10.14.4 Bootloop On T2 Macs (iMac Pro and others)

Magnus71

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 9, 2019
9
1
Taranto (TA), Italy
If you used DiskmakerX to install Mojave previosly after some restart Macs with T2 chip will go in bootloop.
Install Moave again, I hope you got TimeMachine backup, with Internet option.
 

CornFly

macrumors newbie
Mar 29, 2019
9
1
I'm having the same issue on the Mac Mini 2018 after installing 10.14.4
Reinstalling did nothing, and the only work around is to enter recovery mode each time it happens, visiting the 'startup utility', and then rebooting.

Is there any way to downgrade to 10.14.3 ? or better still to solve the issue?
 

CornFly

macrumors newbie
Mar 29, 2019
9
1
Do you got any devices attached to your Mac?
You can restore previous version with a TimeMachine backup.
I've got no devices connected except for the keyboard mouse and screen via the DP to TypeC cable.
Sadly, i got no TimeMachine backup, i just would like to install a fresh image...

From the kernel panic message, the cause seems to be related to my 10G ethernet card somehow.

panic(cpu 6 caller 0xffffff80106dd16d): Kernel trap at 0xffffff7f93a4fbb1, type 14=page fault, registers:
CR0: 0x0000000080010033, CR2: 0x0000000000000000, CR3: 0x0000000469254026, CR4: 0x00000000003626e0
RAX: 0x0000000000000000, RBX: 0xffffff804170b000, RCX: 0x0000000000000000, RDX: 0x0000000003000000
RSP: 0xffffff81ff9bba10, RBP: 0xffffff81ff9bba40, RSI: 0x0000000000000000, RDI: 0x0000000000000000
R8: 0xffffff81ff9bbd10, R9: 0x0000000000000000, R10: 0xffffff801107d9d8, R11: 0xffffff80418e7618
R12: 0x0000000000000001, R13: 0x0000000000000000, R14: 0x0000000000000000, R15: 0x00000000e00002c9
RFL: 0x0000000000010246, RIP: 0xffffff7f93a4fbb1, CS: 0x0000000000000008, SS: 0x0000000000000010
Fault CR2: 0x0000000000000000, Error code: 0x0000000000000000, Fault CPU: 0x6, PL: 0, VF: 0

Backtrace (CPU 6), Frame : Return Address
0xffffff81ff9bb4e0 : 0xffffff80105af82d
0xffffff81ff9bb530 : 0xffffff80106eb795
0xffffff81ff9bb570 : 0xffffff80106dcf4a
0xffffff81ff9bb5e0 : 0xffffff801055cae0
0xffffff81ff9bb600 : 0xffffff80105af247
0xffffff81ff9bb720 : 0xffffff80105af093
0xffffff81ff9bb790 : 0xffffff80106dd16d
0xffffff81ff9bb900 : 0xffffff801055cae0
0xffffff81ff9bb920 : 0xffffff7f93a4fbb1
0xffffff81ff9bba40 : 0xffffff7f916a66b3
0xffffff81ff9bba70 : 0xffffff7f916a93e0
0xffffff81ff9bba90 : 0xffffff7f916af558
0xffffff81ff9bbac0 : 0xffffff8010c5aff8
0xffffff81ff9bbb30 : 0xffffff7f916af5c2
0xffffff81ff9bbb80 : 0xffffff7f916a8b6e
0xffffff81ff9bbbb0 : 0xffffff8010865c17
0xffffff81ff9bbc10 : 0xffffff801085f0ee
0xffffff81ff9bbce0 : 0xffffff801085c414
0xffffff81ff9bbd80 : 0xffffff801086233f
0xffffff81ff9bbdb0 : 0xffffff8010af8c37
0xffffff81ff9bbe00 : 0xffffff8010a9c2bb
0xffffff81ff9bbe30 : 0xffffff8010af2419
0xffffff81ff9bbf40 : 0xffffff8010bbb0ed
0xffffff81ff9bbfa0 : 0xffffff801055d2a6
Kernel Extensions in backtrace:
com.apple.iokit.IONetworkingFamily(3.4)[C97E6457-FFDC-3B2D-B552-3AC7C6B76AA7]@0xffffff7f916a5000->0xffffff7f916d4fff
com.apple.driver.AppleEthernetAquantiaAqtion(1.0.60)[56AE1C97-C19B-3954-BFAA-0CCC32F30A70]@0xffffff7f93a40000-
 

Magnus71

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 9, 2019
9
1
Taranto (TA), Italy
Already disabled all security option in recovery mode?
[doublepost=1553869670][/doublepost]
Yes, from the recovery mode. This is exactly what i've tried :(
I mean internet recovery. a wired or wifi Internet connection is required.
Yo shall see the rotating globe.
 

