2 person using Mac Pro at the same time?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Neptunian, Feb 24, 2008.

  1. Neptunian macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2006
    Location:
    Malaysia
    #1
    I'm looking for a computer that can let 2 users doing 2 different work at the same time. Which means, I want to have 2 displays with 2 keyboards and 2 mice connected to the same CPU, but doing different thing. Is it possible to do this on a mac pro running on Mac OS X Leopard? Hope you understand my question...

    "Example: I have 2 displays with 2 keyboards and 2 mice connected to a Mac Pro. User A will use one of the display, keyboard and mouse to edit photos, while user B will use the other display, keyboard and mouse on a different work (e.g. surfing Net)."

    What else should I need in order to do this. Additional hardware or software? Hope someone can help me. thanks a lot in advance....
     
  2. Cromulent macrumors 603

    Cromulent

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    The Land of Hope and Glory
    #2
    Why don't you just use the Mac Pro as a server and let a couple of Mac Minis netboot from it? Would probably be a damn sight easier to setup.
     
  3. Doktag macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    #3
    What you have described is basically impossible, on any system.

    Why do you want to do this?
     
  4. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #4
    As far as I know OS X will only accept input from one mouse at a time… sure, you could hook up more than one, but you would still only be able to use one.
     
  5. Macaugweilo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Macau
    #5
    Should be possible!

    I know what you are trying to do, I want to do the same for my new Mac Pro.
    I am new to Mac, the pro is my first. But, I think you will not find a way to do this where you can just run 2 KVM's from one computer.

    I have used this setup for years in my office on windows to get multiple users on the same server. The trick is you will have to have two low powered clients like the previous post mentioned using two Mac minis.

    REMOTE DESKTOP! Wow, that was easy, up to 3 users can run unique sessions on any Windows server, and it is free and included in W2K W2K3 server.

    We use this as all our rack mounted servers are sharing one KVM console, we can get multiple sessions running from our XP laptops to the server just by starting Windows Remote Connection.

    Does Mac OSX not have such a solution?
     
  6. 65StangBoy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    #6
    Unfortunately, OSX isn't a multi-user OS unlike the Windows server OS's.
     
  7. rtrt, Feb 24, 2008
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2011
  8. Cromulent macrumors 603

    Cromulent

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    The Land of Hope and Glory
    #8
    Err, yes it is. It is UNIX which was the original multi-user OS.
     
  9. dgdosen macrumors 65816

    dgdosen

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Location:
    Seattle
    #9
    What software can take advantage of it?

    There's Parallels, VMWare Fusion and Virtual PC for the mac to allow you to run other Windows VMs

    On the PC side, you have VMWare Workstation, Virtual PC and Virtual Server that allow you to run Windows or Linux VMs...

    Just no Mac - I wish you could, as I think there'd be a market for it! Think of the additional licensing fees Apple could generate. Somebody should tell Steve to get on it.
     
  10. Cromulent macrumors 603

    Cromulent

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    The Land of Hope and Glory
    #10
    I have no idea what you are talking about. None of that software you mentioned has anything to do with "taking advantage of a multi-user OS". A multi-user OS (as the name implies) is an operating system that allows more than one user to login and use the computer at the same time (normally via SSH or whatever).

    The software you mentioned above are just virtual machines to run another OS inside of the host OS.
     
  11. aaronw1986 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #11
    I agree, I was very confused by the previous post also.
     
  12. Cabbit macrumors 68020

    Cabbit

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland
    #12
    A mac pro can do this however you would need Solaris as it is the only Unix OS i know that easily supports this. I would think that somewhere in OSX this would be possible but it dose not seem to be enabled for end users.
     
  13. 65StangBoy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    #13
    Sorry, I guess I should have specified. There's no multi user support for the GUI. You can't have multiple ARD users connected to one machine without them all seeing the same thing, unlike Terminal Services in the Windows world. Of course there's multi user support via SSH but thats not what the OP had in mind.
     
  14. ChrisA macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, California
    #14
    What!!??

    We do this routinely on a large scale. One system I worked on back in the early 1980's had over 200 displays connected to it. Yes 200 uesrs all doing unrelated work on the same computer. Then along came the IBM PC and at only about $3500 it was cheap enough the one person could own an entire computers. Of course it was slow as all getout.

    Today, they are still building those mainframe machines but they are also building smaller machines too.

    Macs Run UNIX. UNIX dates from the late 1960's but really came of age in the 70's. Back then NOONE had their own machine. UNIX was designed from the ground up to allow a single machine to be shared between many users. This is partially why the security model is so good. UNIX was not designed to "keep others out" but to allow them on and keep all the users isolated.
     
