beach
    #5
    Thanks Q Fear>>> I Tried a reset, same BS!!! 5% of the video then Hang.....WTF>>>>

    I tried it in the store b4 bying the Iphone... seemed to work fine!

    Everything else on my Iphone is great! even Battery life is great!

    Bummed
     
  6. question fear macrumors 68020

    question fear

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Location:
    The "Garden" state
    #6
    Well I just read in another thread that activations are down for the day. DO NOT RESTORE UNTIL ACTIVATIONS COME BACK!!! You won't lose anything as long as you sync to itunes beforehand but you won't be able to re-activate which is apparently necessary to the update. So be aware. But I would try to just turn it off and back on first and if it still fails when activation returns try to retore it.
     
  7. DJ Hurricane thread starter macrumors newbie

    DJ Hurricane

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Location:
    Miami Beach
    #7
    i just got it to work fine with edge.... but not with wifi!!!
     
  8. question fear macrumors 68020

    question fear

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Location:
    The "Garden" state
    #8

    Have you used more than one wifi spot? If it doesn't work at home try it elsewhere and see...if it won't work at any wifi spot then does wifi work fine otherwise at d/ling websites? Go to iphonespeedtest.com with isafari and see what your speeds are on wifi, maybe something is wrong with your wifi and that's the issue.
     
  9. DJ Hurricane thread starter macrumors newbie

    DJ Hurricane

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Location:
    Miami Beach
    #9
    Yeah, I admitt, Im not the Wifi guru... I had to call a friend in New Orleans just to figure out how to get to my Linksys' Setup page (Url)... I cant remember how to get back to it to make any changes...

    I have noticed I get dropped off regularly and have to reset the router! (while surfing from MacBook)

    As for the Iphone... My speeds at home are: 407.kbps then down to 57.7kbps.....

    I connect at work, but dont think I actully tried YouTube, or a speed test.>>>
     
  10. ITASOR macrumors 601

    ITASOR

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Location:
    Oneida, NY
  11. ITASOR macrumors 601

    ITASOR

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Location:
    Oneida, NY
    #11
    http://192.168.1.1 most likely. I would hold the reset button on the back of your Linksys router with a paper clip or something for 30 seconds (you'll see the lights flashing, keep holding it for 30 seconds to a minute or whatever) and then access that page with username "admin" and password "admin" and then try the iPhone's youtube via Wifi. If that works, you know there was a problem with your router settings.

    If you're getting lots of changing wifi speeds, I would try changing the channel on your router as well (after you reset it like I said above).
     
  12. DJ Hurricane thread starter macrumors newbie

    DJ Hurricane

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Location:
    Miami Beach
    #12
    Thanks alot ITASOR> I tried that URL but my name and passwork wont log me in....?

    Should it be the same as the name of my router and password///?

    Sory for the ignorance<>>
     
  13. ITASOR macrumors 601

    ITASOR

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Location:
    Oneida, NY
    #13
    You mean you're trying your Mac OS X username/password? The router has nothing to do with that. Try "admin" for both username and password. That's what it is by default.

    If you can't get in, resetting the router like I described also resets it's username/password to "admin".
     
  14. DJ Hurricane thread starter macrumors newbie

    DJ Hurricane

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Location:
    Miami Beach
    #14
    No I was talking about my Wifi routers name and password...lol but I see>>>

    Admin Admin.


    Thanks
     
  15. DJ Hurricane thread starter macrumors newbie

    DJ Hurricane

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Location:
    Miami Beach
    #15
    Today I got Youtube to stream on my Wifi Connection at work!

    But still not working on my home network>>>>??

    Any Ideas?
     
  16. DJ Hurricane thread starter macrumors newbie

    DJ Hurricane

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Location:
    Miami Beach
    #16
    Today I got Youtube to stream on my Wifi Connection at work!

    But still not working on my home network>>>>??

    Any Ideas?
     

Share This Page