$20 paypaled for getting me up and running

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by XeroZeus, Oct 28, 2014.

1. XeroZeus macrumors newbie

Hello forum,

I hadn't used my Macbook Pro in over 5 months until the other evening. I opened it up and went to boot it up and the Apple screen came up with a loading bar. As you all know, the loading bar filled up and the computer restarted. I am NOT very tech savvy when it comes to Apple products, but would like for someone patient to guide me through getting my cpu back up and running. I have searched the forums and found a lot of people that have encountered this error, but would like someone to specifically help me get back up and running.

So far:

I have started in safe mode and attempted to run disk utility. I am unable to restore the system. I want to determine if there are any files that I can salvage on the computer before replacing the hard drive - even though I don't know that the hard drive is the problem. Can I do this by purchasing a firewire and connecting it from my mbp to my mba and browsing it?

Thanks for the patience...

2. bmac89 macrumors 6502a

bmac89

I'm not sure that I can help, but I think connecting with firewire and using target mode you should be able to view files - however I have never tried it.

Another possible option is to boot from an OSX install CD and use disk utility to fix or backup drive. Or install OSX onto an external hard drive and then boot from the external drive and see if you can access the files that way - but this may be a bit fiddly and not lead to any solution.

Sorry I can't really be of help - hopefully someone with more experience can guide you to a solution.

3. Jessica Lares macrumors G3

Jessica Lares

4. XeroZeus thread starter macrumors newbie