Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

MacCheese101

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 31, 2024
Germany
Hi,

I am new to Max Pro’s and this forum.
I bought a 2009 MacPro used, 3,33 GHz, 2x6 cores and 48GB RAM. I am looking forward to use my new old Mac, but I am not able right now, unfortunately.

I hope someone here can help with my issue, here’s what happened:

There was no OS installed, so I put in a USB stick with El Capitan and the original graphics card. Before that I was turning the Mac on with the previous user, it seemed to work fine (he had an upgraded graphics card, Monterrey and additional USB C card installed, also Windows).

Installation was smooth, I got El Capitan running. But after 5 Minutes or less a loud noise (fan) popped up it was getting louder and the screen went blank.

I turned the machine off and tried two more times with the same issue. After restarting it was telling there was a problem but it started again fine until the noise issue appeared again.

The motherboard seemed to be warm, not extreme, but there was slight heat at that area. Could it be that the fresh installation made it overheat?

I got OS X El Capitan on a fresh OWC 1 TB SATA in, that’s all. No other partitions.

I hope someone can help me and this issue can be solved, because my budget is a bit strained. I would like to make some music production with Logic Pro X, I need to upgrade the OS also (as far as Monterey would be perfect, or a bit older). Also I have a Saphire graphics cars, which I removed for the fresh installation. I would like to upgrade after I get the Mac running soomthly.

As an alternative I have an 2017 MacBook Air i7 2,2 GHz, only 8 GB RAM and 512 SSD, which is to weak for some plugins.

Thanks so much in advance.

Tom

Last edited:

MacCheese101

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 31, 2024
Germany
I assume it is the Apple graphics card, the noise comes from this card.