2 QUestions

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by cowman007, May 5, 2007.

  1. cowman007 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    #1
    1) HOw to i maximize my windows in Mac osx so that they are displayed at fullscreen. Everytime i hit the green button it just adjusts the window. On windows if i hit the maximize button then the window is displayed at fullscreen.

    2) ok i officially hate Pcs and im a little nervous about getting a mac. I was looking through my Futureshop catalog this weekend and saw this computer.

    http://www.futureshop.ca/catalog/pr...665000FS10086429&catid=10607&logon=&langid=EN

    now the iMac which im interested in is the 17inch model with the superdrive. This PC however has double the RAM and more Hardrive space for 100 bucks less. So im just wondering. Is there some catch to these pcs which futureshop is selling or have they just gotten cheaper? Im honestly considering WIndows Vista now because of this. Somebody help me out!!!!!!!
     
  2. Jasonbot macrumors 68020

    Jasonbot

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Rainbow Nation RSA
    #2
    1. hit the green once and the window goes small. hit it again and the window gets bigger, use the lined thingy in the bottom right to resize it as big as you want.
    >edit: In fact, I don't really use the green buttons. they seem to adjust windows somehow. Just stick with the resizer in teh bottom right.w


    2. That PC comes with no screen, it's not an all in one unit, it's fugly, it's an HP, its not a mac and it doesn't run OS X. Is that enough?
     
  3. j26 macrumors 65832

    j26

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Location:
    Paddyland
    #3
    1. That's the way OSX works it resizes windows to what it believes are appropriate, rather than full screening. Some like this feature, some don't, but its just the way it is with OSX. FWIW you get used to it pretty quickly and it is handier for dragging and dropping.

    2. iMacs have been on the market a fair time with the same configuration, and are due an update, so they don't represent quite as good value as they did when released. You are also paying for styling. However, the one you linked to doesn't have a monitor, so you'd have to budget for that too.
     
  4. cowman007 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    #4


    I have to resize my windows to do this????? HOw come it doesn't go full screen with the maximize option like it does in windows. This is definatly odd
     
  5. sk3pt1c macrumors 6502a

    sk3pt1c

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Location:
    a simulacrum
    #5
    it is how OS X works, not maximizing windows
    and trust me, it is a lot better that way!
    when you have a monitor with an insane resolution, you hardly ever need to go full screen and it's always handier to have a few windows lying around there...
    don't let that detter you from getting a mac
    and as far as the price is concerned, yes, macs may be a bit more expensive, but you get what you pay for dude, hassle free enjoyment! ;)
    i've had my powerbook for over a year now and am never going back to windows and pcs, EVER! :D
     
  6. gr8tfly macrumors 603

    gr8tfly

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    ~119W 34N
    #6
    It toggles between optimized (for content) and whatever your last resize was.
     
  7. Eric5h5 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    #7
    'Cause OS X ain't Windows. ;) I suppose it's a matter of taste, but really, there's no need....

    --Eric
     
  8. M@lew macrumors 68000

    M@lew

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #8
    OS X doesn't maximise windows to fill up your screen because I think it was designed so you can work with different windows open and quickly switch between them. ala Exposé
     
  9. iHerzeleid macrumors 6502a

    iHerzeleid

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    #9
    1. Macs have had that feature since the early days of the Lisa..

    2. OK. If you think that warrants using Windows Vista then by all means go ahead and get it.
     
  10. lamina macrumors 68000

    lamina

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Location:
    From Canada, living in Seoul
    #10
    Why would you want to maximize a window to be larger than it needs to be?
    Have you ever maximized in Windows on cnn.com? See all that white space to the right? There's no need for it.
     
  11. Cameront9 macrumors 6502a

    Cameront9

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #11
    As someone who used to have their browser maximized at all times on the Windows PC, I can say that it is very likely with OS X you will stop maximizing windows and wonder how the hell you ever did that. I can't use a windows machine with the windows maximized now--I feel boxed in and claustrophobic. OS X forces you to learn to use the window at the size it is needed, and that's a good thing.
     

Share This Page