16 gb ram

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by greenville, Aug 28, 2011.

  1. greenville macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    #1
    There have been many discussions about whether or not the 2011 MBP's can use 16 GB's of RAM. MacSales says yes, Apple says 8 GB tops. Has anybody actually tried 16 GB in their machine and knows if it actually works or not. People are saying that as soon as the 8 GB chips come down in price, they would like to try but until we know that in actual use by regular users, it actually works, I would be reluctant to buy it even though when working with large Photoshop file it might be useful. Anyone actually put in the OWC 16 kit?
     
  2. LeiQQ macrumors regular

    LeiQQ

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Location:
    Taipei, Taiwan
    #2
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_5 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8L1 Safari/6533.18.5)

    I'd like to know this as well.
     
  3. adrian1480 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    #3
    yes, 16 GB of ram works. we have users who have it installed now.

    Yes, your Mac can support it. It will cost you several hundred dollars however, so you have to decide whether it's worth the cost.

    but YES it will work. 8GB x 2 chips are what you'll need.
     
  4. Thunder82 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #4
    My co-worker is running 16GB in his 2011 MBP, runs great. .. Pretty expensive though!
     
  5. tanhm macrumors regular

    tanhm

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    #5
    confirmed, it works like hell in my friend's 2011 i7 MBP

     
  6. Mac-key macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Location:
    Alabama
    #6
    one poster on here said ONLY the 2.2/2.3 15/17 models can use 16GB of RAM

    if he is correct, that leaves out the 13" models and base model 15"

    However, I'm still not sure if that is correct. Anybody running 16GB in the 13" or base model 15"?
     
  7. JronMasteR macrumors 6502

    JronMasteR

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #7
    That's what I remember too. According to Intel, the 2720QM and 2820QM support up to 16GB, while the 2630QM only support up to 8GB.
     
  8. Naimfan macrumors 68040

    Naimfan

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    #8
    Intel's data sheet certainly implies that the 2410 and 2630 can support 16 GB also. Whether the Ark sheets or the data sheet is more accurate, I can't say.

    IIRC there are at least a few folks here who have installed and are running 16 GB in 13" MBPs.
     
  9. Mac-key macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Location:
    Alabama
    #9
    anyone running 16GB on the 13" models or the base model 15"
     
  10. Nielsenius macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011
    Location:
    Virginia
    #10
    Are there any 2x8GB 1600MHz DIMMs that run in a 2011 MacBook Pro? Or, is 2x4GB 1600MHz the max right now?
     
  11. WardC macrumors 68030

    WardC

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Location:
    Fort Worth, TX
    #11
    only the 2011 models will support the 16GB (2x8GB chips). The OWC page shows it to be supported on all 2011 Sandy Bridge MacBook Pro models, the 13", 15" and 17"

    It is only compatible with the 2011 models, NOT compatible with any of the 2010 models.

    The price has come down considerably to $879.99, it used to be priced at $1499. This is quite a deal, if you ask me. But it's pricey, considering the 8GB upgrade is only $71.99!!!
     
  12. Liquinn Suspended

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    #12
    Will the 2012/2013 models be able to support 20/24GB of RAM?
     
  13. snaky69 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    #13
    Perahps, but at this point, a desktop would be more powerful and cheaper to build for the same amount of power. I can't see anyone needing this much power on the go.
     
  14. bb426, Aug 28, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 28, 2011

    bb426 macrumors 6502

    bb426

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Location:
    California
    #14
    I agree with the previous poster. There's only 2 slots too, so you'll need at least one 16 GB stick.

    But I highly doubt this, there will be no support over 16 GB for a while from Apple in portables. While it may be possible in several years, like 4+ years, it's most likely not going to be desirable or practical because of the price. If you look at the price of 8 GB sticks, imagine the price of ONE 16 GB stick. It's not going to be worth it until 8 GB sticks become the norm (4 GB sticks are just now barely starting to become the norm). So you have a while.

    Why would you want this anyways? 16 GB is crazy already. 900 bucks for RAM? I could do 1000 more useful things for 900 dollars (not to mention buy a completely new laptop with a couple hundred more). Though, do expect this to drop considerably in the coming years. :D
     
  15. Amerabian macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    #15
    I'm getting the 8GB chipsets then!

    I don't think any of my activities would need $900 of ram right now!

    Can't wait to get back to the US and buy them there!

    Maybe I'll be coupling that with a good SSD too! Who knows! :D
     
  16. Nielsenius macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011
    Location:
    Virginia
    #16
    Doubtful for '12. Possible for '13. It's really not a matter of what Apple supports, it's what Intel supports. 16 GB is the max for the current generation of mobile Core i7 chips. Just last year the max was 8 GB. Plus, a 16 GB DIMM would be too expensive for just about anyone to justify purchasing. 8GB DIMMs are still too much, in my opinion. Until recently you could buy a new Mac instead of spending $1,400 on 16 GB of RAM.
     
  17. yusukeaoki macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #17
    my friend has a 16GB on 2011 15in so yeah it works.
     
  18. Amerabian macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    #18
    We're talking about the 13" here.. It works for 15" 100%

    But it also works for 13" early 2011 models :rolleyes:
     
  19. Prodo123 macrumors 68020

    Prodo123

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    #19
    Yes, this would be correct.
    The same goes for 1600Mhz RAM as well.

    Unless someone can prove me otherwise, the 13" and base 15" should recognize the 16GB RAM but will only be able to use 8GB of it.
    As for people arguing about the old ARK data, the site said 8GB which meant 8GB per RAM slot. Now it lists the total RAM capacity, since surprisingly there are 4-slot laptops out there...O.O

    If anyone wants to prove it, then go to Activity Monitor's System Memory tab and take a screenshot. :)
     
  20. stefmesman macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #20
    a scholar like me who studies motion picture special effects :) but I'm also on 8gb. 16gb would be awesome but currently too expensive. even though most of my programs will use all of it while working. most of the time only have 12MB left.
     
  21. yusukeaoki, Aug 28, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 28, 2011

    yusukeaoki macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #21
    It works for all 2011 quad core models.
    All Sandy Bridge i7 quad series.
     
  22. maril1111 macrumors 68000

    maril1111

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Location:
    Denmark
    #22
    What about i5?
     
  23. yusukeaoki macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #23
    For the quad core i5 which is not set on MBP series yes.
    But the i5 dual core for MBP 13in (aka i5-2410M) no.
    They only support 8GB max.

    So does the dual core i7 I think.
    The 13in dual core i7 (aka i7-2620M) only supports up to 8GB

    Only the quad core types can hold up to 16GB such as the i7 quad on 15 and 17in models (aka i7-2620QM, i7-2720QM, and i7-2820QM).

    edit:
    QM stands for "quad mobile". Its a quad core mobile processor for laptops.
    M just stands for mobile. Which is a dual core processor for laptops.
     
  24. maril1111 macrumors 68000

    maril1111

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Location:
    Denmark
    #24

    Thanx for the clear up :D you think the next mbp 13inch will be quad or is that physically not possible?
     
  25. yusukeaoki macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #25
    I would say possibly a quad core with Ivy bridge chips.
    I think all the MBP series will be quad cores by the next refresh.
    Possibly with a new redesign.
     

Share This Page