16 GB ipad 3 or refurbished 32 GB ipad 2?

Discussion in 'iPad' started by Mercury6, Mar 30, 2012.

1. Mercury6, Mar 30, 2012
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2012

Mercury6 macrumors member

Hello,

This is my first post here and I need some advice. I am planning on buying an ipad but I'm having trouble deciding between a 32 GB refurbished ipad 2 or a 16 GB ipad 3 (wifi only). I don't want to buy the 32 GB new ipad because I only want to spend around 500$.
    I'm a med student so I'll be using it mainly for medical apps, reading pdfs and ppts (2GB) and a few light games (angry birds, temple run...). I'll keep my music and photos on my iphone. Do you think 16 GB will be enough? Or should I go for the 32 GB ipad 2?

Thanks

2. G77 macrumors regular

I would definitely recommend new iPad - its so much better for reading etc. I gave my iPad 2 to my girlfriend and retina display was huge difference for me.

3. number84 macrumors 6502

16Gb seems plenty for your use. I would go with the new one.

4. shyam09 macrumors 68000

shyam09

5. Redjericho macrumors 6502a

Sounds like you want exactly what the new iPad was designed to deliver.

6. Techwriter macrumors regular

As the previous post mentions, the new iPad is great for reading text and viewing graphic images. Just plan on managing your data a bit more than you would with a 32GB device, and 16GB should be fine.

7. Mercury6 thread starter macrumors member

I really want the new one :rolleyes: I'm just scared the storage won't be enough since ipad apps are bigger. Right now I have 5 GB of apps on my iphone but I don't use half of them. All my music is on the phone too. I think I'll go for the ipad 3. I'm a little worried about the warming problems though.

8. rbasra macrumors newbie

There is no warming problem. My new iPad is ice cold even after hours of use.

9. shyam09 macrumors 68000

shyam09