$2000 for MBP "Now" or "Now & Future"?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by mrgiapanta, Apr 18, 2010.

1. mrgiapanta macrumors regular

$2000 for MBP "Now" or "Now & Future"?

I'm still debating whether I should spend:

Option "NOW"
    $2000 on 15" MBP i5 Hi-Rez Matt right now ($1834 to be exact. with Student discount & no tax)

or

Option "NOW & FUTURE"
    Spend
    $1099 on low end 13" MBP C2D (student discount & no tax)
    and assuming future 13"MBP will be similar price, add couple hundred dollars to buy Future non-existing 13"MBP.

Reasons I want 15" i5 are faster processor and Hi-Rez Antiglare Screen many people are praising about on MacForum.

Although 13" C2D is not as fast as i5 nor doesn't give Hi-Rez Antiglare option, it's faster than PowerBook G4 that I have been using for past 7 years, and cost much less.

Which one would you pick?
    Faster Speed & Beautiful 15" Screen for $2000 and stick with it for next 5 years?

or

Not too slow but way cheaper 13" okay glossy screen for $1099 and upgrade to similar price machine in the near future?

========================
    Update: thanx guys for great inputs.
    My minds are pretty much set now to base 13" MBP
    It's amazing how I thought about spending over $2500 on i7 15" at one point and
    now i feel like I'm saving about $1500 for my future notebook.

========================
    Update 2
    This morning I went to Apple Store and purchased my 13" MBP!
    To avoid the temptation of crave for Hi-Rez Antiglare i7 15inch,
    I went straight to 13"MBP played with it for a while and purchased it.

I used 15 inch Powerbook G4 for 7 years, and was afraid 13 inch screen would feel small
    but it didn't feel small to me at all. Glossy Screen is not so glossy than i thought either.

Love this beautiful machine :) Thanx Steve

2. spinnerlys Guest

spinnerlys

As always, what are your needs?