10.3 forces you to change passcode

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by macTW, Mar 29, 2017.

  1. macTW Suspended

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2016
    #1
    As the title says, for multiple people I know, iOS 10.3 forced us all to change unlock passcodes, even those of us who recently changed it. On top of that, there is now a minimum length for passcodes - 4 characters.

    Just an FYI for anybody who didn't see this in the update notes (I didn't).
     
  2. eyoungren macrumors Core

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    ten-zero-eleven-zero-zero by zero-two
    #2
    Just updated from a restored iPhone 5 running 10.2.1 to 10.3. I had no passcode at all on 10.2.1.

    After updating to 10.3, at the Hello screen, I simply pressed "Passcode Options" and then "Do Not Use Passcode".

    Currently running 10.3 without any passcode at all.
     
  3. BasicGreatGuy Contributor

    BasicGreatGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Location:
    In the middle of several books.
    #3
    It wasn't in the notes. I didn't have to change the passcode. I am on the developer betas.
     
  4. bradl macrumors 68040

    bradl

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    #4
    Never saw that either, nor did I have to or was forced to change my passcode on my phone when upgrading from 10.2.1 to 10.3. My passcode is alphanumeric, plus am using TouchID. That's on my iPhone 6s.

    My wife didn't have to do anything either, upgrading her 6s+ from 10.0.2 -> 10.3, and hers is a 6 digit passcode.

    Finally, no passcode on her iPad 4 WiFi running 10.0.2. No forcing of changing the passcode there either. It will prompt you to set a passcode if you want to set one, but does not force you to change an existing passcode to something else.

    There's nothing in the notes for that, because that isn't something that is or should happen.

    BL.
     
  5. eyoungren macrumors Core

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    ten-zero-eleven-zero-zero by zero-two
    #5
    I can see where it would be confusing to someone who doesn't go through the setup screens very often though. The list only shows 'Do Not Use Passcode' when you press on Passcode Options.

    Apple maybe can be accused of being somewhat opaque on the matter since they don't present the option to not use a passcode in the initial screen for it.
     
  6. Goatllama macrumors 6502a

    Goatllama

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2015
    Location:
    Mountaintop Lair
    #6
    Hasn't it always been a minimum of 4? Or, if you choose 'more complex' passcode, does it let you do less? (don't have device with me to test at the moment)
     
  7. cbreze macrumors 6502a

    cbreze

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2014
    Location:
    Oregon
    #7
    I noticed this as well. Set up a 4 digit passcode before I remembered I don't use a passcode. Lol.
     
  8. edlex macrumors 68000

    edlex

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Location:
    Miami
    #8
    My passcode stayed the same on my 7+ and I chose no passcode on my wife's 7 and 6+.
     
  9. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #9
    Upgraded and didn't need to do anything in relation to the passcode (aside from having to enter it to start the update and after the phone turned back on).
     
  10. bodonnell202 macrumors 6502a

    bodonnell202

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2016
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    #10
    Updated to iOS 10.3, continued with the same 4-digit pass code I've always used. Not sure what happened to you?
     
  11. macTW thread starter Suspended

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2016
    #11
    Here's the sequence of events:

    Downloaded iOS update.
    Begun install.
    Install complete - type in passcode to unlock after shutdown
    Hello screen.
    Enter Apple ID password.
    Choose to send analytics to Apple.
    Got to home screen.

    A few seconds later... a pop up saying I have to change my passcode.

    This wasn't in the white-screen introduction portion. This was after all that, hence why I think something in 10.3 changed that required a minimum length of a passcode to 4 characters and anything shorter wouldn't be allowed.
     
  12. ABC5S Suspended

    ABC5S

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2013
    Location:
    Florida
    #12
    No issues here with me. Always been 4 characters, and never heard of anything less
     
  13. goofy1958 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    #13
    Umm, no. Not true at all. 4 has always been the minimum, at least since the 3gs.
     
  14. Newtons Apple Suspended

    Newtons Apple

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Florida
    #14
    No passcode change request on my 7+. Still have the same one.
     
  15. Goatllama macrumors 6502a

    Goatllama

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2015
    Location:
    Mountaintop Lair
    #15
    Do you have any sort of business email accounts on your device? Or perhaps an Outlook mail server sort of thing? These (and possibly other similar things) can result in the requirement for a passcode change.
     
  16. Relentless Power macrumors Penryn

    Relentless Power

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2016
    #16
    Same exact thing. I always have used four characters as well.
     
  17. joeblow7777 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    #17
    I wasn't promoted to change my passcode on my iPhone or iPad.
     
  18. OriginalAppleGuy macrumors 6502a

    OriginalAppleGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Location:
    Virginia
    #18
    4 numbers was the minimum then it changed to 6 numbers.

    Are you using the non-number password option using letters and numbers? I don't use that so not familiar enough. Also, this could be a point of confusion for many reading this.
     
  19. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #19
    6 is now the default, but isn't the minimum; you can still use 4 if you prefer.
     
  20. OriginalAppleGuy macrumors 6502a

    OriginalAppleGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Location:
    Virginia
    #20
    Interesting - you appear to be correct! Kinda have to jump through hoops to get there though. Once you choose it, and you go to change your passcode, it does try to make you go to 6 characters.
     
  21. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #21
    Yeah, I believe since iOS 10 came out, if not sometime before that, they've tried to push 6-digit passcode as the default basically, but there's still a way generally to select a different type of passcode (or no passcode at all).
    --- Post Merged, Mar 29, 2017 ---
    It was more of a default rather that the minimum, as in 6 is basically the default that is suggested/offered now, but 4 can still be selected. That might be different for actual alphanumeric passwords/passcodes (vs. the number PIN ones).
     
  22. NovemberWhiskey macrumors 68030

    NovemberWhiskey

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
  23. willmtaylor macrumors G3

    willmtaylor

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    A Natural State
    #23
    Nope. Nothing changed and nothing was requested from me. YMMV.
     
  24. Applejuiced, Mar 29, 2017
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2017

    Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #24
    I just updated to 10.3 and it burned my bagel in the toaster.
    Damn it:D
     
  25. Rhonindk macrumors 68040

    Rhonindk

    #25
    Have an 8 digit on my iPhone and iPad. No changes for me. ;)
     

Share This Page