2006/2007 Mac Pro (1,1/2,1) and OS X El Capitan

Discussion in 'OS X El Capitan (10.11)' started by Mr. Zarniwoop, Jun 8, 2015.

  1. SuperMatt macrumors 6502a

    SuperMatt

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2002
    #3776
    I tried replacing all the updated files in the /System/Library/Extensions folder with the old ones. Now I cannot even select the updated El Cap disk in the Startup Disk prefpane. It just freezes until I select another startup disk. Maybe it's time to take a break and let the more experienced hackers give it a go...
     
  2. Adesz88 macrumors newbie

    Adesz88

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2017
    Location:
    Hungary
    #3777
    I can't boot into safe and single user mode.
    The last string in verbose mode is appleintelcpupowermanagement: enabling
     
  3. Morpheo, Jan 23, 2018
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2018

    Morpheo macrumors 65816

    Morpheo

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2014
    Location:
    Paris/Montreal
    #3778
    I have an "Apple" ATI 5770 in my 1,1/2,1 and I have the boot loop as well. At first I thought the update messed with boot.efi, so I put the drive in my 5,1 and made sure I had the right files. No success, I'm still having a boot loop.
    --- Post Merged, Jan 23, 2018 ---
    The boot.efi was modified at the time I applied the update. I noticed the new modification date when I copied the "original" from Pike. Still same file size though.Replacing the boot.efi however didn't have any effect as I said above.
     
  4. owbp macrumors 6502a

    owbp

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2016
    Location:
    Belgrade, Serbia
  5. waynito, Jan 23, 2018
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2018

    waynito macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2018
    Location:
    California
    #3780
    I have a Mac Pro 1,1/2.1 with graphics card, 5770 and
    2 x 2.66 GHz Quad-Core, Running El Capitan using boot fixes from this forum. The recent large update, supposedly for Safari crashed my system causing serial failed reboots and chimes. Time machine restore from yesterday fixed it. I guess I must turn off updates for a while, if not permanently. I love the old aluminum chassis. Is there a later one to buy which will take the latest systems without all of the hacking?
     
  6. SuperMatt macrumors 6502a

    SuperMatt

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2002
    #3781
    I wonder if this is a problem on all systems with El Cap then? Perhaps an error in the security update on Apple’s part?
     
  7. Morpheo macrumors 65816

    Morpheo

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2014
    Location:
    Paris/Montreal
    #3782
    I'm afraid to install this update on my 5,1 now thank you very much ;)
     
  8. ppinter1, Jan 23, 2018
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2018

    ppinter1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    #3783
    Ack! Today's Security Update 2018-001 caused my pikified MacPro 1,1 to go into a bootloop.

    So, I restored from yesterday's TM backup, installed Boot64 and did the update again.

    No Joy: still stuck in a bootloop.

    I'll restore from TM again, disable all Software Updates and watch this thread for ideas.

    Good luck all!
     
  9. SuperMatt macrumors 6502a

    SuperMatt

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2002
    #3784
    OK so I looked in the receipts directory and it looks like a firmware update and a gatekeeper config data update happened along with the security update. But considering I can still boot my machine off another hard drive, the firmware update must not have done anything?
     
  10. hwojtek macrumors 65816

    hwojtek

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Poznan, Poland
    #3785
    Seems an in-place reinstall from might be the only way to go.
    Hmmm - the 1,1 and 2,1 are unable to run El Cap, so I wonder why would Apple include a firmware update for these machines in the El Cap package?

    Mine were exactly the same and untouched, including the date I originally installed El Cap on my machine.
     
  11. RalphATHome macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2014
    #3786
     

    Attached Files:

  12. SuperMatt macrumors 6502a

    SuperMatt

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2002
    #3787
    I replaced the following modified files with old ones from my bootable, pre-update clone:

    /System/Library/Extensions/
    IOPCIFamily
    System
    AppleBacklightExpert
    AudioAUUC
    IOGraphicsFamily
    IONDRVSupport

    /System/Library/PrelinkedKernels/
    prelinkedkernel

    No dice - still a boot loop. Wonder which file(s) I'm missing. There were a whole bunch of changed files in the CoreServices folder, but I figured those wouldn't cause the problem. Maybe I'm wrong. Also it shows changes in some other folders but I can't find modified files within those folders...
    --- Post Merged, Jan 23, 2018 ---
    Same for me
     
  13. Adesz88 macrumors newbie

    Adesz88

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2017
    Location:
    Hungary
    #3788
  14. SuperMatt macrumors 6502a

    SuperMatt

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2002
    #3789
    No wonder this update nukes our hacked installs. I guess the best way to recover all my data is to just take my user directory from my currently toasted boot drive and copy it over to the weeks-old clone. Or I could try taking the entire System folder and copy it from my clone to the toasted boot drive....
     