CornFly

macrumors newbie
Mar 29, 2019
9
1
Yes, i've disabled all security options in the recovery mode.
I don't see a spinning globe, but the network utility shows two active network connections (wifi and wired)
 

CornFly

macrumors newbie
Mar 29, 2019
9
1
OK, now i've done the "Internet recovery" option properly with the globe, and i'm sad to report that the problem is still here.

But i've noticed that it is limited to a 'cold' boot, if i do the 'reboot' option from the recovery option, macos loads just fine.

It is clearly a bug with the 10.14.4 release. Now the question remains, can i somehow revert to 10.14.3 ?

Or, my mac is destined to be remained like this until somewhere in the future Apple will fix this bug? (probably only on the 10G NIC option on the mac mini 2018)
 

bplein

macrumors 6502a
Jul 21, 2007
535
189
Austin, TX USA
If you used DiskmakerX to install Mojave previosly after some restart Macs with T2 chip will go in bootloop.
Install Moave again, I hope you got TimeMachine backup, with Internet option.
I've never used DiskmakerX and I am having this problem as well on my iMac Pro.
 

MisterSavage

macrumors 68020
Nov 10, 2018
2,322
2,204
I've never used DiskmakerX and I am having this problem as well on my iMac Pro.
Same here. Can't re-install from recovery or Internet recovery. It complains about a damaged install or missing installer resources.
 

bplein

macrumors 6502a
Jul 21, 2007
535
189
Austin, TX USA
I have the internal SSD, a USB 3.1 Samsung T5 SSD, and a USB 3.0 SATA drive (timemachine). I have tried booting with all of the externals disconnected.

I reinstalled Mojave from the App Store (didn't wipe my install, just installed over the existing) and the install goes into a loop in the same way.

Verbose mode shows that there's a panic and it reboots, but it's unclear what it is (really unclear because even though I video it, the video is hard to read due to ghosting of the text as it scrolls by quickly).
 

MisterSavage

macrumors 68020
Nov 10, 2018
2,322
2,204
I reinstalled Mojave from the App Store (didn't wipe my install, just installed over the existing) and the install goes into a loop in the same way.
Same for me. I've tried re-installing twice with recovery mode and twice with Internet recovery mode.
 

bplein

macrumors 6502a
Jul 21, 2007
535
189
Austin, TX USA
Despite my lack of desire to do so, I updated to the 10.14.15 Beta 1 and that seems to fix it. Hope it doesn't break much else!
 

bplein

macrumors 6502a
Jul 21, 2007
535
189
Austin, TX USA
I'm on the beta train (10.14.5 18F108f at this point) since this first occurred. I've forgotten that I'm on the beta, it's been so problem-free.

If you don't want to go to the beta, which is totally understandable, then expect the fix when 10.14.5 GA is released.

Oh, Update 3 is available. I'll try that and if I'm not back in an hour or less, that means something went wrong (LOL).
[doublepost=1556111670][/doublepost]Still good at public beta 3 a.k.a. macOS 10.14.5 (18F118d)
 

CornFly

macrumors newbie
Mar 29, 2019
9
1
i'm still with the issue on 10.14.4, with my workaround (recovery first, then warm reboot). I figured downgrading without timemachine is too much of a hassle, and since @bplein reported it should be fixed on 10.14.5, i'll try to wait it out.

Since my Mac mini isn't my primary machine, i guess this is an acceptable for now :(
 
  • Like
Reactions: xgman

CornFly

macrumors newbie
Mar 29, 2019
9
1
Quick update, I've submitted a bug report to Apple, and the just closed my bug report as a Duplicate (original bug id: 46342150).

I guess they are well aware of the problem, and the fix is indeed most likely coming in 10.14.5....
 
Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.