1 8800 and 3 ati 2600s

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Macpropro80, Feb 17, 2009.

  1. Macpropro80 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    #1
    can I run 1 (one) 8800 and 3 (three) ati 2600's at one time with my pro?
     
  2. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #2
    You can install them all, but I don't know if having four GPUs would exceed the power draw. I don't think so, but it never hurts to check.

    (before someone whines, "Why didn't YOU check!" the answer is I'm busy, I have other things I want to do, and the OP is equally as capable as I am of looking up the pertinent info)
     
  3. Chaos123x macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
  4. m1stake macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Philly
    #4
    Obviously you can run 4 2600XT's and be within the limit, but the 8800GT takes a lot more power. I'd go out on a limb and guess that 3 of those and an 8800GT exceeds the draw.
     
  5. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #5
    The total allowance is 300 watts.

    Each HD 2600 XT is 50, and the 8800 GT is 130, I believe.

    130+(50*3)=270.

    But unless you're running seven displays MINIMUM, this is an absolutely worthless setup.
     
  6. m1stake macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Philly
    #6
    A quick google said a 2600 idled at 125 or so. I know Apple's is underclocked, but it's not that underclocked.
     
  7. richard.mac macrumors 603

    richard.mac

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    51.50024, -0.12662
    #7
    the 2600 is just used for more displays. its not like its going to improve graphic performance in games or anything.
     
  8. Macpropro80 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    #8
    I have 2 Ati 2600's installed right now, but over the next few years I want a system that has 8, 30 inch ACD's but I also want performance for games, So I was hoping I could use the 8800 for COD 4 and the others to just drive displays.

    Also I don't think the 2600's use 125 idle because how could I use 4 then?

    Anyone using 2 ati 2600's and an 8800?
     
  9. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #9
    I demand pictures on the day that this happens.:D

    Oh, and good luck actually GETTING it to happen, because unless you buy within the next couple of months, you won't be able to get any more 30" Cinema Displays new from Apple that you will be able to use with your Mac Pro.
     
  10. Zortrium macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    #10
    Okay, I'll bite.

    If you've got the kind of cash to put down on such a comically unnecessary setup, then you ought to just buy a $5000 gaming PC with 12 of the latest GPUs in SLI or whatever and just forget about gaming on your Mac.

    But in a few years, it'll be more worth your money to upgrade your Mac Pro than to spend $1000+ to increase your screen real estate from 29 to 33 million pixels, so I don't anticipate this actually being an issue.
     
  11. Macpropro80 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    #11
    I will give you a picture when you give me an answer :)

    I currently dont have to cash but even if i did, how would I get the DVI cables to reach my pro.

    First answer my original question, then the one i need answered in 10 years.
     
  12. Salavat23 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    #12
    If you don't understand how to read information properly, don't regurgitate it all over this forum.

    That is 125W for the ENTIRE system at idle, not only the card.

    The card uses around 30-60 watts depending on the load.
     
  13. grue macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Location:
    Somewhere.
    #13
    I have a hard time believing any Mac Pro configuration idles at 125w.
     
  14. Salavat23 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    #14
    We're not talking about the Mac Pro in specific.

    Just an example of a PC that is configured with a 2600XT.
     
  15. grue macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Location:
    Somewhere.
    #15
    Ok, that I'd have less trouble believing. My machine when I last plugged in a Kill A Watt was sitting pretty at around 450 watts :/
     
  16. kabunaru Guest

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    #16
    130 + (50*3)= 280 not 270
     
  17. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #17
    The point is, it's still under. :D

    Also, by the inverse law of electronegativity (also known as Molex's law), it works out to be less than the sum of the parts.

    If you know anything about the word "molex", you know I'm just making crap up.
     
  18. IgnatiusTheKing macrumors 68040

    IgnatiusTheKing

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Location:
    das Fort
    #18
    Is Apple discontinuing the 30" display?
     
  19. kabunaru Guest

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    #19
    20" Cinema Display
     
  20. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #20
    DVI. And we all know that there are no DVI-Mini DisplayPort adapters.

    Yes, that one, too.
     
  21. IgnatiusTheKing macrumors 68040

    IgnatiusTheKing

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Location:
    das Fort
    #21
    Surely there will be if Apple converts everything to the mini DisplayPort.

    Surely.
     
  22. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #22
    Remember the PowerPC Snow Leopard beta?

    Oh, wait...:eek:

    We're at a transitionary period of forced obsolescence. It'll pass.
     
  23. grue macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Location:
    Somewhere.
    #23
    Show me the last time Apple gave a damn about a customer who has a previous product and wants to use it with a current one.
     
  24. grue macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Location:
    Somewhere.
    #24
    PowerPC is a bit different. Supporting that is holding back advancement in software development. At this point I'm ok with abandoning the 32bit Core Duo chips if it'll cut back on the bloat.
     
  25. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #25
    8800 GT and the 2006 Mac Pro. nVidia wouldn't make a driver, so Apple did after the outcry.

    But I don't see it happening again, so that's moot.
     

Share This Page