2011 Intel HD 3000 MacBook Pro 1024mb Vram kext work

Discussion in 'macOS Sierra (10.12)' started by Ultracyclist, Jun 13, 2016.

  1. Ultracyclist, Jun 13, 2016
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2016

    Ultracyclist macrumors regular

    Ultracyclist

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2014
    Location:
    Zwijndrecht, Netherlands
    #1
    As the title say's

    The intel HD3000 kext mods work on macOS 10.12 to get 1024mb of Vram

    Schermafbeelding 2016-06-14 om 00.17.29.png
     
  2. Brammy macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
  3. Ultracyclist thread starter macrumors regular

    Ultracyclist

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2014
    Location:
    Zwijndrecht, Netherlands
    #3
    Found them somewhere around this forum. But here they are!

    Just run them with Kextbeast
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Dorothy Gale macrumors member

    Dorothy Gale

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2015
    #5
    I have installed them with the help of "Kext Wizard" but mine still reads 512 MB. Is there any post-install procedure I should be aware of?

    Also, are those two "AppleIntelFramebufferCapri.kext" files actually different one of each other? I just installed one of those and "AppleIntelHD3000Graphics.kext"

    TIA
     
  5. ifrit05 macrumors regular

    ifrit05

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013
    Location:
    Near Detroit, MI. USA
    #6
    Try deleting the BootCache. It should force a re-scan of needed kexts for your system at next boot and pick up the modified kext.
     
  6. Ultracyclist thread starter macrumors regular

    Ultracyclist

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2014
    Location:
    Zwijndrecht, Netherlands
    #7
    Sorry my bad... Changed the files re-download them, now there are 3 different files.

    For the other part, just follow the know to work instructions....
     
  7. Dorothy Gale macrumors member

    Dorothy Gale

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2015
  8. mikecwest macrumors 6502a

    mikecwest

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2013
    #9
    Is this kernel panic caused by this hack?

    virtual void IOGraphicsAccelerator2::unwireAllVidMemory(): can't unwire, prepare_count=1.

    It is marked as a "VOLATILE FAULT"
     
  9. Ultracyclist, Jun 19, 2016
    Last edited: Jun 19, 2016

    Ultracyclist thread starter macrumors regular

    Ultracyclist

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2014
    Location:
    Zwijndrecht, Netherlands
    #10
    Did you diable SIP before instelling?
     
  10. viettanium macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Location:
    Vietnam
  11. Ultracyclist thread starter macrumors regular

    Ultracyclist

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2014
    Location:
    Zwijndrecht, Netherlands
    #12
    It should work with all Mac's that have the intel HD 3000
     
  12. viettanium macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Location:
    Vietnam
    #13
    just install the kexts? does cause kernel panic?
     
  13. Ultracyclist thread starter macrumors regular

    Ultracyclist

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2014
    Location:
    Zwijndrecht, Netherlands
    #14
    Download kext files and put them on your desktop
    Make sure you have disabled SIP
    Then run kextbeast
    I havent experienced kernel panic myself.
     
  14. mikecwest macrumors 6502a

    mikecwest

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2013
    #15
    Yes, and it appears that the hack is working.

    I guess its not a full Kernel Panic, I'm not sure what to call it. Check out the screenshot.
     

    Attached Files:

  15. Ultracyclist thread starter macrumors regular

    Ultracyclist

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2014
    Location:
    Zwijndrecht, Netherlands
    #16
    What Mac are you on? How many RAM do you have? I don't have any knowledge of kernel panic... maybe someone else?
     
  16. mikecwest macrumors 6502a

    mikecwest

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2013
    #17
    MacBook Pro (15-inch, Early 2011)
    2.2 GHz Intel Core i7
    16 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
    Intel HD Graphics 3000 1024 MB
     
  17. Ultracyclist thread starter macrumors regular

    Ultracyclist

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2014
    Location:
    Zwijndrecht, Netherlands
    #18
    As far as I can tell it should work just fine...
    My cMBP runs it flawless.
     
  18. mikecwest macrumors 6502a

    mikecwest

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2013
    #19
    Have you checked your Console to see if you get that same output?
     
  19. Ultracyclist thread starter macrumors regular

    Ultracyclist

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2014
    Location:
    Zwijndrecht, Netherlands
  20. Brammy macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    #22
    Are the performance gains on this worth doing it? Is it still advisable to use the 256mb dedicated chip for gaming?
     
  21. Ultracyclist thread starter macrumors regular

    Ultracyclist

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2014
    Location:
    Zwijndrecht, Netherlands
    #23
    Im Sorry to announce, Im leaving this tread. Ive upgraded my logic board on my MBP to a 2012 so I've 1536mb out of the box.
     
  22. RichardC300 macrumors 65816

    RichardC300

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2012
    Location:
    Chapel Hill, NC
    #24
    Where did you source your logic board? Was it just a simple drop in into your 2011 chassis?
     
  23. Ultracyclist thread starter macrumors regular

    Ultracyclist

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2014
    Location:
    Zwijndrecht, Netherlands
    #25
    Just bought it on eBay with 60 days warranty.

    It's a perfect fit, but it requires some experience a steady hand a pair of balls.

    And if not already switched to, a 2012 Bluetooth card to make it complete.
    Ram modules you can keep from your 2011 but I chose to get 16gb of 1600mhz. Just to max out the speed. (Had 16gb 1333mhz in the 2011)

    I'm really happy that I no own a MacBook that's only been discontinued last October.
     

Share This Page