21 or 27inch iMac for a mac user who's never owned an iMac

Discussion in 'iMac' started by metalgear1, Apr 3, 2012.

1. metalgear1 macrumors newbie

Hello,

I’m torn over whether to get a 21 or 27 inch iMac. I won’t be using it for anything too intensive so either way will be buying one of the base models. I know a refresh is coming soon but that won’t stop me buying one of the current models because I need one now (my laptop has developed a very annoying flickering screen).

My main usage will be website design and maintenance (I’m not a professional so won’t be using Dreamweaver etc I will be using WYSIWYG software). I’ve built several websites in the past using iWeb which is know is not being updated so am moving to an alternative soon and will have to redesign 4 websites from scratch.

My question is whether it’s worth getting the 27inch over the 21inch. I can (just about) afford to get the 27 but is it worth it? The price of the 21inch is attractive but I’m worried I’ll regret not going for the bigger model.

At the moment I’m updating all my websites via iWeb on a 2 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo Macbook with 1 GB ram so I know either choice will be a huge step up. I’m just trying to weigh up the advantages of the 2 screen sizes. I’ve previously owned a Mac Mini with an Apple cinema display before the Macbook but have no experience of the iMac.

Any advice is welcome.

2. All Taken macrumors 6502a

27" Hands down, I have owned two 21.5 iMacs in the last two years, each time i've swapped for the larger 27".

3. WesCole macrumors 6502a

Another vote for the 27". Larger screen and amazing resolution.

4. Zwhaler macrumors 603

Zwhaler

27" for Web design. You will appreciate the jump in screen size, and any model should suffice for your needs.

5. fruitycups macrumors 6502

6. Macman45 macrumors demi-god

Macman45

27" you will need that real estate for web design for sure.

7. PaulKemp macrumors 6502