10.13.3 Worst update ever!

Discussion in 'macOS High Sierra (10.13)' started by Fredn3ck, Dec 20, 2017.

  1. Fredn3ck, Dec 20, 2017
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2017

    Fredn3ck macrumors newbie

    Fredn3ck

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2015
    Location:
    USA
    #1
    Machine: MacBook Pro (Retina, 15-inch, Late 2013), 2.3 GHz Intel Core i7, 16 GB 1600 MHz DDR3

    After the frustration of dealing with several issues I have gone back to 10.12.6

    Just a few things that 10.13.3 broke;

    Slow as molasses boot-up. Boot was ~ 15 seconds, with 10.13 increased to 45 sec.
    Constant random reboots, some times after 10 minutes or 2 or more hours. Logs indicated kernel panic.
    Macs fan control removed (not supported).
    Safari page loads slow as molasses. Grrr.
    Face Time calling via iPhone not working.
    The sound for notifications not working.
    Keychain access removed from menu bar.
    Screen flicker or jitter on streaming movies.
    Used an additional 30GB of drive space.
    Blue tooth issues.
    Hot Spot connection Issues.

    I changed from Windoze to a Mac in 2013 and 10.13 has been the worst update I've ever experienced! Really Apple? Your QA person should be canned. I use my Mac to make a little money on the side trading and having an unreliable machine is not tolerable.
     
  2. kecinzer macrumors regular

    kecinzer

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Location:
    Czech republic
    #2
    I'm on macOS 10.12.6 too because of GeForce lag issues on High Sierra, but 10.13.3 is still beta.
     
  3. Fishrrman macrumors P6

    Fishrrman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #3
    10.13.2 was a "public release".
    10.13.3 at this point is a very early "beta". That some things may not be right, is to be expected.

    Re the slow bootup -- if you disable TRIM using the command line, boots may speed back up. But then, the drive won't be "trimmed" during normal operations.
    I -think- you can "manually trim up" the drive by opening Disk Utility and running the "repair disk" feature. But I don't have HS running on my own MBPro so I can't test it to confirm.

    As a last resort, you might consider "going back" to Low Sierra (since you have a MacBook Pro that is capable of running it).
     
  4. nekton1 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Location:
    Asia
    #4
    --- Post Merged, Dec 20, 2017 ---
    It's an early beta and you shouldn't install it if you cannot take the heat.
     
  5. flowrider macrumors 603

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #5
    ^^^^Correct. It's not an update as the title says - It's Beta software. IMO, Beta software should never be run on a machine with only one system disk. With beta stuff, you always need a backup disk that you can restart with in case of problems. I would never run it on my MBA. I used to run it on my cMP, but can't anymore since I'm running an Nvidia GTX 1080 and need web drivers. In fact, in the old days, when I was a lot younger I was a Beta site for a number of software folks. It was fun:)

    Lou
     
  6. Starfia macrumors 6502a

    Starfia

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    #6
    Right – if you rely on your main Mac to make money, you shouldn't be installing beta software on it. And if you do, you should expect it not to be fully reliable.
     
  7. alia1211, Dec 21, 2017
    Last edited: Dec 21, 2017

    alia1211 macrumors newbie

    alia1211

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2017
    #7
    what do u mean exactly about (Screen flicker or jitter on streaming movies. ) because it happened to me too when I watch any videos in youtube or netflix , i upload a photo for my issue , btw my software is ( 10.13.2 ) , explain more about (Screen flicker or jitter on streaming movies. ) plz . thanks
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Phil in ocala Suspended

    Phil in ocala

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2016
    #8
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    100% true....but just think of the nice Emojis.....!
     
  9. altusan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2013
    #9
    That is what happens to me and I formatted my MacBook and I still have the same problem
     
  10. xgman macrumors 601

    xgman

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    #10
    I'm guessing that 90% of these issues are not even really related to this beta. Sometimes what seems like bugs can be as simple as re-indexing the spotlight or a TM backup in the background etc. HS is getting pretty mature and the idea that there would be show stopper bugs in a .3 maintenance release is possible, but pretty remote. On the other hand the act of just running any upgrade beta or not can sometimes have unintended consequences.
     
  11. Starship67 Suspended

    Starship67

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2017
    Location:
    LA
    #11
    I can’t imagine a beta being buggy. I mean cmon. /S
     
  12. mmomega macrumors 68030

    mmomega

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Location:
    DFW, TX
    #12
    read you release notes on the developer portal.
    It will tell you how to report your issues to the people that can help fix your problems.

