...

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by rimisrandma, Feb 17, 2012.

  1. rimisrandma, Feb 17, 2012
    Last edited: Apr 30, 2012
  2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
    You can find specs on all Apple products, including maximum RAM:
    • By visiting EveryMac.com: Actual Maximum RAM
    • By entering your serial number here to find specs for your model.
      (Be aware that some models can use more RAM than Apple shows. Check EveryMac to verify actual usable RAM.)
     
  3. rimisrandma, Feb 17, 2012
    Last edited: Apr 30, 2012

    rimisrandma thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
  4. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #4
    For models that are shown to accept 16GB on everymac.com, it works. Period. There are dozens of threads on this, if you search the forum.
     
  5. MacBookProzak, Feb 17, 2012
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2012

    MacBookProzak macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    #5
    I have had the Corsair 16GB of memory in my 2011 - 15inch MBP for 3 month now. My MBP has been ran like I typically do for 15 to 16 hours a day all without a single problem. Tons of hours of video has been edited through it, in addition to web surfing, playing music, photoshop, Word, Excel, IM and FTP all without a hitch. Video editing is done about 75% of the day, not a single beach ball or any issues.

    Also, no one to date has been able detail with some tangible facts what damage can be done to my MBP because I am using Corsair chips. I could have went with the so-called "hip brands" and spend more money, yet the results would be the same.

    If and whenever they come out with the upgrade of the MBP, I plan on just getting it with the base amount of RAM and upgrading the it to 16GB with another pair of Corsair.

    This memory:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820233217
     
  6. thundersteele macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #6
    You might want to use the search function. There are plenty of threads that report results with installing 16 GB from crucial and other vendors.
     
  7. SDAVE macrumors 68040

    SDAVE

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    Nowhere
  8. eswank macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Location:
    NorCal
    #8
    That's not a bad deal considering Amazon and NewEgg have for $60 more. I just bought an 8GB kit but thinking about jumping on this deal. Thanks for the update.
     
  9. nikhsub1 macrumors 68000

    nikhsub1

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    mmmm... jessica.'s beer...
    #9
  10. Ishmumrhmn macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    #10
    All this talk here makes me want to get a macbook, but then again, the price
    I can get an alienware which is 100x more powerful except osx
     
  11. SDAVE macrumors 68040

    SDAVE

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    Nowhere
    #11
    it's a great deal. I got it for $125 after rebate a few weeks ago.
     
  12. Ccrew macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    #12
    Yeah, we all know those Alienware i7's are so much faster than the Apple ones. :p

    I may have a slower Apple, but you'll have a Dell :)
     
  13. Ishmumrhmn macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    #13
    LOL but dell has great customer support like apple nd they dont lie like hp

    My bro dropped his dell lappy and he called dell, they gave him a new better one no questions asked
     
  14. mac jones macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    #14
    Yeah, i've been running those Corsair 16GB sticks on it for a few weeks.

    Just like any other sticks.

    I do think they are little slow though. My geek bench is 10560 or something like that, on a 2.4GHZ quad with a Samsung 256GB 830 (even though I don't think they include the drive in the bench).

    that's really low for that model isn't it?. It thought it should be around 10900.

    I think the RAM is slow.

    I don't know.
     
  15. phyrexia macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    #15
    I think Apple claims 8GB is the max because it's the most they'll sell you. :apple::D
     
  16. quad-bryan, Feb 23, 2012
    Last edited: Mar 1, 2012

    quad-bryan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    #16
    might want to use apple diagnostics to check 16GB upgrade

    I just bought a Crucial 16GB kit to put in a brand new 17" 2.5GHz QC MacBook Pro purchased 10FEB12.

    The system boots up and runs with no noticeable problems even with a couple of VMs running, but if I run Diagnostics from Lion (Hold down "d" while booting), then run the "extended" test. The memory test fails every time. So if you have one of these and have upgraded it and can run the extended diagnostic test successfully, I would really appreciate knowing.

    Crucial has been very cool about it and sent another pair of 8GB sticks out. As "stand-up" as that is, if the machine continues to fail the extended test, even though each stick checks out OK solo, that will stink like a bad squirrel fart. Crucial said they have sold a bunch of these and have them working in this model MBP. We shall see how things go for me...

    Anyhow, the MBP is at 14 days from purchase and I have dropped the Apple Store where I bought it an email. I think they will step up and make things right and swap the unit out. The AppleStore at NorthPoint Mall in Atlanta works pretty hard to do right by their customers... We shall hope and see...

    Hardware Overview:
    Model Name: MacBook Pro
    Model Identifier: MacBookPro8,3
    Processor Name: Intel Core i7
    Processor Speed: 2.5 GHz
    Number of Processors: 1
    Total Number of Cores: 4
    L2 Cache (per Core): 256 KB
    L3 Cache: 8 MB
    Memory: 16 GB
    Boot ROM Version: MBP81.0047.B24
    SMC Version (system): 1.70f5
    Serial Number (system): blahblahblah
    Hardware UUID: yhadaYahdaYhada
    Sudden Motion Sensor:
    State: Enabled

    ------01MAR12 update----------

    OK, so here's the update...
    I sent the first 16GB back to Crucial, the RMA default is what they call "Wait To Recieve". This means they hold sending out the replacement until the old one arrives back to them from you. I called them and they changed the RMA to be "Advanced Placement" which means they hit your credit card for the price of another 16GB kit, but send out another immediately one so you get the benefit of using the old RAM until the new RAM is at hand. I wanted "Advanced Placement" b/c I only had 4GB of with the new MacBook Pro and its just not enough to keep me from swapping all the time. Also since the 16GB kit was working fine in that I had no crashes (just failing diagnostics), I wanted to keep using it. Crucial was easy to work with and updated the RMA type with a simple phone call and the new 16GB kit was scheduled to arrive two days later.

