2016 MBP keyboard is a deal breaker. What now?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by badlydrawnboy, Sep 9, 2017.

1. badlydrawnboy macrumors 65816

I bought the 2016 TB MBP right when it came out. Yeah, the TB is useless but I do like TouchID. But the keyboard is an absolute piece of junk. I've been using Macs for 30+ years (we had an Apple IIe and IIc growing up), and this is literally the first time I've even remotely considered switching to PC.

It is so much harder to type with this keyboard, and I'm so tired of keys getting stuck. I've gone through multiple canisters of compressed air, and sometimes that doesn't even work. I have an iMac and the normal Apple keyboard is 50x better.

Seriously, were people really asking for a thinner, lighter MBP? Does Apple do market research or do they just make these decisions on their own? I wish I hadn't sold my 2013 MBA. I would easily trade the fancy retina screen on the MBP for a usable keyboard, and the MBA was plenty fast for me.

The worst part is there's no relief in sight. It's highly unlikely that Apple will ever go back to a thicker MBP, which is what's required to have a normal keyboard.

I'm about as much as an Apple fanboy as one can be (I've never owned a single piece of PC hardware or a non-Apple smartphone), I have an AppleTV and just about everything else they make. But I just don't know what to do for a laptop now. So frustrating.

2. Nik macrumors 6502a

I feel you. Just returned a 2017 MBP and I am back on my 2014 MBP. No clue what to do next. The only hope on the horizon is the rumor that Apple will switch to a magnetic key mechanism in 2018/2019 because the current butterfly mechanism turned out to be unreliable.

3. Ashton Cofer macrumors member