2.66 Quad vs 2.26 Octo, usage behavior and which best?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by carlosgavina, Aug 23, 2009.

1. carlosgavina macrumors newbie

I know, there are a lot of reviews etc. for this, but just wanted to add my two cents on the case, and I would like to know your opinions about this :rolleyes:

Although the 2.66Ghz Quad (2009) performs better on the majority photo editing software than the 2.26Ghz octo, in the end doesn't it depends on the workflow of each user?

I'm leaned to buy the 2.26Ghz, 16Gb Ram, 3Tb Disks and the Radeon Graphic Card, over the 2.66Ghz Quad beast, although most I do is Photoshop and Aperture.. BUT, i'm a web and graphic designer myself and a wannabe film director (cof cof) and sometimes 3D almost-artist, and i have photography as a hobby, and I always have like a million programs opened at the same time, like: Photoshop doing the Design, at the same time Aperture for the last import from the camera, Coda for the programing, Safari with lots of tabs, Adium, Illustrator for some vect.

And when doing video: Premiere (although i'm watching to learn final cut, and the price makes it a great deal), After Effects and Logic 8 for some audio at the same time.

I think more cores in these cases are better than the clock speed? Almost all the benchmarks and tests that are made, the machine its tested only with the program they are testing opened and maybe safari, finder or iTunes at most.

But for intensive multi-software worlflow isn't better more cores?

What do you think?

thanks in advance :p
    Carlos Gavina

2. nightfly13 macrumors 6502a

nightfly13

I'm inclined to agree with you. More cores > faster clock speed for most jobs. There are some intensive apps that are only written to use one core, and there you'll suffer a bit from clock speed. Snow Leopard is supposed enable most Apple OS-level apps to be 'multi-core aware' and definitely that's the way the market is working.