2.0 Resume Conversation DONT POST LINKS

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by MattGTO, Jul 11, 2008.

  1. MattGTO macrumors regular

    MattGTO

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Location:
    Mckinney, Texas
    #1
    Do not post any links that Apple would not like to be posted.


    Well, its 8:02 PST, and its sill not up
     
  2. natezire71 Guest

    #2
    Yep.... I know....


    It better be available before 2pm EST today....
     
  3. myuserid08 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    #3
    They obviously know they have messed up with that link, wonder if they will remove it from the XML.
     
  4. pol0001 macrumors 6502

    pol0001

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #4
    I have upgraded my iPod Touch and everything is working fine. I transfered all Apps that I downloaded from the App Store yesterday. The upgrade process takes some time and all data on the iPod Touch will be erased. But with the backup all my data was transfered back onto the iPod Touch after the upgrade.
     
  5. ThrillHouseMD macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    #5
    I'm new here... what is this "xml" that everyone keeps referring to?
     
  6. pol0001 macrumors 6502

    pol0001

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #6
    the XML refers to a source for the update where you can "acquire" the 2.0 update. Sorry. But no links are allowed.
     
  7. nintendude macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    CA
    #7
    its a link that someone found from Apple that allows you to download 2.0
     
  8. MattGTO thread starter macrumors regular

    MattGTO

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Location:
    Mckinney, Texas
    #8
    Did you do this legally or illegally?
     
  9. nintendude macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    CA
    #9
    can someone tell me how you are supposed to install 2.0 once you download it from the link
     
  10. techage14 macrumors regular

    techage14

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #10
    you have to restore your iPod. Once you connect your iPod to iTunes, you have to option-click on the Restore button and then select the 2.0 firmware that you downloaded. It should start the restore process and then you'll get the new 2.0 software.
     
  11. MattGTO thread starter macrumors regular

    MattGTO

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Location:
    Mckinney, Texas
    #11
    This is so freakin annoying!!! They are giving screens and posting a "Buy Now" link on apple.com!!! BUT NO 2.0!!!
     
  12. -Dark Angel- macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    #12
    It be funny if you go into a best buy or apple store, buy a new ipod touch and see it comes with 2.0 built in :D
     
  13. techage14 macrumors regular

    techage14

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #13
    hahaha xD
    that would be hilarious.
    in that case, i would go out and buy a new 16GB iPod touch....
    not really.
     
  14. TheSpaz macrumors 604

    TheSpaz

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    #14
    Does this method back up your music like iPhone users were reporting yesterday?
     
  15. -Dark Angel- macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    #15
    I believe with that shift-click restore, it will wipe out your ipod. The safe way of not having it wiped is with that update button.
     
  16. techage14 macrumors regular

    techage14

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #16
    Yes. You have to choose to backup. From what I understand, it's the same.
     
  17. wordmunger macrumors 603

    wordmunger

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #17
    Right -- the same iPods that were there yesterday will somehow have 2.0 magically installed today.
     
  18. -Dark Angel- macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    #18
    No, I'm saying the ones that arrived today (BB here gets shipments usually on friday) would have 2.0.
     
  19. TheSpaz macrumors 604

    TheSpaz

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    #19
    I would laugh so hard if Apple decided to remote-wipe any iPod that is running the firmware that was downloaded from that link since it wasn't paid for.
     
  20. techage14 macrumors regular

    techage14

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #20
    that wouldn't be so fun....
    I spend many hours trying to find the link...
     
  21. techage14 macrumors regular

    techage14

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #21
    I've downloaded 3 copies of the 2.0 software but, none have worked on my ipod because when i tried to restore my ipod with the 2.0 software, i got the itunes unknown error 1403. I got VERY frustrated. :confused:
     
  22. MattGTO thread starter macrumors regular

    MattGTO

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Location:
    Mckinney, Texas
    #22
    Maybe you should show a grain of patience and do this legally.
     
  23. techage14 macrumors regular

    techage14

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #23
    I've been trying to do this legally.
    But, iTunes isn't cooperating.
     
  24. pol0001 macrumors 6502

    pol0001

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #24
    There is a separate link for the Touch that works. :D
     
  25. olie8 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    #25
    Does everyone just keep clicking on more info when you click update on the ipod touch screen? cause ive been doin it for hours and it keeps saying itunes store is temorarilly unavailable! HELP:apple:
     

Share This Page