2011 Mini 2GB base model memory upgrade paths

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by xxmarkc, Dec 17, 2011.

  1. xxmarkc, Dec 17, 2011
    Last edited: Dec 17, 2011

    xxmarkc macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    #1
  2. Santabean2000 macrumors 68000

    Santabean2000

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    #2
    OWC will buy it from you if you purchase an upgrade from them. Won't get much for it though...
     
  3. davidlv macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Location:
    Kyoto, Japan
    #3
    Correct. I just upgraded the memory on a base model Mac Mini, went up to 8GB, had to remove the 2 x 1GB chips as there are only 2 RAM slots.
    Using Lion, after a little customization using Tinker Tool 4.7 and Onyx, has been surprisingly painless, only the occasional app that doesn't work with Lion and finding a replacement.
    However, Lion does use more memory than SL does, even taking into account the 512MB allotted to the integrated video card. With 8GB installed, I have just over 6GB free after a reboot on Lion, and about 6.8GB or so on SL running on a MBP. So, considering the low cost of RAM today, I would suggest getting 8GB rather than 4GB, unless you are sure you will never need more.
     
  4. philipma1957 macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #4
    you may consider buying 16gb ram instead of 8gb. if you run vmware fusion and have windows and lion 16gb ram will work better. currently an 8gb stick of ram is about 88-90 dollars and 16gb ram is about 179 dollars. links for ram




    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...ll ddr3 1333&bop=And&Order=PRICED&PageSize=50

    I use gskill a lot. I put it in more then 50 machines. but just the 4gb sticks. I sell upgraded minis on ebay. so far every machine has had working ram. I had 1 bad pair of ram but that was at the start. all the ones sent out work.
     
  5. Kebabselector macrumors 68030

    Kebabselector

    Joined:
    May 25, 2007
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    #5
    I always keep hold of the original memory in case I have to return a product under warranty.
     
  6. philipma1957 macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #6
    good advice!!
     
  7. donw35 macrumors regular

    donw35

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #7
    Bought 8gb of Kingston memory at Frys for $39.99 and with the $20.00 rebate it was cheap enough not too, everything running fine. I will keep the original memory in case of issues later.
     
  8. xxmarkc thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    #8
    Thanks for clarifying.

    The point about keeping the memory in case of warranty problems is well made.

    I have not owned a Mac since the Mac classic days, and am really tempted to enter back in with a Mini - I can see quite a lot of uses for it. I have a lot of money invested in Windows hardware and software so a mini for me is only ever going to be an incremental move. That is why the base model is so tempting, but it is a pain to buy and then have to immediately upgrade (or pay Apple £80 in the UK for another 2G).

    To be honest I am having a lot of problems deciding which spec to get.

    You start with the base (still expensive compared to PCs but at £525 in the UK attractively priced), then you say well I need more RAM ... and before long you are wondering if you should get the quad core server. And then by the time you are looking at the quad core you say well on £50 more and I can buy an iMac and so on!
     
  9. davidlv macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Location:
    Kyoto, Japan
    #9
    Just jump in! You won't regret it, even with the required RAM upgrade. The "base" model is actual much more than a basic computer, it beats a 2010 Mac Pro Quad Core 2.8GHz in Geekbench scores by almost a thousand points! The Sandy Bridge chip really kicks in when you give it something to sink its teeth in, like converting FLAC files to MP3s or the like. It makes my "old" C2D 2.53GHz MBP look like a snail on that kind of operation. Can't imagine why anyone would need more power (like the quad core server) unless they are doing work in video or using VMs, it really is a little monster.
    After you set up the computer, check out Tinker Tool 4.7 and Onyx, for some customization, and enjoy your new computing environment. :cool::apple::cool:
     
  10. tirexstorm macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    #10
    I recently meant to purchase 2x2GB of ram from newegg. I accidentally bought 1x4GB instead. Is there are problem with throwing the 4GB in and leaving a slot open or using a 4GB + 1GB? Or should I use both slots, each with the same RAM?
     
  11. philipma1957 macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #11
    it will work but ram is so cheap. what happens if ram spikes in price like hdds are doing now? I am not a doomsayer but this can happen.
     
  12. ajohansson macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011
    #12
    I am running VMWarefusion on my MacbookPro with 4gb and 1.5 gb given to the VM when running it and if Im doing a bunch of stuff at once like encoding videos, converting pdfs act it can slow down. So I would imagine having 8 and giving it 2 or 3 would make it haul but. VMWarefusion recommends no more than 4 gb to virtual machine. Says memory swapping may occur whatever that means. As I write this in Safari on Mac I am encoding a video and have VMware running in background not doing anything and all is good.
     
  13. tirexstorm macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    #13

    I am confused. Are you saying that I should buy 8GB of ram?
     
  14. MadDragon1846 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    #14
    I'm not sure if the same applies for macs, I assume it does. On PCs, having a matched pair of 2GB RAM is faster than a single 4GB stick of RAM. (think it's only like 20-30% faster though).

    Still, 8GB of ram is quite cheap these days, and ya can never have enough lovely RAM! :p I'd buy another 4GB stick of RAM, the same specs as the 1 you've bought already.

    Having 1 stick of RAM should be fine though. :D
     
  15. philipma1957 macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #15
    I read that you have 1 stick of 4gb ram and 2 sticks of oem 1gb ram. You can go with 4 plus 1 total 5gb ram. it will work.

    What is the 4gb stick of ram you own and what did it cost? almost every 4gb stick of ram at newegg is close to 18-25 bucks. just go back and buy the second matching stick.

    my reasoning is ram is at an all time low and it may go up in price. if you buy the ram now for 18 to 25 you will have 8gb and not have to worry that the ram may go up in price.
     
  16. wicked23 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Location:
    Houston
    #16

    Do you know the model number for this kit?
     

Share This Page