100% cpu usage on macbook pro; consequences?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by mackristoffer, Nov 20, 2009.

1. mackristoffer macrumors newbie

Hi

I am new to mac, and I have a macbook pro 15" 2009 model.
    I am currently running a program (Mprime) that uses all the spare cpu on the mac. So that I am always running on 100%.

[​IMG]

I only do this when I am connected to electricity.

Do this extensive usage of CPU shorten the lifespan/quailty of the Mac/Fan/Battery?

Thanks in advance.:)

2. Bennieboy© macrumors 65816

Bennieboy©

just a silly question im sure, but why!?!

why would you run a program that keeps your cpu at 100%,

small answer, yes it will shorten the MBP lifespan, and it will slow everything down, heat is bad, thats why computers come with fans, and even water based cooling, a cold computer wil always last longer and run faster then a portable room heater ;)

3. Cboss macrumors 6502

Are you actually using Mprime for what it is designed to do, or just to use up your CPU? If the latter, STOP IMMEDIATELY! There's no need to put that amount of stress on your MacBook for no reason.

4. rowsdower macrumors 6502

If you only run it when connected to electricity, it will not affect the battery. It should not shorten the life of the processor, since the computer should be designed to keep the temperature within spec at all times. Some will argue that it will get too hot anyway. For physical things like fans, the more they run the faster they will wear out. They will probably be fine, but you never know.

5. mackristoffer thread starter macrumors newbie

Thanks for the answers.

Bennieboy©: It would be a terrible waste to let all that data-crunching power go to waste:) I donate it to search for Prime numbers via the GIMPS project. I get assigned to test a large number via their servers, it takes about a month 24/7 to test a number. check out www.mersenne.org