2018 MacBook Air screen issue

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by Buckeye2009, Dec 28, 2018.

  1. Buckeye2009 macrumors member

    Buckeye2009

    Joined:
    May 10, 2017
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    #1
    Twice now in the last two weeks i've opened my MacBook Air and had the screen looking like tiny blue and pinkish squares and the curser is a bigger square with rainbow colored stripes. I end up having to shutting computer down to fix. Anyone else encounter this?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Bobioden macrumors 68000

    Bobioden

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Location:
    Denver
    #2
    Yes, that has happened to me a couple of times now. I did the same, just shut down and re-started. Does anyone know what this screen means?
     
  3. revmacian macrumors 6502a

    revmacian

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2018
    Location:
    USA
    #3
    It looks like a very old screen with a horribly low resolution - as if we're seeing a screen full of large pixels. Does the screen stay that way, or does it return to normal after a short while?
     
  4. Buckeye2009 thread starter macrumors member

    Buckeye2009

    Joined:
    May 10, 2017
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    #4
    The two times it's happened I've shut computer off and restarted. I don't know if it would fix itself without shutting down. If it happens again I'll try letting it sit and see what happens.
     
  5. DeltaMac macrumors G3

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #5
    I suggest that you run the built-in diagnostics when you see the screen go out like that.
    https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT202731
    If any trouble codes are reported, write those down. Call AppleCare with the results.
    Or, you can post any codes here, as well. Someone will offer an opinion about any trouble codes that you get.
     
  6. revmacian macrumors 6502a

    revmacian

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2018
    Location:
    USA
    #6
    I didn't know macOS had its own diagnostics routine. Would it hurt for @Buckeye2009 to run the diagnostics now?
     
  7. DeltaMac macrumors G3

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #7
    Your macOS software does not have its own hardware diagnostics (other than that which verifies the kernel, etc during boot), however the Mac's firmware provides access to that test, and if the local hardware somehow can't, then the Mac boots to Apple's server, where it launches the diagnostics. It's not part of the software that might be loaded on your Mac, and will run even with no storage drive installed. It would probably report an error if there is no storage drive, but the diagnostics doesn't need a local system at all.

    You can run the diagnostics at any time. I only suggested running it when a problem is visible, as it might be more likely to report an error code, if there is a noticeable problem at about that time. I would not guarantee a reported code --- and the diagnostics might find something that you don't notice - or the diagnostics might not report any problem at all, even though you might see something at the time. It's just another troubleshooting step to try.
     
  8. Joe Cookie, Dec 29, 2018
    Last edited: Dec 29, 2018

    Joe Cookie macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2018
    #8
    It happened to me too, one time (yesterday, after 3 weeks with the mba).
    Do you know what´s causing this? It was exactly like your photo shows.
     
  9. lpolarityl macrumors 6502

    lpolarityl

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    #9
    Whoa, interesting. We've yet to encounter this on the two we have. Definitely will be checking back in this thread, curious to see if a diagnostic run reports anything.

    GO BUCKS!!!
     
  10. Joe Cookie macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2018
    #10
    My diagnostic gave ADP 000 (no problems reported).

    Called apple and was told to do a reset.
     
  11. Buckeye2009 thread starter macrumors member

    Buckeye2009

    Joined:
    May 10, 2017
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    #11
    Unfortunately I don't know what is causing it. I did try running the diagnostics thing, but it was after I had already restarted my computer and it didn't show any codes. I'll try again if/when it should happen again.
     
  12. StellarVixen macrumors 68000

    StellarVixen

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2018
    Location:
    Earth
    #12
    Is this new Retina MBA, or non Retina MBA, but bought in 2018?
     
  13. lpolarityl macrumors 6502

    lpolarityl

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    #13
    From the picture posted, appears to be a 2018 model.
     
  14. Joe Cookie macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2018
    #14
    Thank you.

    They told me to reset the NVRAM: a) shut down the MBA; b) press the power button, and as soon as you power up the laptop, hold down Command-Option-P-R; c) keep holding down those keys for about 20 seconds. Then let go and allow the MBA to start normally.

    I was told they will get back to me with more info.

    I sent a report with a picture very similar to yours. I'll keep you updated.

    I have the 2018 model (bought 3 weeks ago...); serial number C02X.
     
  15. revmacian macrumors 6502a

    revmacian

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2018
    Location:
    USA
    #15
    Yeah, you can tell by the bezel.
     
  16. Anawrahta macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2005
    Location:
    亞洲
    #16
    Yes this has happened to me as well. 2018 MBA with 16GB RAM.
     
  17. kreasonos macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    #17
    Probably a software bug. They'll fix it soon I'm sure.
     
  18. triangletechie macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2017
    Location:
    NC
    #18
    Has happened twice on my 2018 running 10.14.2. Most likely another software bug.
     
  19. Gamer-Dad macrumors regular

    Gamer-Dad

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2018
    Location:
    Pasadena MD USA
    #19
    This happened to my wife's 2018 MBA. Her's though would not turn the screen on from opening the lid or pressing a key. Keyboard would light, but nothing else. Reset SMC, PRAM, reinstalled OS, nothing. When it would finally turn back on, screen looked as above, then would reboot then be fine. Very strange...

    Apple support could not figure it out and wanted the machine back. Bought 2 others but screens were very dim in comparison to her original. She wouldn't stand for it. So, in the end, she got a 2018 MBP. Lost her gold color, but was much happier with the screen. The original MBA she had had a gorgeous colorful bright screen....

    Wonder if the above is a driver issue sorta like the screen flickering issue?
     
  20. Markgnyc2 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
  21. Joe Cookie, Jan 3, 2019
    Last edited: Jan 3, 2019

    Joe Cookie macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2018
    #21
    As promised, here goes the follow up:
    Apple called back.
    Apple says to reset the SMC and the NVRAM.
    "If it happens again, we will be here for you, Apple will support you", i was told.
    That's it.
     
  22. kobefan234 macrumors 6502

    kobefan234

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    #22
    happened to me today for the first time . closing the MBA Lid then reopening fixed the issue. it was a sudden onset while I was viewing a PDF document .
     
  23. gollum macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Location:
    MI
    #23
    Mine had doing it about once a week, now it's every day or 2. I tap on the power button/Touch ID a few times, close lid for about 30 seconds, it fixes it. I'l try just closing the lid next time.
     
  24. HonestChicken macrumors member

    HonestChicken

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2016
    #24
    Could be a bug that is caused by the firmware.
     
  25. karac54 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2012
    #25
     

Share This Page

28 December 28, 2018