08 cMP rescue -> best source for RAM?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by handheldgames, Aug 6, 2016.

  1. handheldgames macrumors 6502a

    handheldgames

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    #1
    I grabbed a 08 cmp from the E-waste pile, with a post-it note "dead video" taped to the top. While im not sure if the installed ATI 2600xt works, a brand new 5770, sealed in original non-static bagsc, was in the box of goodies next to the 08 cmp.

    After a good tear/down and cleaning, the cmp 08 booted up to the desktop, running on 2gb with memory issues one FB-DIMM card. Swapping the RAM, the issue follows the bad 1mb stick.

    For a production coordinator, this box will be more than enough CPU power to handle my enterprise OS/X graphics coupon rendering app. What's the fastest / cheapest FB-DIMM the 08 can handle and where is the best source in 2016?
     
  2. isisism, Aug 6, 2016
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2016

    isisism macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 13, 2016
    #2
    I'm no Mac guru, but based on a post I saw on this site I just bought this RAM for my early 2008 from this ebay seller:
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/161852647194?_trksid=p2057872.m2749.l2649&ssPageName=STRK:MEBIDX:IT

    S/he also has other amounts like 8gb here:
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/8GB-2X4GB-M...610712?hash=item2586475118:g:nuEAAOxyNDhSZ9X9

    (btw, try making an offer, they accepted mine so I saved $10. ymmv)

    EDIT: I just got it and installed and all seems fine. I haven't run any tests. I tried to do the thing where you hold "d"/"option+d"while the Mac boots which is supposed to test your hardware but nothing happened, it went to the boot screen. Perhaps that's an outdated method.

    My question is, now I have 6 4gb sticks and 2 1gb sticks. Does it matter which slots I put them in? The first time I booted up after installing it was only showing the 4gb (2 prev installed and 4 new ones) sticks, now I've rebooted and it shows all of them.
     
  3. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #3
  4. ColdCase macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Location:
    NH
    #4
    +1 for DMS, you may get lucky otherwise but usually their stuff is certified and burned in.
     
  5. CapnDavey macrumors 6502

    CapnDavey

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2015
    #5
    try Amazon last year I got 16 gig for my 06 with the large heat sinks for 40 dollars
     
  6. isisism macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 13, 2016
    #6
    Ran memtest on my new ebay RAM and everything checked out fine!
     
  7. NY Guitarist macrumors 65816

    NY Guitarist

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    #7
    I've used datamem.com (DMS) for around 20 years and they are my first choice.
     
  8. handheldgames thread starter macrumors 6502a

    handheldgames

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    #8
    Thanks for the tips! I grabbed 8GB off of EBAY for $38, that arriveS around Aug 15th, and another 16GB from AMAZON for $80 with next day delivery arrives later today. Both vendors offer a lifetime warranty, and if my memory serves me right, the 3,1 tends to cook RAM.

    Thx!
     
  9. ITguy2016 Suspended

    Joined:
    May 25, 2016
    #9
    I've never heard of this. Do you have any references? I have a 3,1 and would be interested in learning more.
     
  10. handheldgames thread starter macrumors 6502a

    handheldgames

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    #10
    IMO... My last 3,1 had memory purchased from OWC that had failed after a 1 1/2 years. At that time, the OWC RMA rep I spoke with stated that the heat generated by the amount of voltage pushed through the chips to keep them stable leads makes them more likely to fail earlier in their lifecycle that other platforms.

    Considering how dusty the internals of the 3,1 were, the best best for longevity is to clean the insides, underneath the CPU shroud and all. WFIW... my 3,1 was clean as a whistle when the memory fried out. Go figure
     
  11. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #11
    ^^^^IMO, OWC products are crap and so is their knowledge and advice. I had my 3,1 for 6 years and never had a RAM issue. But, of course, I had DMS RAM. IMHO, some folks are taking RAM for granted, treating it as a commodity and buying the cheapest stuff they can find. Again, IMO, it is much more than that, it is an integral part of any computer, phone, tablet and etc. Scrimping here (shopping by price aline) is a fools errand.

    But that's just me[​IMG]

    I've never known the 3,1 to have a RAM problem using quality RAM with the properly designed heatsink.

    Lou
     
  12. ITguy2016 Suspended

    Joined:
    May 25, 2016
    #12
    Thanks for the information. I'm a firm believer in keeping a system as dust free as reasonably possible in order to minimize the chances for heat related failures. However sometimes parts just fail despite efforts to keep them as clean as possible.
     
  13. ColdCase macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Location:
    NH
    #13
    I cooked a RAM stick once by running the 3,1 in a enclosed cabinet for 10 hours and overheating it (short story is the normally opened cabinet door was accidentally closed and the sleeping Mac started up due to a AC power glitch). I think I've read that the 3,1 RAM sleds tend to get hotter than other models (i.e. the big heat sink RAM sticks recommendation). It may not have as much overtemp protection built in to save the RAM, but I dunno, just guessing. But the 3,1 RAM can get hot when pushing it.
     

Share This Page