128gb ram?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Radiating, Jan 8, 2014.

  1. Radiating macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    #1
    Before launch there was a some buzz regarding 128GB ram support. I haven't heard from anyone on the issue since. Does the new Mac Pro support 128GB? I'd like to run a RAM disk.
     
  2. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
  3. veebs macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2004
    Location:
    Perth, Australia
    #3
    4 x 16GB is the max, though if/when they manage to develop 32GB ram sticks, you may be able to go higher?
     
  4. Anim macrumors 6502a

    Anim

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    Location:
    Macclesfield, UK
    #4
    Is this limited to 64GB by the memory controller or just the fact that nobody has tried it?
     
  5. ozbimmer macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2012
    #5
    I think xeon used in the new Mac Pro can support more than 64gb and 32gb ecc reg 1866 ddr3 ram module is available thou it's very expensive.
     
  6. Umbongo macrumors 601

    Umbongo

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #6
    This is most likely a case of no one having tried it/1866MHz 32GB DIMMs not being available in quantity. There is no reason it shouldn't work. The CPU's support it, and should work with 4x64GB DIMMs. OS supports 128GB too.

    Apple probably don't lose any sales by not offering/certifying it.
     
  7. iizmoo macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    #7
    Crucial has lower ram at $800 for a 32GB stick, might be a while before 1866 memory come out.

    The UP Supermicro Motherboard support 512GB LR in 8 slots. So I would think the nMP support 128 density minimum, or possibly 256 if it support LR. I suppose we'll have to wait until someone has $4000 worth of LR ram to plug into a nMP to see if it'll work...
     
  8. Bear macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Sol III - Terra
    #8
    Mavericks limit is 128GB of RAM. And you could check Intel's website to see what the ram limit is on the processor itself.
     
  9. jondunford macrumors 6502

    jondunford

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    Location:
    Going for a poo Moderator
    #9
    with 128gb ram you could open everything on my macbook air's hard drive and never have to save anything :eek:
     
  10. funkysmurf macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2006
    Location:
    Sydney
    #10
    It's 768Gb for CPU.
     
  11. deconstruct60, Jan 9, 2014
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2014

    deconstruct60 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    #11
    That have the caveat on the Memory/DIMM configuration. What need is the max memory chip desnity the memory controller can deal with so that can get more memory onto just 4 DIMMs.

    This is probably a wait for 8Gb DRAM dies at the required speed to get into the remotely affordable range.
     
  12. AidenShaw macrumors P6

    AidenShaw

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Location:
    The Peninsula
    #12
  13. Radiating thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    #13
    Thats the idea.
     
  14. ozbimmer macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2012
    #15
  15. beaker7 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    #16
    Wha?

    Price is no concern for 2013 Mac Pro buyer. Size is only concern.
     

Share This Page