2006/2007 Mac Pro (1,1/2,1) and OS X El Capitan

Discussion in 'OS X El Capitan (10.11)' started by Mr. Zarniwoop, Jun 8, 2015.

  1. Sodawater macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2015
    Location:
    Long Beach, Ca
    #1251
    Hey Guys,
    First I'd like to thank all those, who are obviously more gifted than I am in this filed, for their dedication and work on presenting us all with a road map to bring our "outdated"(?) machines into the "Now". I'm a noob but learning more each hour, so bear with me. I've started reading all the post before I jumped in and attempted to install El Capitan on my MP 1,1 which is still running Lion. So, I followed the steps using a 2015 MBP, firewire to Thunderbolt, etc., and got El Capitan loaded on the MP's drive, but the problem I'm having is replacing the boot.efi's.
    1.) When I down load Piker's efi it comes in as boot-2.efi, is that correct?
    2.) When I try to replace the original efi with Piker's efi, by dragging, I get the circle with the diagonal line through it, i.e. NO BUENO.
    3.) When I try removing the original efi I get the message: “boot.efi” can’t be modified or deleted because it’s required by OS X.

    Reading through the post it seems fairly straight forward and comprehensible, but I'm stuck on stupid I guess. Any clarification and/or direction is greatly appreciated.
     
  2. MacRumourNic macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    #1252
    Follow the instructions in post 1229 to unlock the boot.efi files, then replace them with Pike's version and rename them if necessary. They must be called boot.efi !!
     
  3. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #1253
    For those who don't care about SIP.
    Disable it before installing the package.
    Packages contain boot.efi v3.1 DL'd from Pike's website and updated launch daemon.
    Click "Install anyway". Rest is the same as with PikeYoseFix.
    Report back if it does work for you.

    With deep bow to Pike.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Morpheo macrumors 65816

    Morpheo

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2014
    Location:
    Paris/Montreal
    #1254
    Meaning this new script will always take care of the boot.efi with future OS updates, as did PikeYoseFix for Yosemite?
     
  5. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #1255
    Morpheo: It will. As long as you won't enable SIP back or OS update won't do it.
     
  6. xabierot macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    #1256
    Anybody has problems with FaceTime ?. Try to connect but then it closes.
     
  7. JOSECBA macrumors member

    JOSECBA

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2015
    #1257
    YES I DO .... ALWAYS ....
    FACE TIME DONT WORK ANY MORE......
    (Im on MAC PRO 1.1 with EL CAPITAN 10.11 (with out UPDATE, my MAC don't BOOT any more with 10.11.1 and 3.1 refi)
     
  8. JOSECBA, Nov 12, 2015
    Last edited: Nov 12, 2015

    JOSECBA macrumors member

    JOSECBA

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2015
    #1258
    How Can I disable SIP ????
    Im on MAC PRO with out a MAC GRAPHIC CARD... I can't choose any options to boot ....
    I have a BLACK SCREEN until EL CAPITAN SHOWS.
    I read that I have to boot OS X into Recovery Mode....

    Any other way to do it ?

    1. Reboot the Mac and hold down Command + R keys simultaneously after you hear the startup chime, this will boot OS X into Recovery Mode
    2. When the “OS X Utilities” screen appears, pull down the ‘Utilities’ menu at the top of the screen instead, and choose “Terminal”
    3. Type the following command into the terminal then hit return:
      csrutil disable; reboot
    4. You’ll see a message saying that System Integrity Protection has been disabled and the Mac needs to restart for changes to take effect, and the Mac will then reboot itself automatically, just let it boot up as normal
    You can also issue the command by itself without the automatic reboot like so:

    csrutil disable
     
  9. Morpheo macrumors 65816

    Morpheo

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2014
    Location:
    Paris/Montreal
    #1259
    Great. tx :cool:
     
  10. Morpheo macrumors 65816

    Morpheo

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2014
    Location:
    Paris/Montreal
    #1260
    I wish I could give you an answer but I have no idea how to do this without a boot screen, sorry. Maybe others can help.
     
