16GB DDR3 1600 Now Available

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by shortcut3d, Mar 16, 2012.

  1. shortcut3d macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    #1
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820233265

    Corsair recently released their 16GB (2 x 8GB) dual channel 1600MHz kit for laptops. The top review on Newegg.com states its working in a MacBook Pro. I'm going to give it a try in my 2011 15" MacBook Pro 2.3GHz Quad-Core Intel i7. I'll post Geekbench scores if it works. I can make a good comparison because I've been running Corsair's 16GB 1333MHz kit since fall 2011.
     
  2. mrobit macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    #2
    This is semi-related, I suppose so I'll post it in here. I don't necessarily need RAM that is this fast, but is there really any specific type of RAM (besides laptop-sized lol) that I can only use in a Mac? I feel like this is a dumb question but I see on newegg that you can filter RAM based on whether it's Mac compatible.

    To be honest, it seems like a bunch of BS to me. Hah. Either way I'm thinking about making the jump to higher RAM here soon, perhaps an SSD as well, so I wanted to ask.
     
  3. XMizer macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012
    #3
    What's the difference this vengeance brand and the value brand?
     
  4. shortcut3d thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    #4
    Depending on the model of MacBook Pro you can use 204-pin laptop memory at the spec speed or above. So for 2011 MacBook Pros and any Sandy Bridge based Macintosh for that matter, you can use 204-pin memory up to 1866Mhz and up to 8GB per SODIMM module.
     
  5. dusk007 macrumors 68040

    dusk007

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    #5
    Currently only that the value is only in 1333 not in 1600 Mhz available.
    It's just 10 bucks difference thus reasonable to pay up but RAM speed doesn't create any significant speed difference. Between 1333 and 1600 it is probably very difficult to measure with anything but pure memory benches.
    Mem speed is not a problem which is why DDR4 is so long delayed that one has to wonder if they will ever release it. Maybe for a 13" MBP that relies on the on chip GPU it gets you something.
     
  6. shortcut3d thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    #6
    Value brand is lower cost standard memory (based on cost per GB). Vengeance brand is reserved for high performance memory typically at a higher speed and marketed to gamers. The quality should be the same.

    ----------

    Correct. 1866MHz would get the biggest gains at 5% - 10% depending on the specific benchmark. 1600MHz would probably net 2% - 7%.

    The Intel HD 3000 benefits from fast memory because it shares the system memory for use as VRAM. VRAM is considerably faster than standard system memory because of speed and channel width. Faster system memory closes this gap, albeit slightly.

    The general consensus is the current memory timing for 1600MHz and 1866MHz is holding back much of the performance gain. CAS 9 is typical for 1333MHz where as only Kingston's latest Hyper X 1600MHz is CAS 9, previously CAS 10.
     
  7. Mr. Wonderful macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    #7
    There's plenty of 1600MHz sticks with CAS 9.

    Also, tests have shown that the HD3000 doesn't benefit that significantly from faster RAM speeds. Not that that stops me.

    Waiting on 16GB 1866MHz CAS 9 RAM myself, and then some daring posters to test it to make sure it's finally stable with CAS 9 timings.
     
  8. shortcut3d thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    #8
    Sign me up to test 16GB 1866MHz CAS 9. That's what I've been waiting for. The 16GB 1600MHz will suffice for now.
     
  9. gramps416 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    #9
    does anyone know when 1866 will be available?
    would it work in early 2011 MBP or late high end or both?

    i wonder why on newegg the vengence 1600 mhz is not in the "mac compatible section"

    yes i would also love to see geekbench scores
     
  10. Mr. Wonderful macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    #10
    1866MHz's available, just not at CAS 9. The other issue is that some RAM advertised as 1600MHz or 1866MHz are only capable of running at those speeds on Windows with particular settings changed in the BIOS.
     
  11. NickZac macrumors 68000

    NickZac

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    #11
    Correct me if I am wrong but thus far, most of the SB processors in the MBP max at 1600, right? How would 18xx work?
     
  12. yusukeaoki macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #12
    I was wondering the same thing.
    Apple claims 1333MHz.
    It runs 1600MHz.
    But I don't think its possible to run 1866MHz or anything above 1600MHz?
     
