2009 MacPro -> 2010 Firmware upgrade Surprise

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by handheldgames, Jul 13, 2011.

  1. handheldgames macrumors 6502a

    handheldgames

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    #1
    Like many 2009 MacPro owners, I took the leap and upgraded my firmware from a 2009 MacPro to the 2010 MacPro: http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,852.0.html

    After upgrading to 10.6.8 a quick check in system profiler revealed the RAM I purchased from OWC wasn't 1066 DDR3 RAM and is actually 1333 DDR 3. My ECC is disabled as I'm running an i7-975 CPU(yes it works flawlessly) along side a Radeon 6870 GPU(thanks to Cindori for the package)...

    Looks like my RAM purchase was future proof after all! :cool:

    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

  2. wonderspark macrumors 68030

    wonderspark

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Location:
    Oregon
    #2
    Wow, cool! I have 4GBx4 OWC as well, bought in January 2010... wonder if I'd have the same luck...

    I'm too chicken to do the firmware upgrade on my '09 MP 3.33GHz, since I'm doing paid jobs on it right now, and it's my only source of income. Maybe if business slows down, or I get a second computer, I'll sack up and go for it.
     
  3. hammten macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
  4. handheldgames thread starter macrumors 6502a

    handheldgames

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    #4
    I was right in the middle of a project when the firmware upgrade hit. Once I was done, I did the upgrade and haven't looked back. Next year or so, I'll consider upgrading the CPU or buying a new Dual Tray / CPU combo :)
     
  5. wonderspark macrumors 68030

    wonderspark

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Location:
    Oregon
    #5
    Balls as big as coconuts, or the project didn't put food on the table? :)
     
  6. handheldgames thread starter macrumors 6502a

    handheldgames

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    #6
    both actually.. lol.. I waited until the project was delivered & approved.
     

Share This Page