15k drives with RAID

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by flying.squirrel, Aug 29, 2016.

  1. flying.squirrel macrumors newbie

    flying.squirrel

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2016
    Location:
    Kansas City
    #1
    early MacPro 3,1 with RAID card and 2 15k rpm drives. Want to toss this RAID card so bad. Sorry I ever got it. That being said, if I yank out the RAID card can I still use the two 15k drives? One for OS and other for Logic, say? I'm assuming there are cables connecting each to RAID? How would I re-connect them to my motherboard? Thanx! - robert
     
  2. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #2
    Yes you can still use the drives. I thought the Apple RAID card enabled RAID through the backplane to the standard drive bays, meaning there are no cables involved. So I believe all you have to do is remove the card, boot to an OS installation disk, wipe the drives, and install a fresh OS on one of them.
     
  3. Kaspin macrumors member

    Kaspin

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    #3
    That's true on 4,1 & 5,1.

    The 1,1 - 3,1 drive bays are connected to the logic board via an sff-8087 cable. When using a raid card, this cable is moved to the raid card, and needs to be moved back to the logic board after removing the card.
     
  4. Flint Ironstag macrumors 6502a

    Flint Ironstag

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2013
    Location:
    Houston, TX USA
    #4
    Nice tidbit of knowledge there, thanks.
     
  5. nigelbb macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012
    #5
    The native ports on the cMP are SATA-II while those 15K drives are almost certainly SAS so they will work directly connected to the Mac motherboard.
     

Share This Page