13" MBP with OptiBay installed (2 hard drives) pictures.

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by HiFiGuy528, Aug 2, 2009.

  1. HiFiGuy528 macrumors 68000

    HiFiGuy528

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    #1
    Just installed a OptiBay on my 13" MBP. Installation was easy and everything fit as expected. I also got a free SuperDrive enclosure, but it is a cheap one. I was surprised to see that the OptiBay is now metal instead of plastic.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. HiFiGuy528 thread starter macrumors 68000

    HiFiGuy528

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    #2
    Here are more pictures.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. moral-hazard macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Location:
    Palo Alto, CA
    #3
    I want to do the same on mine - I have an external DVD drive from my netbook that I sold a little while back and don't use DVD's enough to make it worth it. How much do they run?

    Since I bought my MBP the first day they came out, I have only put a DVD in the thing once (to install ubuntu). Though i suppose two HDD's would be a hit on battery life...
     
  4. mattcube64 macrumors 65816

    mattcube64

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Location:
    Missouri
    #4
    I'd really like to do this on my MBP. I have a 128GB SSD right now, and it's just not enough.

    Can you take a couple pics of the laptop from the outside near the drive. Can you tell, at all, that the SuperDrive is missing? I'm not interested in ruining the aesthetics of my machine :p
     
  5. mattcube64 macrumors 65816

    mattcube64

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Location:
    Missouri
    #5
    Oh! And what's the official word on how this affects your warranty?
     
  6. harry20larry macrumors 6502a

    harry20larry

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    #6
    I too might run out of HD space soon and the price seems very reasonable especially as it comes with a free enclosure for you old superdrive.
    I do use cds and dvds but rarely, often I could leave it at home...
    but then again, I could just leave an external HD at home...
    decisions decsions
     
  7. Chad H macrumors 6502a

    Chad H

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Location:
    Auburn, AL
    #7
    What about when Snow Leopard comes out? How will you get it installed?
     
  8. PkennethV macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Location:
    Toronto
    #8
    The OP said he also got a "Free SuperDrive enclosure" to stick in the optical drive that original came in the Macbook. Hook it up with a USB cable and you're set to install Snow Leopard:cool:
     
  9. Chad H macrumors 6502a

    Chad H

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Location:
    Auburn, AL
    #9
    Where can you buy that online? Or will a standard USB cd drive work?
     
  10. drummerlondonw3 macrumors 6502a

    drummerlondonw3

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #10
    great work! well done. I can see this becoming a more widely used addition
     
  11. HiFiGuy528 thread starter macrumors 68000

    HiFiGuy528

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    #11
    Here you go. :) You can't tell that there is no SuperDrive.
     

    Attached Files:

  12. HiFiGuy528 thread starter macrumors 68000

    HiFiGuy528

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    #12
    You can buy the OptiBay from MCETech. A standard USB CD drive will work, but why waste a good SuperDrive you just pulled out. :)
     
  13. PkennethV macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Location:
    Toronto
    #13
    I guess I worded my first response kinda badly. What I meant by "to stick in the optical drive that came in the Macbook" was you take the optical drive that you took out of the Macbook and out it into an external USB enclosure/case, which in essence, makes it just like any other "external USB cd drive."
     
  14. mrrippey macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
  15. HiFiGuy528 thread starter macrumors 68000

    HiFiGuy528

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    #15
    You can always put the stock SuperDrive back in and then take it to the Genius Bar.
     
  16. HiFiGuy528 thread starter macrumors 68000

    HiFiGuy528

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    #16
    This is what I have. The free SuperDrive enclosure works, but it's not pretty like the Air $99 SuperDrive. Hey but it works and it's free. :) The only time I use a DVD drive was to clean install OS X. I have another Mac with a SuperDrive to rip CD and now I have an external SuperDrive too.

    http://store.mcetech.com/Merchant2/...B&Category_Code=STORHDOPTIBAY&Product_Count=0
     
  17. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #17
    That is seriously cool. But the side now protrudes?
     
  18. bugout macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Location:
    is everything!
    #18
    Don't get sucked into the kool-aid that is the MCE optibay...

    You can get this for less then a quarter of the price. There's a ton of threads on here with it working perfectly in every unibody macbook, including the 2 in my sig.
     
  19. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #19
    I thought so too, but now I think it is some kind of hard case, though a see-through one.
     
  20. bugout macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Location:
    is everything!
    #20
    I believe that protrusion you're seeing the speck clear shell case.
     
  21. robotica macrumors 6502a

    robotica

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    #21
    Yeah this is something I would seriously consider doing... get two 7200 500GB drives and have one for XP and one for OSX, otherwise have just one in raid setup for OSX.

    Anyone tried using raid in this setup?

    :)
     
  22. HiFiGuy528 thread starter macrumors 68000

    HiFiGuy528

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    #22
    You are correct!

    I would never install anything that will change the sexy design of the MBP. :)
     
  23. ChrisN macrumors 65816

    ChrisN

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Location:
    Demarest, NJ
    #23
    Does it come with directions and are they clear and easy to follow because this seems like something I might do when I get one.
    Also, do I have to just connect the hard drive and that's it or do I have to install some software?

    ChrisN
     
  24. Habitus macrumors 6502a

    Habitus

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    Location:
    Where ever my life takes me...
    #24
    Would having two internal drives require installation of snow leopard on both drives? Can you boot from one drive?
     
  25. Jack Flash macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007

Share This Page