    One of the first things in the release notes is this
    Screen Shot 2017-12-21 at 8.31.52 PM.png
     
  13. dcmaccam macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2017
    Location:
    West Coast of Scotland
    #13
    I guess I must be quite lucky with my 2011 iMac I have not had any real problems apart from my Magic Mouse2 disconnecting if I move it to soon after my machine wakes up from sleep. I was originally on El Capitan and went straight to High Sierra and did a Migration.
     
  14. bbfc macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Location:
    Newcastle, England.
    #14
    No issues on my MacBook Pro on 10.13.3. Runs just as well as previous releases, and this is on a 6 year old machine.
     
  15. Fredn3ck thread starter macrumors newbie

    Fredn3ck

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2015
    Location:
    USA
    #15

    This is what I saw and went for. Perhaps Apple should rephrase to "Free Beta Upgrade". Thank God for Time machine! This SNAFU, on so many levels reminds me of Widoze. Screen Shot 2017-12-26 at 5.40.37 PM.jpg
     
  16. Starfia macrumors 6502a

    Starfia

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    #16
    That seems incredibly strange. It shouldn't be possible to install a beta directly from the Mac App Store – if that's where you clicked that, you should have been served the latest release version (currently 10.13.2).

    The only intended ways for consumers to get access to beta versions are to enroll in Apple's Beta Software Program (https://beta.apple.com/sp/betaprogram/) or to join their Developer program – both difficult to do unless you mean to.
     
  17. fisherking macrumors 604

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
    #17
    def needs some explanation. the OP was either running 10.13.2 (the official release), or WAS on the beta program. either way, everything is (mostly) fine here, so, these are not universal issues, and... probably more useful to ask for help than to whine...
     
  18. Morpheo macrumors 65816

    Morpheo

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2014
    Location:
    Paris/Montreal
    #18
    :rolleyes:

    10.3.3 can't be installed that way. This App Store page is for final releases only.
     
  19. flowrider macrumors 603

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #19
    ^^^^Not if you're on the Public Beta Program it isn't. It's for final releases AND last releases of MacOS betas. However, the betas will only show for those who have signed up for the public beta program.

    Lou
     
  20. LarryJoe33 macrumors 65832

    LarryJoe33

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2017
    Location:
    Boston
    #20
    I am running 10.13.3 and yes it is beta, but for me, nothing I can't live with. The Safari lag has been there for quite some time. It is annoying, but from what I have read, Safari has been lagging intermittently through many OSx releases. I did see my boot time increase with HS, but again, I can live with 45 seconds since my machine only reboots with, well, beta updates. So that means I am not getting random reboots, in fact I converted from Windows about 1.5 years ago and I have NEVER experienced a freeze or a random reboot.
     
  21. fisherking macrumors 604

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
    #21
    huh, am not experiencing any safari lags or slow bootup...
     
  22. Morpheo macrumors 65816

    Morpheo

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2014
    Location:
    Paris/Montreal
    #22
    No safari lag either here on HS (10.3.2, which I was using until recently), but slow boot times definitely, and also longer app launch time (bouncing icons). After performing some tests 3 weeks ago, it completely messed up my system and I clean installed Sierra instead. I am now happy with 10.12.6 and for sure I'll wait for these issues to be addressed before (re)uprading to High Sierra.

    Here's what I found this morning actually:

    https://cindori.org/apple-file-system-slow-boot-high-sierra/

    "The latest issue with APFS comes in the form of introducing an extra 15 seconds of booting time when Trim is enabled. It is currently believed that the filesystem is performing a routine Trim-related cleanup process during this time, which is causing boot times to increase for users who want their SSD’s to benefit from Trim."

    However for some reason not everyone is experiencing this slow boot bug, if that's actually a bug...
     
  23. LarryJoe33 macrumors 65832

    LarryJoe33

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2017
    Location:
    Boston
    #23
    Slower than Sierra. Trim.
    --- Post Merged, Dec 27, 2017 ---
    Safari for me, sticks for a few seconds and then launches the URL. Chrome does not. Been like this for quite sometime.
     
  24. fisherking macrumors 604

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
    #24
    not sure why some have these issues, others don't, but both my macbooks run fine (booting, safari, etc).
     
  25. rgbastro macrumors newbie

    rgbastro

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2013
    Location:
    London
    #25
    Dude, because you got a lucky lottery ticket -- you have the same models that Apple's QA team has. That's it. They just didn't bother to test upgrades on OTHER models.
     

Share This Page

40 December 20, 2017