1333 DDR3 memory in 8 core westmere

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by MattDSLR, Jan 25, 2011.

  1. MattDSLR macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Location:
    Canada
    #1
    Can I use that memory in my new 8 core mac pro
    I guess 6 chips will work the best
     
  2. Vylen macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
  3. MattDSLR thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Location:
    Canada
    #3
    would you go with 2 of 8 gig from Certified 61769x4
    or
    6 of 4 gig from Kingston KTA-MP1333/4Gx8
    that would make it 16 gig VS 24 gig at start for the same price
    Thank you
     
  4. Danekero macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    #4
    Definitely 6*4GB. Much better value and you end up with much more speed.
     
  5. MattDSLR thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Location:
    Canada
    #5
    Would I ever benefit from from more than 24 gig of memory?
     
  6. Transporteur macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    That Sir, is a question only YOU can answer!
     
  7. johnnymg macrumors 65816

    johnnymg

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    #7
  8. sash macrumors 6502a

    sash

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    #8
    Does it have any use to buy DDR3 ECC 1333MHz PC3-10600 instead of DDR3 ECC 1066MHz PC3-8500 for the 8-core Westmere? First type is faster, but I presume, 8-core Westmere won't benefit from it?
     
  9. MattDSLR thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Location:
    Canada
    #9
    Thats possible
    but when I upgrade to twin 6 core, I wouldn't have to change memory anymore
     
  10. gugucom macrumors 68020

    gugucom

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Location:
    Munich, Germany
    #10
    My 8-core Westmere does not run the 1333 MHz. The firmware does not support anything beyond 1066. I'd be interested to know if there is firmware upgrade that I missed.
     
  11. MattDSLR thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Location:
    Canada
    #11
    This is interesting
    as Apple manual for 8 core westmere says 1333 memory to be used
     
  12. Transporteur macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #12

    Westmere or Nehalem? Cause your sig says Nehalem and the firmware in the new 8 core definitely is capable of 1333.
     
  13. MattDSLR thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Location:
    Canada
    #13
    OK
    I'm about to pull the trigger
    yes for 1333 or no
    need to know as I will be ordering it from OWC and not sure about it
    as I need to import it to Canada
    THX
     
  14. Transporteur macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #14
    You already gave the answer to yourself in post #9.

    What more is there to ask?
     
  15. MattDSLR thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Location:
    Canada
    #15
    its so easy to say yes it will work
    The manual says it will, people selling it recommend 1066
    but the manual says 1333
    so i'm a bit confused
     
  16. brentsg macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    #16
    So what is it you're looking for?
     
  17. digitalboi@mac. macrumors newbie

    #17
    Wirelessly posted (iPhone: Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148a Safari/6533.18.5)

    My understanding is that you get better performance by having sets of 3 like chips for each processor over sets of 4...
     
  18. MattDSLR thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Location:
    Canada
    #18
    I'm looking to get set of those
    Any recommendations other than what i'm looking at??

    Kingston KTA-MP1333/4Gx8 $ 686

    Certified 617684/4Gx8 $ 475
     
  19. Transporteur macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #19
    Well, if you don't want to upgrade your processors to hex cores, take the cheaper 1066MHz RAM. Otherwise, buy the 1333MHz dimms. Simple as that.

    Have you looked at OWC RAM?
    Definitely cheaper than the two sets you picked and 100% supported in the Mac Pro.
    I'd recommend 6x4GB 1333MHz dimms, which costs you $435 at OWC.
     
  20. johnnymg macrumors 65816

    johnnymg

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    #20
    1333 mem WILL work in your MP and it's about the same price as the slower mem. 1333 gives you more options in terms of upgrading the processor or transferring the RAM to a newer computer.

    JohnG
     
  21. MacTower macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Location:
    Midwest
    #21
    I can vouch personally for 1333 RAM working in an 8-core Mac that likes 1066. Of course, the Mac will only run it at 1066, but it hasn't caused any compatibility issues for me. I'm currently running 2x4GB(1333MHz) and 6x1GB(1066MHz). I think the more pressing issue concerning RAM is buying high quality modules that are fully compliant with Apple specs. In my experience, trying to save a few bucks by taking a chance with low quality or an unknown brand is rarely worth it.

    That said, I didn't intentionally buy 1333 RAM for my 8-core Mac. I ordered 1066 from OWC, and they sent 1333 by accident. It went something like this when I phoned them to tell them about their mistake:

    me: Hello, I ordered 1066MHz RAM for my Mac Pro, but you guys sent me 1333MHz. I know it will work fine, but I just want to confirm before installing, because I plan on ordering more of the 1066 RAM from you guys in the future, and want to make sure there will be no compatibility issues when I do that.
    OWC: Our records clearly show that you ordered 1066, and we sent you 1066.
    me: That's fine, but the chips you sent me are labeled 1333MHz.
    OWC: Our records show that we sent you 1066MHz chips.
    me: Ok. *click*


    My time is too valuable to waste arguing about something that doesn't really matter, and that conversation wasn't going anywhere. But, yes, 1333MHz will work fine, even mixed with 1066 chips :)
     
  22. Umbongo macrumors 601

    Umbongo

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #22
    This question is actually answered in the Mac Pro manual quite clearly.
     
  23. MattDSLR thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Location:
    Canada
    #23
    1333 works just fine
    Wow
    going up in ram really speeds up your mac
    That is impressive
    running at 20 gig for now
    waiting for 8 gig chips to drop in price so I can go to 48
     
  24. philipma1957, Feb 17, 2011
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2011

    philipma1957 macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #24
  25. Transporteur macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #25
    Although I'm not exactly sure what this has to do with the thread, you should visit MiMo monitors. Cheaper than the one you listed and USB based. The USB throughput suffices for 800x600 and you don't waste a DVI port on your machine.
     

Share This Page