Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Dekema2

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jul 27, 2012
WNY or Utica
I'm a college student with no car, and don't feel like getting a ride to Walmart to buy a USB cord for my new laser printer. So, I thought I could just go to Amazon and get a cheap, reliable cord for about 5 bucks.

Well was I wrong. It's 5 bucks, but then STANDARD shipping costs $8!!! What the heck? They say the internet should make buying things online hassle free, but there was no free shipping option and I did a one click order. Fortunately I cancelled it on time.

To avoid something this outrageous when I buy a cheap product online, what would you advise me to do?

Mac'nCheese

Suspended
Feb 9, 2010
I'm a college student with no car, and don't feel like getting a ride to Walmart to buy a USB cord for my new laser printer. So, I thought I could just go to Amazon and get a cheap, reliable cord for about 5 bucks.

Well was I wrong. It's 5 bucks, but then STANDARD shipping costs $8!!! What the heck? They say the internet should make buying things online hassle free, but there was no free shipping option and I did a one click order. Fortunately I cancelled it on time.

To avoid something this outrageous when I buy a cheap product online, what would you advise me to do?

Find someone who pays for prime, ask them to be put on their account and get free two day shopping. If you can.

Dekema2

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jul 27, 2012
WNY or Utica
Find someone who pays for prime, ask them to be put on their account and get free two day shopping. If you can.

Excellent idea, I know my RA said something about getting people in our suite hooked up with prime but I never knew the benefits until recently. Next time I use Amazon that's what I'll do.

I just ordered a cable off of eBay as well for $3 w/free std. shipping so I'm all set there.

Huntn

macrumors Core
May 5, 2008
The Misty Mountains