  15. Cromulent macrumors 603

    Cromulent

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    The Land of Hope and Glory
    #15
    It has X11 which is a multi-user GUI.
     
  16. 4JNA macrumors 68000

    4JNA

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Location:
    looking for trash files
    #16
    windows, yes. HERE is a cheap/easy way to do that very thing. More expensive, but HERE they send you everything you need in one package. they should call it the 'BSOD quad package'. :p

    OS X, no. or at least not yet. beta/pre-release HERE, but you could at least try the demo. you would still need a second machine to use as the 'thin client' part, so don't know how cost effective this would be for only 2 users.

    best of luck.
     
  17. Macaugweilo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Macau
    #17
    Great!

    4JNA hit the nail on the head here with this Aqua Connect. This is what I want for my new Mac Pro. This would allow the graphics designer who all sets at a Windows XP client to answer their email, surf the web, play mine sweeper :), to just open Aqua. Then then they could run Painter, Maya, PageMaker, or whatever other Mac app they need. This would eliminate the need for a XP PC on one side of the desk, and a Mac on the other side of the desk.
     
  18. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #18
    But of course, for any professional graphics work, performance would suck, defeating the purpose.
     
  19. 4JNA macrumors 68000

    4JNA

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Location:
    looking for trash files
    #19
    forget'about'it. yo, really!


    forget professional, 'ANY' graphics work would suck. don't know if anyone has used a terminal server client, but anything other that email/basic internet is a total loss. really. even windows media crap won't work, much less 3d stuff or adobe stuff. really. no, REALLY! don't even thing about it. :eek:

    basic desktop, email, non-flash internet, no graphics, not even a good game of solitaire... you get the idea. and this is the 'best case'.
     
  20. greenmeanie macrumors 6502a

    greenmeanie

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Location:
    CT
    #20
    They where doing this with terminals on a imsai 8080 LOL


     
  21. Kosh66 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    #21

    Actually Macs run MacOS X, which is based on Unix. MacOS X doesn't have all the features of Unix.

    I know what you're talking about, I worked on a small Unix server in University, with several terminals hooked to it, but a Mac is not that. It probably could be a Unix server, if you install Unix of some sort, but you still need terminals, and in todays world, I doubt you'll find terminals like the old days, you'll probably have to use a smaller computer. Even at work, with the mainframe, which is a real multi-user system, we use computers and a terminal emulation software.

    You can do something similar to multi-users on the MacOS, but it's strictly one user at a time.
     
  22. Cromulent macrumors 603

    Cromulent

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    The Land of Hope and Glory
    #22
    Mac OS X Leopard is fully compliant with the UNIX specification. Therefore it is UNIX.

    Which features do you think Mac OS X is lacking that other UNIX systems have?

    You can run dumb terminals off Mac OS X Server using Net Boot, which is just Apples name for the PXE protocol.

    Taken from Apple.com

    Incorrect. Mac OS X is a fully multi-user enabled operating system. Supporting simultaneous users on the same computer.
     
  23. Mr. Zarniwoop macrumors demi-god

    Mr. Zarniwoop

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    #23
    Multiuser Mac OS X

    I've played with this using a VNC solution. Here's some background of how to set it up:

    Multiple Desktop Sessions on Mac OS X

    Some caveats:
    • Sound... audio isn't sent over VNC so the "primary" user hears any sounds generated by VNC users
    • Different desktop sizes seem to screw up the "primary" user
    • Keyboard state can often be a PITA... if the "primary" user is holding Shift, for example, depending on the application, the VNC users all unintentionally are holding Shift down too!
    More tips with techniques targeted at MYOB, but helpful if you're seriously going to try working this way:

    Running Same Application Multi-User on Mac OS X
     
  24. cw2k7 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    #24
  25. saltyzoo macrumors 65816

    saltyzoo

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    #25
    The amount of inaccurate statements in this thread is reaching epic proportions. I think there are more posts that are incorrect than there are correct.

    I'm going to stick to correcting just one.

    Wrong. OSX is built on Unix. It has all the standard features of unix plus the OSX GUI on top of that.

    You can connect terminals to a mac, but then the question becomes "why". An X11 terminal isn't cheap, and unless you are running X11 applications you aren't going to be able do what you want anyway. The OSX GUI is not multi-user.

    OSX on the other hand IS multi-user. You can connect to it as multiple users via ssh, X11, HTTP, etc. It is only the OSX GUI that is not multi-user.

    I think this is eluding to the fact that you can "switch" users on OSX. You can start up programs as one user, and switch to another user and leave those applications running and doing their jobs, while you do other work on the second user. However, you cannot interactively use the GUI with two users at the same time.
     

Share This Page