  15. jbarley macrumors 68040

    jbarley

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    #3790
    Sure wish I'd checked this thread before applying this update.:(
    boot-boot-boot!
    Glad I keep current CCC clones.:)
     
  16. djeeyore25 macrumors 6502

    djeeyore25

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2014
    Location:
    New York City
    #3791
    Boot loop for me as well, running El Capitan on a Mac Pro 1,1. Frustrating!
     
  17. the bug macrumors regular

    the bug

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2014
    #3792
    Wow, I'm glad I checked here first before running this, thanks for taking one for the team guys (and sorry for the grief it caused you) !

    I hit the link that says "more..." next to the description of the complete update, then it revealed the 3 separate updates for iTunes, Safari, and the 2018-001 update itself.

    Then I could control-click in the text next to the 2018-001 update description, and select "hide update".
    I don't have anything set to auto update in the app store prefs, so maybe that saves me. Fingers crossed anyway.

    I ended up installing the iTunes and safari updates one by one separately, without hitting the "update all" button.

    Both Safari and iTunes seem to be working fine, as is the rest of the system after shutting down and rebooting to test (so far anyway, crossed fingers).

    Just figured I'd let you guys know that the new versions of Safari, and iTunes don't seem to be dependent on anything included in the security update.

    - Jay
     
  18. jbarley macrumors 68040

    jbarley

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    #3793
    Apples sending us a message...
    "told ya so":apple:
     
  19. zedoc macrumors newbie

    zedoc

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2016
    #3794
    Bootloop here too with macpro 2,1 and 8800GT...
    Tried updating with appstore.
    Clone restored....
    Hope we will find a solution.
     
  20. hwojtek macrumors 65816

    hwojtek

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Poznan, Poland
    #3795
    Well, for those who didn't install yet, it's here: #3792

    For those who did... I will be trying to revive by re-installing El Capitan over the currently dead system.
     
  21. the bug macrumors regular

    the bug

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2014
    #3796
    @zedoc
    Well, if this article from Intel is correct :
    https://security-center.intel.com/advisory.aspx?intelid=INTEL-SA-00088&languageid=en-fr

    It says that the X5100 and X5300 Xeon's in the MacPro 1,1/2,1's, don't seem to be included in this "meltdown" fiasco.
    If that is in fact true, then I think we can safely skip this update, and just hide the 2018-001 entry in the app store as I said above.

    Apple doesn't support the chips in our old machines running 10.11, so the app store tries to push it to all systems running 10.11, even though we don't need it and it will donk our systems.

    Hopefully somebody will correct me if I'm wrong, but that's the way I read it. YMMV.

    - Jay
     
  22. jbarley macrumors 68040

    jbarley

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    #3797
    The Carbon Copy clone I made just prior to applying the update and borking my system, had me back up and running in less then 15 minutes.
     
  23. pva_glue macrumors newbie

    pva_glue

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2018
    Location:
    Perth
    #3798
    Thank you for all the hard work you guys.

    I successfullygot my 2,1 updated to OSX el capitan.

    by the way Does anyone able to tell me how to flash PC graphics card to MAC?
    it only shows as ATI Radean HD 5000... (bought it cheap like $50, only problem is I cant see startup screens)


    thank you.
     

    Attached Files:

  24. rthpjm macrumors 6502a

    rthpjm

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Location:
    U.K.
    #3799
    Hello everyone

    Unfortunately I’m away from home until the weekend which means I can’t help at the moment. I’ll take a deep look when I get back.

    From the reports already posted I don’t hold out much hope. So the best advice I’ve seen is to choose NOT to install this latest security update, and hide it in the App Store to prevent temptation.
     
  25. pva_glue macrumors newbie

    pva_glue

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2018
    Location:
    Perth
    #3800
    forget that.

    My Mac pro keep restarting with chime... loop after security update from MAC :(

    I should not have updated it F&*K :(

    back to 10.7.5 try again.

    any better solutions?
     

Share This Page