2006 Macbook Core Duo 2ghz upgrades

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by Zenara25, Jan 18, 2012.

  1. Zenara25 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    #1
    I'm trying to keep my old 13" 2006 Core Duo (not Core 2 Duo) 2ghz Macbook a little longer. Have 3 questions.

    I'm currently running Snow Leopard. Can't upgrade to Lion right?

    Upgraded my Ram to 2gb a few years ago. Is this the max?

    Currently running a 320gb Seagate Momentus 7200rpm 16mb cache 3gb/s.
    Can I upgrade to the new Seagate Hybrid drive with 750gb 7200rpm 32mb cache 6gb/s sata?
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    No, as Lion needs a Core 2 Duo CPU.

    Yes.

    Yes, if the maximum height is 9.5 mm.
     
  3. Zenara25, Jan 18, 2012
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2012

    Zenara25 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    #3
    Thank you simsaladimbamba for your fast answers:)

    The good thing about the hard drive upgrade is if I do replace my Macbook this year I can probably use the upgraded Seagate Hybrid drive ST750LX003 in the new Macbook Pro.
     
  4. thekev macrumors 604

    thekev

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    #4
    On an older machine, you shouldn't upgrade to Lion even if you can force it to do so. It's quite ram hungry, and it has other issues. Note that a lot of people have gone back to SL. Inability to upgrade to Lion shouldn't be a factor in how much longer you keep the machine unless you require it to install a current software generation. Most software developers have maintained compatibility with Snow Leopard so far, so you're probably fine.
     
  5. Mr. Retrofire macrumors 601

    Mr. Retrofire

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Location:
    www.emiliana.cl/en
    #5
    Not on this machine, right.

    Probably not. Check it here:
    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?p=14130876#post14130876
    (Yeah, i know what everymac.com says.)

    Probably not:
    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?p=14059189#post14059189

    If you have only SATA I (1.5 GBit/s), then you need a SATA II HDD/SSD (SATA III is not backwards compatible with SATA I, AFAIK).

    @thekev:
    True. :)
     
  6. Zenara25, Jan 18, 2012
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2012

    Zenara25 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    #6
    Yes my motherboards max Sata is 1.5gb/s. My current hard drive is downgraded to 1.5gb/s even though the hard drive is capable of 3gb/s.

    I found a thread on Seagate site. It said that the drive auto recognizes the Sata chipset and should be able to go down to 1.5gb/s. There are some chipsets it will not recognize though such as VIA VT8237 Southbridge.

    Is this the chipset in my Macbook 'Intel ICH7-M AHCI'? That's what I found in system profiles under Serial-ATA.
     
  7. Zenara25, Jan 19, 2012
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2012

    Zenara25 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    #7
    Well I got the Seagate Hybrid 750gb drive ST750LX003 today. And I installed it in my Macbook. Booted from my old drive in an external enclosure into my OS. I then formated the new hard drive. So my Macbook recognizes the hard drive :) Using Carbon Copy Cloner to clone my old drive to the new. I think this will take a few hours as I have about 140gb on there. Will update when I've tested the new drive (actually booting from it).

    Update:
    Seems to be working fine so far. Actual boot up time is 5 seconds faster (was 35sec, now 30sec) . I'm sure on a newer motherboard with sata 3gb/s or 6gb/s it would be an even better improvement. No issues at this point :)
     
  8. P.O.711 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2012
    #8
    Trying out the same

    Hi, Thank You For this thread and following up. I read this and decided to do the same. I bought the same exact drive.

    I wanted to ask you though, how is yours still holding up?

    I'll let you know how it goes with mine. Thanks Again.
     

Share This Page