Zip Tie SSD enclosure under HDD Bay

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by fridgeymonster3, Mar 23, 2011.

  1. fridgeymonster3, Mar 23, 2011
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2011

    fridgeymonster3 macrumors 6502

    fridgeymonster3

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    #1
    I was wondering if anyone has zip tied a dual SSD enclosure underneath one of your 4 occupied hard drive bays? I already have a superdrive and internal blu-ray drive in my optical bays, and I really don't want to take up one of the four hard drive bays.

    I was thinking of taking an enclosure like this (http://www.icydock.com/goods.php?id=79) and then using a molex Y splitter and the ODD Sata ports for the SSD's.

    This would also require me to buy an IDE to Sata converter (like this: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000ZLM9IA/ref=ox_ya_os_product) to free up one of my ODD sata ports as I have my blu-ray drive using one right now.

    Any thoughts? Anyone see any problems or done anything similar?
     
  2. JavaTheHut macrumors 6502

    JavaTheHut

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    #2
    You could pull out your DVD drive and just use your BluRay drive and then you have room. Unless you do a lot of CD transfers?
     
  3. fridgeymonster3 thread starter macrumors 6502

    fridgeymonster3

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    #3
    Yeah I've considered doing that. My LG blu-ray drive is finicky though. I've never had a problem with the stock super-drive and I generally am a procrastinator when it comes to trouble shooting problems. If I just had the blu-ray drive and it acted up, my wife would hassle me until I fixed it.
     
  4. cutterman macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    #4
    You can get an enclosure to convert the Bluray drive to external.
     
  5. ActionableMango, Mar 23, 2011
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2011

    ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #5
    Aren't you going to disable one of the ODDs anyway when you do this:

     
  6. Loa macrumors 65816

    Loa

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Location:
    Québec
  7. fridgeymonster3, Mar 24, 2011
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2011

    fridgeymonster3 thread starter macrumors 6502

    fridgeymonster3

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    #7
    I have an early 2008 MP.

    I'm pretty sure the ODD Sata ports are bootable in OS X. It's just that for windows you have to modify the MBR to have the computer boot in AHCI mode. I had done that in the past so my blu-ray drive that was connected to one of the Odd Sata ports was able to be seen in Windows.
     
  8. fridgeymonster3 thread starter macrumors 6502

    fridgeymonster3

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    #8
    Since nobody seems to have any experience with trying to piggyback a regular 3.5" HDD and a dual SSD enclosure onto 1 hard drive sled, I guess I'll try to rig something up this weekend. I'll report back if I find something suitable.
     
  9. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #9
  10. fridgeymonster3 thread starter macrumors 6502

    fridgeymonster3

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    #10
    I guess I haven't really been that clear. Here is my system configuration as it is now:

    Mac Pro 3,1

    Opt Bay 1: Superdrive
    Opt Bay 2: Blu-Ray

    HDD Bay 1: WD Caviar Black
    HDD Bay 2: Samsung F3
    HDD Bay 3: WD Caviar Green
    HDD Bay 4: Hitachi

    I want to leave the current configuration AS IS, but I want to utilize the 2 ODD Sata on the motherboard by adding 2 SSD's internally connected to them. I believe I can just take the sata power from the 2 Sata Optical connecters that I am not using (both drives are configured as PATA). Is there an easier way to gain power access?

    Anyways, I don't want to buy something like the DX4, so I really want to know if anyone has rigged 2 SSD drives internally in their Mac Pro via zip ties, etc without using the optical bays or a HDD bay.
     
  11. Loa macrumors 65816

    Loa

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Location:
    Québec
    #11
    Hello,

    It will be messy, and you'll have to find a path for the power wires, but zip ties should do the trick. SSDs don't much care about how they're mounted as there are no moving parts.

    Let us know!

    Loa
     
  12. fridgeymonster3 thread starter macrumors 6502

    fridgeymonster3

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    #12
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

    I tried several different options last night and finally threw in the towel around 2 AM. It was because I couldn't find a clean way to accomplish what I wanted. I ended up pulling a HDD as of right now, but I may just ditch one of my optical drives instead later. Oh well.
     

Share This Page