'09 Mini Does not boot reliably after SSD Upgrade

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by noobish895, Aug 11, 2012.

  1. noobish895 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2012
    #1
    Hello,

    I've just upgraded to an SSD in my '09 Mini, but for some reason it does not boot reliably off the new drive.

    Either it will boot fine or it will hang on the grey screen with the apple logo and the spinning progess icon thingy.

    I've tried;

    • Verifying and repairing the volume using the Disk utility on the recovery disk, everything was ok.
    • Repairing permissions using the Disk Util on the recovery disk, all ok
    • Running every maintenance task using Onyx (deleting Cache's, maintenance scripts). All went ok, but Onyx now stops responding to me for me when it tries to veryify the startup volume when the application starts
    • Running the hardware test using the applications install disk, no errors were reported

    I have also set the new drive as the boot volume.

    When it does boot properly it works well (using it to type this), SSD's FTW :)

    I used Carbon Copy Cloner to create the copy of the OS (I copied the entire volume with no errors), I'm running Snow Leopard and this is the SSD I bought.

    Any ideas?
     
  2. n0cus macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    #2
    Upgrade to Mountain Lion maybe? Just a thought, because it could be a bug in Snow Leopard.
     
  3. philipma1957 macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #3
    the 2009 mac mini is sata II not sata III. you picked a sata III ssd.

    if you can find an older samsung series 810/470 in europe it should work.

    2009 mac minis can be picky about sata III ssd's some they like some they say f u.

    Remember it is a sata II socket. I had luck with the older intel ssd's in that machine.
     
  4. noobish895 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2012
    #4
    Thanks for the replies folks! Very quick!

    Unfortunately I'm stuck with SL because the remote desktop software I use for my work only works with SL or lower.

    ML does look quality though, it's a shame to miss it!

    The SSD is Sata II? According to the website it's SATA 300 (SATA II), the documentation that came with it, and the stickers on the drive all state SATA II.

    I really hope my Mini hasn't said F U to me :)
     
  5. tom vilsack macrumors 68000

    tom vilsack

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Location:
    ladner cdn
    #5
    Same thing happened in my macbook...what i had to do to fix issue.

    -clean install of snow leopard,not cloning using carbon copy (would no longer hang at grey screen).
    -my ssd was based on sandforce and would sometimes lag while using snow leopard...downloaded "trim enabler" this fixed that issue.
    http://www.groths.org/?page_id=322
     
  6. noobish895 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2012
    #6
    Thanks!

    Still no luck with it, tried the clean install but the Trim Enabler doesn't want to work.

    But the thing about "TRIM" lead me onto this post, which is worth a try;

    http://www.ocztechnologyforum.com/forum/showthread.php?103483-MAC-ONLY-Firmware-update

    I'll try that see if it works, need to order a USB stick first though.
     
  7. tom vilsack macrumors 68000

    tom vilsack

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Location:
    ladner cdn
  8. philipma1957 macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #8
    my bad i thought you had the octane52 model. i read the firmware that they are doing for your drive it may work. i do not use ocz due to many bad ssds in 2009 3 of 4 that i had went bad.
     
  9. noobish895 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2012
    #9
    Sure, it's an OCZ Octane S2, 256 GB version. Thanks!

    Thanks pal. Strewth... I hope I don't have a dud :eek:

    I'll post back when I have the results of the firmware upgrade, hopefully someone else might find this useful.
     
  10. noobish895 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2012
    #10
    I tried upgrading the firmware, still doesn't work...

    In case anyone reads this, I've started a new thread on the OCZ forums here

    Thanks everyone for your help and thoughts!
     

Share This Page