15" i5 Running on 32-bit?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by djasterix, May 22, 2010.

?

Is my new MBP booting by default on 32-bit or 64-bit kernel? (By size/Processor)

  1. 15" i5 32-bit kernel

    14 vote(s)
    50.0%
  2. 15" i5 64-bit kernel

    3 vote(s)
    10.7%
  3. 15" i7 32-bit kernel

    7 vote(s)
    25.0%
  4. 15" i7 64-bit kernel

    4 vote(s)
    14.3%
  5. 17" i7 64-bit kernel

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. djasterix macrumors 6502a

    djasterix

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Location:
    Paradise City
    #1
    Does anyone knows why my new 15" i5 MBP is running 32-bit kernel instead of 64-bit?, is it disabled for any reason? thanks
     

    Attached Files:

    • 12.jpg
      12.jpg
      File size:
      28.9 KB
      Views:
      41
  2. Nugget macrumors 65816

    Nugget

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2002
    Location:
    Houston Texas USA
    #2
    That's totally normal. More details here: http://arstechnica.com/apple/reviews/2009/08/mac-os-x-10-6.ars/5

    64 bit kernel and extensions is only enabled by default on Xserve servers. None of the desktop-class machines boot with a 64 bit kernel by default. This doesn't prevent you from running 64 bit apps, it's just the kernel that is affected.
     
  3. djasterix thread starter macrumors 6502a

    djasterix

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Location:
    Paradise City
    #3
    Ok, thanks for that but, isn't a 64-bit system more efficient? Then what's the reason to have a 64-bit processor, a 64-bit OS and running it on 32-bit?, I don't get that...
     
  4. evilzardoz macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    #4
    Oddly enough, my 17" i7 boots with a 64-bit kernel for some reason and I never told it to...
     
  5. djasterix thread starter macrumors 6502a

    djasterix

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Location:
    Paradise City
    #5
    It would be interesting to see if all 15"/17" i7's are running on 64-bit, so let's add a pool to this...
     
  6. thebrick macrumors regular

    thebrick

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Location:
    GA, United States
    #6
    The only difference between two kernels that I know is 64bit can use up to 128GB of RAM. :D
     
  7. henry72 macrumors 65816

    henry72

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #7
    It's very interesting to know will it be a little bit faster? or no different??
    Just up to 128GB Ram?? :D
     
  8. djasterix thread starter macrumors 6502a

    djasterix

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Location:
    Paradise City
    #8
    Well, I don't get it, as there are some 15" i5's booting on 64-bit by factory default, and some 17" i7's booting on 32-bit...

    BTW, i'm running on 64-bit mode to test it and so far everything is fine, just a loooong boot time...
     
  9. scaredpoet macrumors 604

    scaredpoet

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    #9
    The reason the kernel is still running 32-bit in most cases is to increase compatibility with 32-bit programs. Not all develoeprs have upgraded their software for 64-bit support, and so there's no telling really how they'll run. Some apps will work just fine, while others won't run reliably (or at all) on a pure 64-bit environment.

    Remember the hell Windows Vista users had when they upgraded to 64-bit? Your MacBook Pro is supposed to boot in 32-bit by default to avoid that. You can see what's still running in 32-bit mode on your mac by checking System Monitor:

    [​IMG]
    (Note: this screenshot is from my Mac Mini, not my MBP, but you get the idea.)


    Anything that doesn't have "(64-bit)" in the "kind" field is running as a 32-bit app.

    When you have software that has 64-bit support, it runs in that mode and gets most of the benefits. Otherwise, it runs in 32-bit mode.

    Now, WHY some i5s and i7s are apparently rolling off the line set to to boot 64-bit by default, I'm not sure. The company line from Apple is that only the Xserve boots in 64-bit by default.

    On the other hand, now I wonder if we can tie this weirdness to the freezing issue some people are having. Are those with freezing issues booting in a 64-bit kernel?
     
  10. djasterix thread starter macrumors 6502a

    djasterix

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Location:
    Paradise City
    #10
    That's a good point, so lets see if people booting on 64-bit kernel are experiencing freezing. I've been running on 32-bit and never had a problem, now I'm running on 64-bit to test it.

    One maybe silly question, if I'm running 64-bit, 32-bit apps will not run?, or the problem is that you don't know how they will behave?
     
  11. djasterix thread starter macrumors 6502a

    djasterix

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Location:
    Paradise City
    #11
    Heard on another thread that Paralells won't run on 64-bit. I'm running windows 7 via Fusion 3 without a problem...
     
  12. Bill Gates macrumors 68020

    Bill Gates

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #12
    MacFUSE is the one application that completely prevents me from booting my MBP in 64-bit mode. I've been waiting for a 64-bit kernel module for a while and it looks like I'll be waiting a while longer. 32-bit mode is comparable in speed to 64-bit mode in almost every respect for the programs I use, but virtualization was a little faster in 64-bit.
     
  13. scaredpoet macrumors 604

    scaredpoet

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    #13
    Some apps will work fine, others will behave erratically, and others might not run at all. It's a mixed bag.
     
  14. Tom71 macrumors regular

    Tom71

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    #14
    Switched mine recently into 64-bit. But came default on 32.
     
  15. gnasher729 macrumors P6

    gnasher729

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    #15
    Whether your kernel is 32 bit or 64 bit matters very, very little. 64 bit applications work absolutely fine on a 32 bit kernel.

    That's nonsense. Applications don't even know whether the kernel is 32 bit or 64 bit. It's only _drivers_ that care. A 32 bit application will run in 32 bit, whether the kernel is 32 or 64 bit. A 64 bit application will run in 64 bit as long as you have a 64 bit processor, whether the kernel is 32 or 64 bit.
     
  16. djasterix thread starter macrumors 6502a

    djasterix

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Location:
    Paradise City
    #16
    So we're fine on 32-bit kernel and all 64-bit apps will work on 64-bit, it's not limitating?
     
  17. rmbrown09 macrumors 6502a

    rmbrown09

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    #17
  18. djasterix thread starter macrumors 6502a

    djasterix

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Location:
    Paradise City
    #18
    System profile/software.

    I'm using an app called system mode configurator to change between kernels.

    http://www.thrull.com/corner/mac/SystemModeConfigurator/
     
  19. rmbrown09 macrumors 6502a

    rmbrown09

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    #19
    Oh thanks that's much easier, well now I have rebooted and 64 bit kernel is enabled, not really sure what I just did or what It will do though. but I feel accomplished.
     
  20. djasterix thread starter macrumors 6502a

    djasterix

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Location:
    Paradise City
    #20
    Ok, 4 days running on 64-bit and almost all ok, long boot only first time, now boot time is normal, and a little faster than 32-bit. Only bug encountred is remote control not working properly with power point, but i'ts working great with keynote, itunes, quicktime x and front row.
     

Share This Page