  13. gramps416, Mar 17, 2012
    Last edited: Mar 17, 2012

    gramps416 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    #13
    wait a moment,
    that is CL10 memory.
    does CL10 work? evidence, not conjecture

    i wonder if CL9 at 1333 is similar speed to CL10 at 1600
     
  14. MaxBurn macrumors 65816

    MaxBurn

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    #14
    I think you are fooling yourself if you thing the memory will run at anything but the stock 1333MHz spec that apple makes the motherboards for. Waste of money for anything faster as the motherboard won't use it.
     
  15. shortcut3d thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    #15
    This is incorrect for the 2011 Apple Macintosh line-up. The 2011 Macs all have Intel Sandybridge chipsets which support up to 8GB per SODIMM and 1866MHz. The theoretical maximum per slot is 32GB, but RAM is not produced in that density. The current Apple EFI does support 8GB SODIMMs. The memory must be Plug 'n' Play or Auto-detect to work at its rated speed since Apple uses EFI and does not provide access. I currently have 16GB 1333MHz in my 2011 MacBook Pro and 32GB in my 2010 iMac (Clarksdale chipsets maximum supported speed is 1333MHz). I have 8GB 1866MHz in two 2011 Mac minis.
     
  16. MaxBurn macrumors 65816

    MaxBurn

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    #16
    And you have some way to show that they are actually running faster than 1333? I don't doubt that it will be fine with the size or even setting timing but I rather doubt that it is going to lower the memory multiplier to run it above 1333.
     
  17. NickZac macrumors 68000

    NickZac

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    #17
    Sandy Bridge suports up to 1600 MHz unless the late 2011s are different.
    http://ark.intel.com/products/52227/Intel-Core-i7-2820QM-Processor-(8M-Cache-2_30-GHz)
     
  18. MaxBurn macrumors 65816

    MaxBurn

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    #18
    Using spd to detect the right timings is one thing but setting a different memory multiplier is quite another.

    You are saying the system info or something like cpuz does or does not show the memory running faster than 1333 when you put in memory capable of greater speed?
     
  19. shortcut3d thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    #19

    Attached Files:

  20. SDAVE macrumors 68040

    SDAVE

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    Nowhere
    #20
    I have the same MBP, sans the SSD and the Vengeance RAM. Got the 16GB Value ram and here are my results:

    Those extra 500 points are probably from the SSD, even though the RAM test is higher on yours.
     

    Attached Files:

  21. filmshoot, Mar 20, 2012
    Last edited: Mar 20, 2012

    filmshoot macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012
    #21
    been trollin for yrz ...
    this thread brought me on board
    check out my geekbench
    Shortcut - how is it that my i7 2.5 is scoring less than your 2.3 quad in the processor integer and floating point scores?
    Sdave your integer was higher than mine too

    i'm running in the free 32bit mode on geekbench were you?

    I'm running the 1333mhz 16gb as you can see here
    http://browse.geekbench.ca/geekbench2/585836


    also btw: my stream add and stream triad scores were paltry compared to yours and I'm running the samsung 830 ~500gb ssd
     
  22. MaxBurn macrumors 65816

    MaxBurn

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
  23. The Mercurian macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2012
    #23
    Forgive the slight tangent here.....

    I'm in the market for a new 15" MBP.
    Plan to dual boot with win7 to run GIS software STATA, winbugs, R etc.
    Anyhow want to max out ram but don't want to pay apple prices.

    Was in apple store and apple guy made big deal of telling me how Apple RAM is better and how his mate stuck crucial RAM in his machine and ran every program he had and the crucial ram melted.

    Is this just sales talk ? Is the apple ram somehow better quality ? If I put after market ram in will it melt ? I am VERY skeptical myself but thought I'd ask people who may know more than me.

    Also one other question. I notice the RAM speed you are talking about is faster than the factory fitted ram speed. If you put in faster RAM does the motherboard adjust to that speed automatically ? Or you have to do something ?
     
  24. Mr. Wonderful, Mar 20, 2012
    Last edited: Mar 20, 2012

    Mr. Wonderful macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    #24
    Though it makes sense. Getting things to the CPU and RAM faster is going to improve overall RAM and CPU performance. (Oh gosh. Flashing back to my Operations Management class.)

    MaxBurn, if you want further proof:

    [​IMG]
     
  25. Dekard macrumors 6502

    Dekard

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    #25
    I wonder if your Mac is really seeing and using the 1600Mhz.. I have an early 2011 15 inch as well and when I click on Memory it says:

    Your Mac contains 2 memory slots, each of which accepts
    a 1333 MHz DDR3 memory module.



     

Share This Page