  11. JOSECBA macrumors member

    JOSECBA

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2015
    #1261
    Thanks
     
  12. JOSECBA macrumors member

    JOSECBA

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2015
    #1262
    Another Question:
    The recovery partition BOOT with out change the original BOOT.EFI ? on the old MAC PRO 1.1
     
  13. Vicromono macrumors member

    Vicromono

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2015
    Location:
    Oregon
    #1263
    Quick question, what are the benefits to upgrading to 10.11.1 from 10.7.5 besides using better video cards?
     
  14. the bug macrumors member

    the bug

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2014
    #1264
    FaceTime hasn't worked since I've installed ElCap on my 1,1 with Pike's boot.efi either.
    If I boot into my Yosemite partition, that version (3.0) works like a champ.

    Here is the error I'm getting in the console with FaceTime (also ver. 3.0) on ElCap.

    Strangely, they both show as version 3.0, but are different sizes, and the Yosemite version won't even launch under ElCap.
    Just curious what others are getting in the FaceTime crash log.

    - Jay

    Code:
    Crashed Thread:        28  com.apple.gamekitservices.soundplayer.recvproc
    
    Exception Type:        EXC_BAD_INSTRUCTION (SIGILL)
    Exception Codes:       0x0000000000000001, 0x0000000000000000
    Exception Note:        EXC_CORPSE_NOTIFY
    
     
  15. OGNerd macrumors member

    OGNerd

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2015
    #1265
    No it will not boot, as the boot.efi on the unmodified recovery partition is 64-bit.
     
  16. JOSECBA macrumors member

    JOSECBA

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2015
    #1266
    Thank You
     
  17. OGNerd macrumors member

    OGNerd

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2015
    #1267
    Command+R will work as long as you have a single recovery partition.
     
  18. JOSECBA macrumors member

    JOSECBA

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2015
    #1268
    Thank you, but my recovery dont have the right boot.efi..... Anda will not boot....
     
  19. charlan7 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    #1269
    And why you don't put the right boot.efi into your boot partition?
     
  20. sumer macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2015
    Location:
    Toronto
    #1270
    Anyone know how to get graphics acceleration with my AMD HD7750? In Yosemite it worked fine but the kext had to be modified however the same kext doesn't have any acceleration in El Capitan. I disabled SIP to install it but no change.

    I don't want to buy a new GPU any help would be appreciated.

    Thanks
     
  21. Techchallenged1 macrumors newbie

    Techchallenged1

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2015
    #1271
    I am a long time guest and have finally signed up. I felt so compelled to do so due to this fantastic thread. I have a Mac Pro 1,1(flashed to 2,1). I have done the usual things with this Mac Pro, upgraded the CPU's to 2 quad core 2.66 and have 24gb of Ram, Radeon HD6870 and an SSD.

    I had tried other methods of installing Yosemite with SFOTT and Chameleon with success. But using Pike-Alpha's boot efi and installing from a El-Capitan Mac book air has been the simplest and best method so far. A huge thank you to Pike-Alpha and Tiamo for all their efforts and all of the forum members here. My 2006 Macpro lives on when I was about to give it up for something newer. I have no other need to go to a new machine other then having work around the issues of the new OS's.
    So thank you all.
    Techchallenged1
     

    Attached Files:

  22. Techchallenged1 macrumors newbie

    Techchallenged1

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2015
    #1272
    One question I have is if I want to show the correct card identifier in about this mac do I need to flash the HD6870 card? I know I have to do that for the boot screen but was not sure about the identifier.
    Regards
    Tech
     
  23. Morpheo macrumors 65816

    Morpheo

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2014
    Location:
    Paris/Montreal
    #1273
    In El Capitan, open your terminal and type:

    $ diskutil list
    (This will show you all your drives and partitions, locate your Recovery HD - mine is disk1s3 for instance, yours might be different)

    $ diskutil mount disk1s3
    (you'll see your Recovery HD appear on the desktop - open it and then open the com.apple.recovery.boot folder, replace the boot.efi)

    ...restart your Mac with Command-R.
     
  24. JOSECBA macrumors member

    JOSECBA

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2015
  25. JOSECBA macrumors member

    JOSECBA

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2015
    #1275
    thank you !!!!
     

Share This Page