2009 Mac Pro Case Design

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by bradleykavin, Feb 4, 2009.

  1. bradleykavin macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    #1
    I am trying to search through here to find prototypes and pictures of possible case re-designs. How about we use this thread entirely for that, as a lot of people i would assume really are interested in how this babys going to look. post your pictures!
     
  2. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #2
    How about we use mine? ;) All prototypes in the thread are linked to in the first post.

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=635530

    Also, the general consensus is: Why the crap does it NEED a redesign? What is wrong with the current model?
    And, in addition: What the crap would it be redesigned TO?
     
  3. bozz2006 macrumors 68030

    bozz2006

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #3
    nothing wrong with the current design.

    Jon Ive's job is to come up with designs that blow our mind.
     
  4. gamer2502 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Location:
    near Pittsburgh,pa
  5. pprior macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    #5
    What, are you kidding?

    How about being able to use all the SATA ports the mb has and install more than 4 hard disks in a workstation class machine to start.

    that alone is enough for a redesign (at least internally) - we need to be able to put 6-8 drives into the machine.

    Aesthetically, I'm happy with it.
     
  6. dissdnt macrumors 65816

    dissdnt

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
  7. gibbz macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
  8. Vulcan macrumors 65816

    Vulcan

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
  9. Twilight Elk macrumors regular

    Twilight Elk

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Location:
    Arizona
    #9
    That design would make me want a Mac Pro :p
     
  10. inigel macrumors regular

    inigel

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    Location:
    Australia
    #10
    They won't use slot-loading drives in the Mac Pro cause everyone will have a b!tch about there Blu-ray drives not working.

    Bring on the eSATA though!
     
  11. apolloa macrumors G3

    apolloa

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Location:
    Time, because it rules EVERYTHING!
    #11
    Well like it or not, if the Mac Mini is also updated with aluminium and black the the Mac Pro will be the only machine that isn't in the entire range. So I would fully expect the case to be redesigned in some way. Not sure if you need 8 HDD's though, I mean you can get 2 TB drives now.
     
  12. pprior macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    #12
    It's not the size of drive storage, it's RAID ability - this is supposed to be a workstation!

    I too am liking that mockup. eSATA is definitely needed as well as more FW800 ports.
     
  13. Chaywa macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Location:
    Athens, OH
    #13
    Yes we need to do this so we can fry all the internal components in our machines. If you are using that many drives you might want to start thinking about and external solution.
     
  14. wpc33 macrumors 6502

    wpc33

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #14
    I think there are better ways to save space, than using slot-burners. Full-size optical drives sure are big, but there'd need to be significant redesign of the inside, to warrant such a drastic, space-saving venture.
     
  15. Theophany macrumors 6502a

    Theophany

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Location:
    NW London.
    #15
    Personally, I still believe Apple have yet to beat the design of my lovely Power Mac G4, which first appeared on the G3, I think. :)
     
  16. pprior macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    #16
    Fry?

    8 drives at 4-5 watts = 40 watts of heat. How much does a single processor or even better a high end GPU put out.....

    External solution = more space and more noise. no reason we shouldn't be able to get more drives.
     
  17. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #17
    A little more room internally wouldn't hurt. It could certainly use additional HDD sleds, and the Xeon 5500 Series parts would need to have the internals redesigned for it to fit anyway. It happens to help with cooling as well, so this would be a good time to do it. ;)

    And it wouldn't have to be enormous to accommodate all of this. :)
     
  18. PeterQC macrumors 6502a

    PeterQC

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    #18
    Here's my quick mockup based upon MacOSRumors claims.

    Personally, I don't really like it.
     

    Attached Files:

  19. Chaywa macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Location:
    Athens, OH
    #19
    Except MOSR says the handles are gone. Long live the handles!:apple:
     
  20. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #20
    They also say that it will be Beckton, that memory will be FORCED into triad installations, that OS X will get SLI, that there will be two 32x PCIe 2.0 double-wide slots, and four more single wide slots.

    Who will you believe: us pessimists who have been shown to be right (and even too optimistic occasionally) or the insane optimists who have their website automatically refresh every thirty seconds to get more ads?
     
  21. indiochano macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    #21
    i hope they keep the current design as it is...
     
  22. xgman macrumors 601

    xgman

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
  23. xgman macrumors 601

    xgman

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    #23
    I figure if there were a real leak, it would be all over the place, although there are probably a few bits of truth or at least background in a lot of these rumors. Maybe they'll give apple some new ideas.
     
  24. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #24
    That's just what we need...

    Base models that cost $5,000... RAM upgrades that cost a minimum of $500 for three gigabytes at the start...

    Let's hope that Apple only reads macosrumors to laugh until they can't breathe like I do.
     
  25. acurafan macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    #25
    and put some hamsters to run in there, :D
     

Share This Page