2011 Macbook Pro screen feels less-vibrant compared to Late 2008?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by BJB Productions, Apr 4, 2011.

1. BJB Productions macrumors 65816

BJB Productions

Hi,
    I'm a photographer, and from the moment I got my replacement 2011 MBP (originally had late 2008 model), maybe it's just me, but it sure feels like the colors are "faded" compared to my 2008 model. I don't know, again maybe it's just me, but I feel like the res and vibrance are not nearly as great compared to my late 2008 model. As I said, I noticed this from the moment I opened it for the first time. I was just looking at some of the photos I processed on my 2008 model and they look really faded and desaturated on my 2011 compared to what they looked like on my 2008 MBP, iMac, and iPad. I also checked my brightness levels between the devices, and all were (and are) similar. Anyone else noticed this, or can confirm (or laugh :p) at this?

2. simsaladimbamba

You could try a different colour profile or even create your own via System Preferences > Displays >> Color.

3. BJB Productions thread starter macrumors 65816

BJB Productions

Yeah, I might give that a shot.

4. BJB Productions, Apr 4, 2011
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2011

BJB Productions thread starter macrumors 65816

BJB Productions

Well I gave that a shot and it's really no good, looked worse than the current default calibration.

5. ender land macrumors 6502a

you didn't by chance go from glossy to anti-glare did you?

6. BJB Productions thread starter macrumors 65816

BJB Productions

Nope- they were (and are) both glossy.

7. AlphaDogg macrumors 68040

AlphaDogg

What panel do you have? Go into System Preferences->Displays->Color and click on Color LCD and then click Open Profile. Open it, and look on line 17. My Manufacturer is 00000610, my model is 00009CC3, etc... The 0's don't matter. What are your manufacturer and model numbers?

8. BJB Productions thread starter macrumors 65816

BJB Productions