15" rmbp or 15"cmbp? decision... decision

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Badrottie, Jan 13, 2013.

1. Badrottie Suspended

Badrottie

I have trouble deciding which one to get. I am a digital artist with photoshop and light video editing with FCPX and iMovie. I suppose 8GB ram is enough and I understand I can't upgrade to 16GB in the future, right? That sucks. If I want to upgrade ssd and ram, I would go with cmbp. rmbp is very tempting for me but will rmbp with 8gb will do for photoshop and FCPX?

I don't know what to do. :( Money is not an issue. :apple:

2. Orlandoech macrumors 68040

Orlandoech

Yes it's 8GB will suffice but 16GB is better and will help resale. Why not a BTO rMBP with 16GB ram?

3. Schranke macrumors 6502

Schranke

Since RAM cant be upgraded later on the rMBP i will go with 16GB.
    You can upgrade SSD on the rMBP after you get it, have seen some SSD blades on the market. Think they were around 512GB but do not hold me to it about the size.
    I use the rMBP and love it, I am doing photo editing on it and love the screen.
    "only" have the 256GB SSD since i have all my work on a external HHD with USB 3.0.

4. Ploki macrumors 68020

rMBP 16GB ram.

@Schranke: OWC, 480gb

5. Macral macrumors member

Get the rMBP with 16GB RAM. For me, once I get used to the retina screen, it's hard to go back to regular screen.

6. Schranke macrumors 6502

Schranke

Thx Ploki forgot the size so i guessed.

But Go for the retina with 16GB you will love it

7. 0r30 macrumors 6502

0r30

8. Badrottie thread starter Suspended

Badrottie

9. Geoffre macrumors newbie

In your OP, you said that money was not a factor. If so, isn't the clear choice a rMBP with 16 GB? Or did you mean that the price difference between the cMBP and rMBP models you are considering is negligible?

10. Rhinoevans macrumors 6502

get the cMBP. Retina screen not that big of a deal. Upgrade is more important and the price of the rMBP with 16/512 is insain!!!