    Right after talking with Crucial I called the Apple Store that's about 45minutes from my house and told them that I was concerned and would feel better if they switched out the unit for another one before my 14days after purchase time period had expired (I was on my last day). They were very cool and were as concerned that I wasn't happy as they were about nailing me to the wall on the gory details regarding why. We did talk about the unit failing memory tests, and though they offered, they didn't force me into the store to sing Kumbaya at the Genius Bar. Though it would not have helped me in this case, I think it would have been a reasonable request from them. Its worth mentioning that I've purchased I fair number of laptops for businesses through them over the last five years. Anyhow before returning the unit, I put the original 4GB of RAM back in it.

    The first thing I did with the new MacBook Pro was to put the original 16GB kit in it and run the Lion diagnostics again (hold "d" when powering on the unit.) The RAM kit failed in exactly the same way (hex address) as the first MacBook Pro. At this point my guess was the RAM was bad, but I supposed there was an outside chance it could have been something about the memory controllers on the new 17" models and 16GB kits. Slim chance, but plausible considering Apple's stance on not supporting 16GB.

    Anyhow the replacement Crucial 16GB kit came the next day and I swapped it out with the original, ran the tests and they failed again. I sent Crucial an email asking for an RMA and they provided me one, so the second kit is on its way back now.

    Next I ordered a 16GB kit from OWC (http://eshop.macsales.com/shop/memory/Apple_MacBook_MacBook_Pro/Upgrade/DDR3_1333MHz_SDRAM). It was priced a bit higher, but after all the time burned on the Crucial kits I figured "whatever lets just see this through."

    The OWC kit came yesterday and I put it in before going to bed and started the extended memory check in diagnostics. This morning it checked out fine, no errors.

    My conclusion is the 17" MBP (at least the 2.5GHz quad-core processors) are *very* picky regarding RAM. Many folks have reported Crucial sticks work in their boxes. No question you wont have a problem with their customer service. Its spot on. In my experience however, going through two of the Crucial kits in two different new MacBook Pros, something about the late 2011 17" MBP 2.5GHz quad-core and the 16GB kits from Crucial don't seem to mix very well.

    Even though I never experienced a crash using the Crucial memory, I never really pushed the systems hard enough to make them start swapping either. That's why I went for 16GB to start with anyhow.

    Hope this helps somebody.
     
  17. sfoalex macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2001
    Location:
    Earth, no seriously.
    #17
    I've 16 GBs of RAM in my MacBook Pro for a good while now. Zero issues. In just works.
     
  18. Pentad macrumors 6502a

    Pentad

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2003
    Location:
    Indiana
    #18
    Yes, I too went 16 GB (Corsair) and it runs great. I use my MBP for 12 to 16 hours a day with a problem. Made a big difference in speed especially with heavy multitasking!

    -P

    ----------


    I would never buy an Alienware product. Have you ever entered "Alienware horror story" into Google?

    You can see the results here.

    I think it is pretty sobering. Apple may not be perfect but their support is awesome compared to this.

    -P
     
  19. MonkeyBrainz macrumors regular

    MonkeyBrainz

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    #19
    I never had an issue with mine, nor with customer support, but the novelty of color change settings wore out quick. That and they weigh a metric ton so they might as well be desktops with screens attached to them. Ended up building a gaming rig. The build quality has gotten much better since DELL bought them out ages ago. They're freaking expensive, though.
     
  20. SDAVE macrumors 68040

    SDAVE

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    Nowhere
    #20
    Have the same RAM, works fine. Ram Rember for 2 days straight, no errors. Ran the extended test as well, no problems. I do notice that the fans kick up more often when in clamshell mode, though. But I can live with that.

    These are "Value" ram sticks, so I wonder how different it is from lets say other RAM.
     
  21. Dweez macrumors 65816

    Dweez

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Location:
    Down by the river
  22. quad-bryan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    #22
    Thanks for the response. Gotta love a value when you can get it. Do you have a 17"?
     
  23. squeakr macrumors 68000

    squeakr

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    #23
    I put 16 GB of Patriot in mine and never even ran the diagnostic. 4-5 months so far and no issues whatsoever. I would just return and rebuy the MBP if I were you rather than argue with Apple as they have no obligation to guarantee 3rd party RAM and will tell you if it passes with their RAM it is good by their standards.
     
  24. gpzjock, Feb 25, 2012
    Last edited: Feb 25, 2012

    gpzjock macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    #24
    100x more powerful for the price?

    I went to Dell's gaming porn laptop site and picked a M17x R3 selecting the same screen and CPU as the 17" MBP, then I added Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit edition to get it as close to OS X as possible.
    £1858 for that or £2099 for the MBP 17".
    Only the GFX card on the Dell significantly beats the MBP: 2GB 6990M vs 1GB 6770M.
    http://www.notebookcheck.net/AMD-Radeon-HD-6990M.57308.0.html
    http://www.notebookcheck.net/AMD-Radeon-HD-6770M.43955.0.html
    Notebookcheck makes the 6990M twice as fast as the 6770M. Windows Experience Index gives one 7.7 the other 6.8. I'll happily trade that for an aluminium unibody instead of a plastic fantastic one.

    100 times more powerful? er... no. £240 more to use Mac OS X..... priceless. :D
     
  25. macmastersam macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    Location:
    Essex, england
    #25
    this. 16 gigs of ram can (clearly) be fitted on a macbook pro. there are 2 RAM slots inside the macbook pro, and each can be fitted with an 8GB ram stick inside, but that depends on what processor/model you have?
     

Share This Page