amazon shipping rates

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by Dekema2, Feb 22, 2015.

1. Dekema2 macrumors 6502a

Dekema2

I'm a college student with no car, and don't feel like getting a ride to Walmart to buy a USB cord for my new laser printer. So, I thought I could just go to Amazon and get a cheap, reliable cord for about 5 bucks.

Well was I wrong. It's 5 bucks, but then STANDARD shipping costs $8!!! What the heck? They say the internet should make buying things online hassle free, but there was no free shipping option and I did a one click order. Fortunately I cancelled it on time.

To avoid something this outrageous when I buy a cheap product online, what would you advise me to do?

2. Mac'nCheese macrumors 68030

Mac'nCheese

Find someone who pays for prime, ask them to be put on their account and get free two day shopping. If you can.

3. Dekema2 thread starter macrumors 6502a

Dekema2

Excellent idea, I know my RA said something about getting people in our suite hooked up with prime but I never knew the benefits until recently. Next time I use Amazon that's what I'll do.

I just ordered a cable off of eBay as well for $3 w/free std. shipping so I'm all set there.

4. Huntn macrumors G5

Huntn

What do you consider inexpensive? What would it cost to buy at a local retailer? With Amazon you have to either have an order worth $35 or be a Amazon Prime member which is something like $75 a year. If you are ordering a lot of stuff on Amazon it's a bargain cause you can order small stuff like a USB chord for free shipping.

5. rick snagwell macrumors 68040

rick snagwell

once you go prime, you never go back...or buy anything retail at all.

6. Tomorrow macrumors 604

Tomorrow