Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

falstaffpac

macrumors member
Original poster
Jun 23, 2010
St. Louis, MO
I wanted to share a solution I discovered regarding the Zagg Folio2 keyboard.

First, a quick review for those who may be interested. I've been using the Folio2 for approximately 4 months. The addition of a keyboard to the iPad has made it far more functional for data entry. In fact, the iPad has almost completely replaced my laptop for computing. I use the iPad/Folio2 regularly at work. The case is compact and durable. I find the keyboard itself easy to type on, with good spring on the keys. I've recommended the Folio2 to several people at work.

I've been having a problem over the past 3-4 weeks with the SHIFT keys not functioning (left and right side) yet the CAPS LOCK key functions as it should. I've done some searching on the internet, but no real clear solutions. Another forum suggested it was dust causing the problem. It does seem to be a problem with some users, many getting replacement keyboards under warranty as the solution. I began playing with different key combinations on the iPad and discovered one which solved the SHIFT problem on my keyboard.

If your SHIFT keys stop functioning, the following key combination seems to "reset" the SHIFT function: ALT+SHIFT+S (the 'S' is arbitrary, any alphabet key should work). This appears to type an ASCII symbol but has the effect of restoring SHIFT functionality.

Hope someone finds this helpful.

hchavarria

macrumors 6502
Oct 8, 2008